We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRIPADVISOR you need to see a map of Mexico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bucerias

Bucerias
Highway 200 Km 13, Puerto Vallarta 63732, Mexico
3223564902
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“TRIPADVISOR you need to see a map of Mexico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Puerto Vallarta is located in the state of Jalisco.
Bucerias is in the state of Nayarit, so it is part of Riviera Nayarit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MexicoPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Escape from the city to seaside village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We took the bus from PV to Bucerias ( 24 peso each one way) which took approx 50 minutes with passengers getting off and on along the way. Asked driver to tell us when to get off. We enjoyed a long and lovely sun soaked lunch on the beach in one of the many good spots to chose from. Then attacked the street market stalls in the village. Plenty of junky merchandise with a few gems mixed in. All depends what you seek and your tastes. We had a blast. Take the bus to enjoy more local flavor along the way.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank neilcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old fishing village turned vacation hot spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

It's so adorable in Buceria. There's the northern section with all the reasonably priced flea markets along the beach, beach front restaurants, shops and hotels. And there's the southern section of Lazaro with the bohemian art galleries, restaurants, shops, and hotels. The southern side is more organized, clean, and quaint while the northern side is more touristy. Don't get me wrong...I love the beach front restaurants where you can sit and enjoy a beer or two while scanning the ocean for whale, or bargain with the flea market owners for some great deals as a tourist. Since it's such a small area, I recommend seeing and walking both areas since it will only take half a day. We were staying at Paradise Village in Nuevo Vallarta so we took the bus to highway 200 and walked across the other side to take a second bus (mini van) and told the driver to let us out at Buceria Centro. From there you walk west several blocks and there it is. The bus trip going cost $19 pesos and it took about 40 min. Then we took the cab back which cost $130 pesos. Much better than taking a tour any day!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvLampredotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cute Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Cute little town with wonderful restaurants and shopping.
This town is really growing very fast and all for the good.
Restaurants on the water are wonderful to eat at and the vendors are fun to shop with.
go and enjoy!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank renee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“safe, great food, vendors that will HOUND you!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Only a short 45 minute bus ride from Puerto Valletta you will locate Bucerias......... an outdoor market on Sunday, location on the up side of the main roadway. The main area of Bucerias, where very Canadian / American still holds the charm of street food, a walk on the beach. STOP there as the vendors will HOUND you like no other, insult you , and to top it off the prices are much higher than PV. My bargain skills have taken me many places and there people are not inclined to even bargain. Get close to the little romantic art on the walls and you are greeted with the very smelly ca ca/ca ca plant. Welcome to Bucerias...............not.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank leila n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bucerias also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Bucerias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing