We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Ranked #38 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    516
    212
    80
    54
See reviews for
409
567
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Waterford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2006

My husband and I stayed at Costa Sur from February 15 to March 2, 2006. It was our first visit to PV, and hence our first stay at Costa Sur. This resort is a time share property, we made an exchanged, we are not owners here. Our first observation was that the majority of the guests during these weeks were owners, so they were very familiar with each other; it wasn't until the second week that we were able to mingle among the guests and get to know them. We were able to meet some really wonderful people from both Canada and the US.
The property itself is just ok, it is need a refurbish, which I understand they are doing in parts of the resort. We had a studio which was fine for my husband and I. It was very clean and the housekeeping staff were very particular about keeping it clean. The main pool is very small and very crowded during the day...get there early if you want a seat; the security at the resort were struggling with how to manage the seat problem, people were leaving their towels on the chairs and then not showing up at the pool for hours, some times not at all. The beach just below the resort is very small as well, but great for snorkelling. Beware of the vendors on the beach, they sell verything there; great if you like to barter! The restaurant at the resort was satisfactory, we ate breakfast in our room and lunch at the resort and dinner in town.
There are wonderful restaurants in Old Town and near the Malecon. Both are a short bus ride or cab ride away. The bus will cost you 5 pacos per person (.50 cents) and the cab will cost you 5 dollars (50 pacos) a load...we took the bus only twice, both times it was very crowded; we stood all the way to town, it was dangerous and very uncomfortable. I would definately not take the bus if you plan on a special
evening out...your clothes will not withstand the
ride! We would highly recommend "Rythms of the Night" as one of those special evenigs, very romantic dinner and show...look it up, it is worth it!
We found PV to be very safe, we often walked at night till late hours. We would definately visit PV again, but we would like to try another resort with a better beach and more night life, we enjoy dancing and live entertainment...there was very little here, very much a retirement crowd, very low key! If low key is what you are looking for then Costa Sur is the place for you! You are sure to meet some very wonderful people who can share with you their many experiences of visitng PV!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndreainCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2006

My family and I have been to Costa Vida (I refuse to call it by the new name, Playa Del Sol Costa Sur) six times. We own 2 weeks. We were there once in the winter and six times in the summer. I definitely prefer the summer. In the summer the main pool and two bars are the center of activity. There is a volley ball game in the main pool at midday that my son and I look forward to.

The size of the hotel is important to me. It's not to big and not to small. There are plenty of guests to interact with and by the second day the waiters remember what you drink. The hotel can only be entered from the sixth floor. There is a guard, bellhop station and the front desk at the enterance.

Two repeated complaints from winter guests are no lounge chairs available and no morning sun. In July these problems do not exist. In July the resort is only about 60% full. Therefore, there are plenty of chairs. In July the sun comes out about 10AM. The morning shade is a welcome relief.

Be sure to be there for happy hour. The drinks are two for one and they have great tasting, free popcorn.

My wife and daughter enjoy the walking tours, crafts classes and bingo offered during the day.

My son and I enjoy their modern, air-conditioned gym.

We eat about half our meals at the resort. We enjoy going into town ($5.00 for cab fare and tip). Pepe's and La Iguna are two of our many favorites. However, some nights we are so relaxed from being at the pool all day that we order from the restaurant and eat at a patio table and listen to the Mariachi Band that plays three nights a week.

All rooms face the ocean. The walls are thick. The only background noice you hear is the ocean. We have always stayed in the north tower. It consists about 160 studio units. The south tower consists of about 40 one and two bedroom units.

Registration is interesting. Since Costa Vida's time share week begins on Thursday, several of the guests on your plane will also be at the resort. Checkin usually goes smoothly, but to make sure it does the resort provides a "hospitality table" with free rum punch and margaritas. It is very popular.

The resort's timeshare pitch takes about two hours and is extremely high pressure. The discounts provided for attending the presentation are not worth it. In fact, they are not selling Costa vida, they are selling Playa Del Sol Grand.

We love Costa Vida and will return many more times. I think my wife said it best when she said Costa Vida is to good of a vacation, because you continue to think about it for the rest of the year.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank PaulBruce51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seven sisters falls
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2006

We stayed at Costa Sur from Feb 4-11 /06. We wanted to try staying at one of the resorts on the mountain side of Puerta Vallarta to see if we liked it better than where we had stayed before on the Marina. The hotel is owned by mostly timeshare owners that own a certain suite for a certain week. So everyone knows each other. They are in the process of renovating and while the old decor isn't as bad as soom it does need a facelift. The studio above ours had a problem with the toilet water hose breaking while the people were away. It was only discovered when we starting getting water coming down from our ceiling in cascades. The manager and workers fixed the studio above us but could not do much to stop the water from coming in ours. We had asked to be moved to another room and were given a dinner at their restarant with limitations on what we could order. It was a long last night as the water had not stopped pouring down even by the time we left the resort at 9 am the next day. We do not blame the resort for the mishap form happening but think they could have helped us more in relocating. The road up to the hotel by either taxi or bus is an adventure but one of those .....i have done it and now would rather not. For us the Velas on the marina is wonderful and this place could not compare. Another insight for us was that we were so looking forward to the sound of the ocean as all rooms overlook the ocean. We were on the 4th floor and the sound of the waves crashing finally drove us to keep the patio door shut and turn up the AC. Was alearning experience but for our vacation we will stay at the Velas at the marina.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank dar9696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2006

We stayed here in November (3-10, a very nice time to visit PV. Not too humid- and we had no rain..)
I liked this smaller resort. First the location: it's
south of town, and a nice change of pace if you are used to the larger resorts north of town. The coastline is beautiful on the south side, a lot of small rocky coves -and this resort had a man made jetty that created what really amounted to a saltwater swimming pool off the small beach. This made for great swimming (and snorkeling right off the hotel beach) and was great for kids.

It's close to downtown and the malecon, and all the great restuarants and bars- (10 min cab ride). It's very close to one of our favorite PV restuarants --"El Set".

The staff was friendly, and NO TIMESHARE SALES PRESSURE! I was amazed at this. We traded on Interval International, and were expecting some phones calls, etc. Nothing after check in when we declined the sales presentation.

We were in a one bedroom suite, and my brother was in
a studio. Quite large rooms, both had an ocean view and some small balconies. I think all rooms and suites there have an ocean view, from the looks of the layout of the two towers. Everything seemed pretty well maintained, though I think this place was built in the early 80's. Could use some updating, but really nothing too bad to complain about.

The pool was nice, maybe a bit small. I loved the ambiance of the pool area at night, with 2 great small bars outside for the tropical evenings- we stopped there under the stars every night for a nightcap after coming back from town. A band played outside there one night, I can't recall which.

There's one on-site restaurant, the food was decent,
but the service was quite slow at times. And at breakfast they pushed their overpriced buffet a bit too much..really my only complaint with this place.

Overall, very nice if you're looking for a smaller, quieter place, with some real mexican charm.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank BriLorh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,540 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
682 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#98 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#65 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
260 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#60 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
691 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Property: Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing