We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Cupula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Casa Cupula
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
“Top Notch small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2008

Just returned from our first stay in Puerto Vallarta and Casa Cupula.
We enjoyed both very much.

Puerto Vallarta is charming and is very beautiful. We has moderate warm temperatures and dry, blue sky weather the entire trip. The location on the Pacific coast is lush and tropical and the beaches are stunning. Food was amazing and we never once experienced stomach problems usually associated with Mexico. There is plenty to do and we were not over run with tourists. The surrounding area is beautiful too. We felt very safe and relaxed. The locals were extremely friendly.

Casa Cupula is really wonderful. it's the best gay hotel we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in many others across the globe.

It is comfortable luxury all the way with amazing hospitality. The rooms are huge and the suites are incredible. You have a full view of palm trees, mountains, town and ocean. many of the beds are set up to see the sunrise and set over the ocean. Beautiful! Some rooms even have their own dipping pool on the balcony. Decadent!

The guest hotel was quiet and friendly. Our concierge, Oscar, was so sweet and pit to together all our activities and dining. He's very friendly and funny. we enjoyed him as well as the whole staff.
The food at Casa Capula is so delicious. We never expected a chef and gourmet dining. Breakfast is great and you should not miss the group dinners. Great way to meet other guests and have a delicious dinner.

We had only one issue and that was the wireless internet was consistently failing and that could be a problem if you are one to keep in contact by e-mail with the office or family.

We would return anytime. We miss it already!

  • Liked — Amazing gay friendly small hotel
  • Disliked — the uphill walk from town...pant! pant!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pugzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    80
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
9
268
105
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2008

Just returned from PVR and a great week at Casa Cupula. Everything was perfect and our stay was better than last year. This year we had breakfast at the hotel every day and it made the start of our day much more relaxing. The food is very good and the dining room staff is very acomodating. We stayed in room 403 and everything was perfect.

I enjoy staying at a nice property, big or small. Casa Cupula is by far the nicest boutique hotel that I have ever stayed at. While there was construction going on across the canyon, we never intended to spend the day at the hotel so this was not a problem for us. The management and staff are excellent and seem to honestly care about your comfort and needs.

  • Liked — Small Boutique Hotel, Nice Guests and Staff
  • Disliked — ?????
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank still-Wandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2008

I stayed in the Penthouse suite #521. When I arrived the room was not ready due to a mix up in my reservation. The staff made up for it with a complimentary cocktail and chips. The room was very nice at the reduced price recieved ($325 per night). This is one of the suites for purchase and there are some minor details are overlooked (ugly wall patching around lights, walls puckering at base of shower, curtain rod at jacuzzi door fell and was not fixed to the wall,etc.,). Since I was just vacationing those details did not matter. The sun deck with the infinity pool was the best. This is where I spent the majority of my time catching some much needed rays while overlooking 180 degrees of the bay. By the way, the staff is awesome! They made me feel right at home and I did not want to leave (Oscar & Martin you rock!). The other rooms of the property are just as nice, but I was on top of the world in the penthouse. Great PV experience and I will definitely return to Casa Cupula in the near future.

  • Liked — The 180 degree view of the bay
  • Disliked — Delay in check in after a long flight.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank angel0peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2008

I booked this trip as a surprise for my partners birthday. It was our frist time in PV and this beautiful property added to the magic of this trip. While we had a few issues with the pick up and the check in everything was taken care of to my satisfaction. We were able to stay in two of the rooms and both had their own charms. The vista rooms we stayed in 303 and 403 are amazing with the terrace and the amazing huge bathrooms. The double shower is a nice feature. The molton brown and L'Octane products impressive!!!! The pool area and infintiy roof top pool are beautiful. I can not tell you how nice it was every night before heading to bed, after a late night to sit in the infinity pool looking at the stars...pure heaven.

The service at Casa Cupula is top notch. I can not say enough about Oscar, who really cares about the people who stay here. He arranged for us and other guests to spend a day out on a beautiful private charter sail boat that took us to a secluded beach. If you had the chance do this, it was a hilight! Everyone at Casa Cupula provides excellent service, and greets you with a warm welcome and a smile. The included breakfast was outstanding as was the pool side fare just as amazing. The Tuesday Taco party was a great way to meet other guests as was the Saturday managers cocktail party. Do not miss both!!!

Don't worry about the walk up the hill. You can skip half the hill by going in the side entrance and walk up the stairs. The walk to the beach is easy and after a long night out the taxi is a cheap way to back. Never found the construction noise to be an issue.

We have stayed in other gay owned properties in the past and I have to say that Casa Cupula is the best. I am already planning our next trip and I don't think I could ever stay anywhere else in Vallarta after staying at Casa Cupula.

  • Liked — the rooms, location, property and service
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bluedenim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2008

We enjoyed a very relaxing 3 days here in one of the very large suites. The balcony off the bedroom was more of a room itself, so we spent all our time out there. Great views of the sunset.

The food was amazingly good, full breakfast, lunch and snacks. Oy, the deliciousness.

We came to relax and we succeeded.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Climbing the hill
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lookupatthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#14 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cupula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cupula

Property: Casa Cupula
Address: 129 Callejon de la Igualdad, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Cupula 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cupula is one of the most luxurious boutique hotel resorts in the world, welcoming gay men, lesbians, and friends of our community. We offer the services of a five-star mainstream resort in four boutique properties: Casa Cupula, luxurious Villa Sevilla (great for groups), Private Residences and Owner's Villa. Gourmet food compliments four pools, a gym and sophisticated modern design. Located in Amapas, walking distance to gay beach clubs, nightlife, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Cupula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cupula Puerto Vallarta
Casa Cupula Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing