We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and Sweet”
Review of La Terraza Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Terraza Inn
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simple and Sweet”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

it could be titled, simple, sweet and stairs, but that sounds negative. The rooms are stacked up a hillside with a lovely series of landscaped stairs. flowers and exotic tropical plants line them, making a vertical garden. as other reviews, the units feel more like traditional mexican homes, and while simple, very clean. I was in room number4, i had viewed it on an earlier trip so there were no surprises. it is the room closest to the street and at night it is still very quiet. the terrace looks out over the stairs and gardens. the staff could not be more charming and i will come back here again and again.

Room Tip: i did see rooms 8 and 9 and you do get an ocean view from the terraces. number 4, while low does hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fritzNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The room was the perfect set up for my friend and I traveling. Rm number 6. It has two queen size beds, a charming bathroom, and windows. There is not an ocean view, but, the Inn is located just 1 block from the ocean.
I love the old Mexican style charm of La Terrazza Inn. It is kept very clean. Television with a few English channels. Has an in room safe. A kitchenette. Friendly courteous staff. Located a block from a very nice market. Away from the bustle of town. Quiet at night. Great place for it's value.

Room Tip: Room number two for a larger sloping ceiling. Rm number six for a kitchenette, and very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at La Terraza Inn in July during the rainy season. My first impressions of La Terraza were that it was very romantic & charming. It reminded me of an old traditional Mexican home. As you walk in, the place is lush and green with tropical flowers and potted plants everywhere, there were a few resident cats and bird which made it feel like you were in someone’s backyard. The staff was amazing. I can’t say enough good things about them. Cesy who manages the place and the others were very friendly & accommodating, they kept place very clean. Since the Inn is built on the side of a hill access to the rooms are through a very narrow & steep staircase. We stayed in room #10 and room #8 which were at the very top two levels of the Inn, after a day of sightseeing climbing up those stairs several times each day became challenging. Housekeeping is every other day but you can request additional cleaning services. My only gripe was that they did not change our bed sheets throughout the entire 4 nights we were there. The rooms are very basic but comfortable. Room #10 was very nice, it has a full kitchen which allows you to cook and eat in. We bought groceries and ate in during part of our visit. Although the bed was listed as a queen, it felt more like a full size bed, the mattress was firm but comfortable. Room #10 had an incredible patio with patio furniture which you share with room #9. Luckily, room#9 was vacant so we had the entire patio to ourselves, however there may be privacy issues when room #9 is not vacant as anyone staying in room #9 would have to pass by room #10 when entering and exiting. The views are good but not great, ocean views are obstructed by a hotel across the street but we still had a view of the sunset and streets below. During our visit it rained most nights. There were two nights in particular which we had torrential rains. It was during these nights that we discovered water leaks in the roof and down the walls. The room has a series of small openings at the top near the roof which are basically open slots with no glass or screens to allow air in, water leaked through these slots and down the walls into the room and puddled in the middle of the room, we had to move the bed away from the wall to avoid getting wet while we slept. Also, lizards and bugs tend to crawl into the room through these slots, we didn’t mind this that much as they were harmless but it may be an issue for others. My advice for the management would be to put screens on the all the windows. If you stay during the rainy season, make sure to request an extra fan as the room only has a ceiling fan and does not have air conditioning. The humidity can be intense especially when trying to sleep. Room #8 was very nice. It is smaller with very limited views of the ocean from the patio it shares with room #7. As with room #10, there may be some privacy issues since those occupying room #7 would need to pass by room #8 to enter and exit. The room has a small kitchenette with no stove but does have a small fridge, sink and a toaster oven. Room #8 did have air conditioning. Overall, we had a memorable stay at La Terraza and would definitely go back. Unlike the American style hotels in Nuevo Vallarta, La Terraza is a bit more rustic. I would definitely recommend it for those looking for something off the beaten path

Room Tip: For additional privacy, request rooms 1, 3, 5, 7, & 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxx32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

La Terraza is better than Average, but I wouldn't quite call it Very Good. I loved the verdant terraces, proximity to the beach, airy room, pleasant desk staff, and impeccable housekeeping. I disliked the extremely firm bed, warm-ish showers and intermittent wi-fi. I've been told by many, however, that hard beds and poor internet are common in Puerto Vallarta, so maybe I'm being too critical. We stayed in room 8, which is a good many stairs up. The last couple of flights get surprisingly steep, so anyone with mobility issues would want to stay in rooms 1-6. They don't have ocean views, but they're nestled in the very pretty courtyard, so they'd be nice.
I'm not sure if we'll return, but La Terraza is a pleasant and serene inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve60640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

This is a very charming, quaint hotel, but here are a few disclaimers:

1. The hotel is built up a hill on terraces with NO elevator - so if you can't manage (at minimum) 2 to 6 flights of stairs, stay somewhere else.
2. There are only 10 rooms, and the top two rooms (#9 & 10), while spacious and with outstanding ocean views, have NO air conditioning. Keep this in mind if you plan to book in May-September. The winter months should not be a problem.

However, the limited number of rooms makes for a quiet locale, just one block from Playa Los Muertos and the Blue Chairs Beach - where you can get a free chair and palapa as guests of La Terraza!

On our last trip (May 18-25, 2010), we stayed in Room #7, four flights up. The partial ocean view was great, and the amenities in the room - coffeemaker, fridge, cable TV, in-room safe, A/C, ceiling fan - were fine. The toilets flushed and the hot water had good pressure. There is only a partial wall between bedroom and bathroom, just FYI.

We can recommend Room #8 which was next to ours. Both share a common terrace but #8 also has a corner view and the room includes a toaster oven and microwave. (Our room was a bit smaller with less counter space.)

Another good room is #4, two flights below ours. While you don't have an ocean view, it is a two-room mini-suite with separate living and bedroom areas, and there is a door to the bathroom. It is also easier on the legs, given all those stairs to #8!

Prices are outrageously cheap - we paid $55 per night, taxes included. The management has a "laid-back" policy so don't expect a personal valet or concierge at your beck and call. This is Mexico, after all - they get to it "manana."

However, the maids did clean the room thoroughly and provided us with extra towels at our request. There is a convenience store just down the block for essentials (coffee, juice, water etc.) to store in the room. The bed was actually quite good, unlike other Mexican hotels.

This place is not for everyone. If you are a fussy traveler looking for a big hotel with a pool, room service, spa, hot tub and "action," this ain't it. But if you are a laid-back traveler looking for a place to let the world pass you by, give it a try.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank peter4hou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2009

We booked the room here after friends had stayed here the previous year and they loved it!
We reserved room 4 which was high enough from the street level, the web site did not do it justice to be honest, large room, shower and comfy bed, coffee maker and little toaster, not we used it as the meals are great value especially along the malicon seafront.
we had our laundry done every 2 days and we had them returned the same day all pressed and lovely.
After reading the comments about the steps, they are correct there are lots of them but a very small price to pay for a lovely safe and enjoyable stay.
We will be going back same time next year and will be staying there again!
Highly recommended.......

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

What I like about La Terraza is that it is in the quieter part of town. After the hustle and bustle of the daytime activities, it is nice to stay in a place where you can sleep undisturbed even during the day.
The place is also secured. The big iron gate is locked at around 8pm and you would need a key to get in and out of the hotel.
It is just a block away from the beach. It is also close enough to the main strip of town where you can find the clubs and the restaurants. The price of course is cheaper than what you would encounter in the marina district.
We got Room 1 which is on the lowest level of the hotel, ergo less steps from the street. It is a farily large enough room that accomodated 2 beds. The bathroom is large. It also has a safe where you can keep your valuables that comes with the room. The room has A/C and a ceiling fan - AC is not powerful enough to really keep the room cooled - but with the combination of the fan, it makes the temperature comfy (wonder how this will fare combo will fare during the extremely hot summer days??)
My only complaint about the room: I slept in the bed close to the door, under the ceiling fan. Somehow there seems to be a constant 'shower' of what looks like termite dust - the beam on the ceiling has a crack and perhaps the vibration caused by the ceiling fan pushes these dusts out? I pointed this out to the manager and he said that he is more than willing to move us to another room if we so desire. Given that the choice is climbing more steps, we declined. It is not really that disturbing but just makes one wonder if that beam is ready to cave in.. Suggest a termite job QUICK!!!
Added bonus: there is a cafe on the street level (not owned by the hotel), that serves very cheap and good breakfast menus. There is the OXXO store just around the corner that is open 24 hours a day (just like our 7-11).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Netoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Plazamar
Plazamar
#70 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach Front Experience
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach F...
#65 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andale Hotel
Andale Hotel
#101 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#28 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#60 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza Inn

Property: La Terraza Inn
Address: Amapas 299 | Jallisco, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Terraza Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once called Miguel's Old Vallarta Inn, this property features ten rooms in a lovely setting very near the gay beach and bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Terraza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Terraza Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing