We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit...of Many to come!!!”
Review of Casa Cupula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Cupula
Ranked #4 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Our 4 night stay at Casa Cupula was nothing but one wonderful experience after another! My partner and I stayed from 4/3 thru 4/7; just a quick visit to celebrate his birthday. Being our first visit to Casa Cupula, AND our first visit to Puerto Vallarta, we were anxious and excited for our experiences. From the start, we were transferred in style from the airport via the Casa Cupula shuttle and once there, Edwin took very good care of us. He offered us a tour of the boutique hotel and once ready, he supplied us with ideas of places we could visit our first night. Then the Friday Night Warm-Up party was a GREAT way to celebrate a birthday, make new friends, and start off our vacation weekend. Our Suite was impeccable! I HIGHLY recommend this upgrade! The housekeeping staff had everything neat and tidy upon our late night returns. The views from our balcony were breathtaking! We hope to visit Puerto Vallarta and Casa Cupula in very the near future!!!

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade to a suite! You will not regret it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
optionsf, Owner at Casa Cupula, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

We appreciate your taking the time to write about us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay.

Making first time visitors feel at home is something we really enjoy, because we love Puerto Vallarta and love sharing the best parts with our guests. And we're glad you liked our nearly-famous Friday Night Warmup party. It's a great way to meet and mingle with other guests and our local friends in a really friendly and open environment, and sometimes we're lucky enough to celebrate a birthday.

Happy Birthday and we hope to host you for many more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 545 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

I waited until we stayed twice at this hotel before reviewing it. This is a unique property in several ways. First, the staff makes the whole experience so enjoyable. Logan, Edwin and Jesus are really great people. They are helpful for sure, but they're super nice and make your stay even more enjoyable. The property itself is unique with no two rooms the same. We've stayed in a suite and in a deluxe king and enjoyed both very much. The beds are amazingly comfortable! The linens, towels and toiletries are high quality. The pools, while small, are nice and we like that they're clothing optional. The gym is one of the nicest hotel gyms you'll find anywhere. The restaurant is a full service restaurant and bar and it's great that they have it on property. We've eaten there for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is a fridge/mini bar is handy as well. Logan can arrange just about any activity you could want. The hotel is tucked away atop a hill. The walk into town is 5 minutes and it's nice to be in a quiet jungle like environment. We have looked at the rooms of other gay hotels and there is absolutely no comparison. I love the Friday night warm-up party the hotel hosts. I really can't say enough about this property, except- just GO!

Room Tip: Each room is different. Talk with the hotel to find the room that will best fit what you're look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvanPSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Dates of stay: 3/9/14 to 3/15/14 (six nights)
Room: 321 Vista King

My husband and I vacationed at Casa Cupula to escape from what has been a drag of a winter in Boston. Casa Cupula's beautiful location, views and friendly and caring staff made for a dream vacation.

THE ROOM: room 321 is situated on the same level as the reception desk (actually directly across from the reception desk - so if you need anything, help is literally a few steps away). It's a spacious room with a fully sliding glass panel wall that can open the patio up to the entire room. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean and in good condition. The bathroom sinks are open to the room (there are double doors you can close for privacy) and the WC and shower are on opposite sides. Great decor that creates a sense of place and the onyx accents are quite beautiful. The double shower is a nice touch as well. Great water pressure and quick to get hot water as well. The patio is lovely and has a nice view of the ocean to one side and the hilly neighborhood/jungle to the other side. I could sit out there for hours and relax. It is shady in the AM and sunny in the PM. Nice wet bar area with another great view of the ocean. My one complaint about the room: the drapes were difficult to open/close. It looked like the metal rings that slide on the cable had developed grooves from use that caused them to get stuck.
HOTEL COMMON AREAS: gorgeous and a great place to relax and/or meet other guests. The rooftop infinity pool was a favorite place to soak and relax while watching the sun set. We had it just to ourselves on several occasions. The lower pool is beautiful as well but we never got around to sitting there. The gym is very well-equipped (remember to bring the water bottle from your room to save on paper cups). The restaurant is very pleasant as well (separate review of Taste here on TA).
NICE "EXTRAS": Nice touches upon arrival were bottles of water and after we had settled in, a welcome margarita along with chips/guacamole on the Taste patio - a perfect way to unwind after the flights from Boston. The hotel offers very enjoyable social events. We attended the sunset party on Wednesday and the Friday night warmup party as well. Both were a lot of fun. These events were a nice way to meet locals as well.
THE STAFF: Casa Cupula really shines when it comes to their staff: Jesus, Logan, Edwin, Marcos, Michael - they made our stay extra special. Everyone went out of their way to help and make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Truly exceptional in their approach to guests - we felt like well-cared for family. Anytime we needed advice/info we always had great sources to tap into.
ACTIVITIES/SERVICES: brief mentions here as I will review them under GoGay Puerto Vallarta, but we really enjoyed the ziplining and horseback adventure. The basic transfer service was also seamless. Massages ordered through the hotel were also excellent - if you like a strong massage, inquire about Cesar - he's very skilled.
WHAT MORE CAN I SAY? Well - we are already thinking about when we will return! The idea of spending New Year's Eve at Casa Cupula is under consideration.

Thanks for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark-in-Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
optionsf, Owner at Casa Cupula, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

We were wondering when someone would notice the hand cut onyx trim in the bathroom of 321 and comment on it! ;)

You have a good eye for detail and we really appreciate your time to write about your stay!

We wouldn't be any good if it weren't for guests like you. Simply put, a hotel is a physical plant, and from time to times things go bad, wear out, or simply don't work as intended. It's our job to take care of those problems swiftly and hopefully in the correct way. We survey every guest at checkout and ask for suggestions, and the BHA-free sport water bottles we give to guests to drink our purified water and save on throwing out plastic bottles is a perfect example of implementing a previous guest's suggestion.

Now we'll get to work on fixing those darned curtains! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This boutique hotel is first class in every respect. It is located about a seven minute walk downhill to the beach and to walk back to the hotel can be a very steep tiring walk after a day on the beach or after cocktail hour and in hot humid weather. However, this is not really an issue at all as one can easily catch one of the always available taxis and you are back at the hotel in about five minutes at a cost of no more than $5 each trip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mirodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Casa Cupula provides a first class place to stay in Puerto Vallarta. It has a variety of room options, a helpful staff and a gym on site. Taste restaurant which is on the property provides a good opportunity for fine dining on the premise. it is easy walking distance to the beach yet off the beaten path. It is also close to the entertainment you will want to enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsajmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days on our first trip to PV. The hotel is situated on a hill overlooking the nicer end of PV. It is a short walk to hotel from the beach or the town up a short stairway which we found relatively easy despite not being particularly fit. We had booked a junior suite which was truly amazing - beautifully decorated with a mezzanine floor and an infinity pool. We booked on the internet and found the hotel excellent value for money. The restaurant was amazing and we had some of the best food that we ate in Mexico, enjoying several meals there.
All the staff are very friendly, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our only regret was that we didn't arrange to stay longer. It is very easy for hotels to categorise themselves as 'boutique'...the difficulty is to perform at the high end consistently.. Casa Cupola does just that...consistent excellence across all aspects of their business and delivered , what seemed to us, effortlessly ! Magnificent !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skindoc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here on our 1st trip to PV. A lovely place on the side of a steep hill. Most rooms seemingly had a good view, some of the water. We had a junior suite that had a mostly private small infinity dipping pool with an ocean view where we could see whales- ugh! The room was lavishly decorated but probably more than we needed to be honest; there were some minor maintenance issues that didn't effect our stay. Super clean. There are pools all over this place, and its fun to explore. The gym is much better than your average hotel gym, nice hot-tub. There were pleasant social gatherings and meet other friendly guests. The staff is approchable and helpful, even if it felt the tours, restaurant, extras, etc. were seemingly pushed (only normal I suppose).

Though we didn't mind too much, there's lots of stairs on the property-everywhere, so be aware of that. I feel I do need to say also that this place is seriously uphill from the main tourist area of PV. And no matter what anyone says, the closest 3 stairways are surprisingly long and steep and daunting after a full belly or for the 2nd or 3rd time that day. The street to cross is very busy with heavy, hier speed traffic, curves to see around and no official crosswalk. For us, better than average shape/regular gym goers, it just made it a bit harder to plan the day, ie. not easy to just pop back in the room to change from the beach, plop after lunch or go to BR, etc. Taxis are an option, but twice or more per day? (I would set the price in Spanish if you can before every ride or buyer beware.) Restaurant a bit too pricey for us to eat all meals there, so that means down stairs to b-fast daily before coffee, etc. I don't mean to put anyone off from staying here, it just seems most reviews dont mention this objectively in my opinion.

Took a fun, easy to figure out public bus ride up to Sayulita for a daytrip. PV surprisingly (to me) filled with Canadian and American retirees. Great b-fast and impressive service at Café Olla and Fredy's Tucan; Joe Jack's yummy despite the line and Gaby's has an authentic feel in quiet, pretty neighborhood.

Room Tip: Lots of different options in size, location, proximity to pools, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewHavenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
810 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
584 reviews
3.6 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#5 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,889 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cupula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cupula

Address: Callejon de la Igualdad 129 | Col Amapas, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $245 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Cupula 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cupula is one of the most luxurious boutique hotel resorts in the world, welcoming gay men, lesbians, and friends of our community. We offer the services of a five-star mainstream resort in three boutique properties: Casa Cupula, Private Residences and Owner's Villa. Gourmet food compliments three pools, a gym and sophisticated modern design. Located in Amapas, walking distance to gay beach clubs, nightlife, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Cupula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cupula Puerto Vallarta
Casa Cupula Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing