We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful view from every room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Ranked #39 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Emmetsburg, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful view from every room!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was my first trip to Mexico and WOW it was nothing like I thought. The staff was friendly and spoke English. The food incredible. The first night there we saw whales from our balcony. Not a bad view of the ocean and the hills. A quick bus ride to town and the beach scene in town.

Room Tip: A corner room is larger, but all rooms have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOLBerti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest thank you very much for having commented on your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure to know that we were your first lodging experience in Mexico and we are proud to have been able to satisfy your expectations, as well as your vacation experience.
Once again thank you and we hope you will give us the opportunity of hosting you again in a future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    504
    208
    80
    53
See reviews for
394
555
41
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuernavaca
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I'd say 90% of the attraction of this hotel is the laguna they constructed around the beach zone. It creates a much safer environment for young children to swim in by calming down the waves as they break towards the shore. Our 8 year olds could spend the whole day there without us having to watch over them the whole time. The beach alongside is pretty skinny and more or less disappears at high tide, but it's not a problem, the sun loungers stay put even if they are awash underneath. There aren't a huge number of loungers or especially sunbrellas so one tip is to go in the morning when the shadow from the hotel crosses the entire lagoon. In the afternoon you are left pretty exposed to the sun.

We had a blast down in the lagoon with our snorkels, the artificial reef is teeming with a great variety of fish, all shades and colours, but do watch out for the urchins, they have huuuuge spines so be careful going close to the rocks. Sea urchins are normally nocturnal, but this species, the Crowned Urchin, will be active at all hours so please take care. Having said that, there's plenty of room and things to see without going near these rocks, so don't be put off.

It's a bit of a stretch to call it a resort. Our rooms were large and although a little dated, were more than adequate. The mattress was new and very comfortable. Air-con is a bit feeble but actually we found that the ceiling fan was plenty enough to cool us down overnight. Sunsets from the rooms are spectacular.

The restaurants and bars are all grouped around a central pool area above the beach, and I liked the layout. The bar is right in the centre, high up and a perfect spot to from which to observe the sunset. I liked the vibe there, it was a proper "tropical" hotel bar with, dare I say it, a bit of a Hemingway vibe as we sat there looking out across the bay to the sunset. Very cool, without trying in any way to acheive that status. Cocktails were hit and miss - I had the worst Gin & Tonic and Seabreeze of my life, but the White Russians were addictive and hit the spot perfectly. Food wasn't great, in terms of quality or value, but our room had a kitchenette (well stocked with utensils) so we could fix up a good breakfast with supermarket supplies. We had a hire car so it was trivial sorting it all out. I'd recommend trying out the restaurants in PV or along the coast.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Costa Sur, an older hotel that is holding its own in the quality-value stakes. If you have young swimmers in your group, definitely think about staying, as they'll have a great time splashing around in the lagoon and snorkelling.

Room Tip: The section above the reception is renovated, try and stay in this section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo_Duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Bo thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure for us to know we were able to satisfy your expectations and that you had a good vacation experience.
We have taken note about your beverage comments and will make sure to check on this matter with our bartenders.
You have made a perfect description of what the laguna has in store for all guests, as this is one of the highlights or our property. Thanks for that.
Once again thank you and we hope you will give us the opportunity to host you in a future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

this gem of a hotel is 20 minutes off the beaten path of the heart of Puerto Vallarta and quite charming. The best part of the hotel is the service, food and the great private lagoon that surrounds half of the hotel. Our breakfast table that we always dined at every morning sits right next to the private beach overlooking the fantastic view of Puerto Vallarta! The rooms are spacious and the king size bed was very comfortable. You have a refrigerator inside the room which I never used but it is there should you want it. The activity director was incredibly patient and kind in teaching me how to paddle board. Every person who worked there was genuinely happy to work there and made you feel welcome. My masseuse was INCREDIBLE and sadly I don't remember her name. Small but quaint spa area with many choices of services to choose from. I would stay there again and recommend it as long as you don't mind not being in the heart of the town where all the restaurants and shopping is.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerrieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Merrie thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
We are very glad we were able to satisfy your expectations and that your vacation experience was a great one. Our staff is definitely the heart of our Resort and we will make sure to pass your comments along to all mentioned as we know they will very much appreciate them.
It is a fact we are off the "beaten" path and we are sure that is what gives us our charm. :o)
Once again thank you very much and we hope you will give us the opportunity of hosting you again in a future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tri-Cities, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I spent two great weeks at Costa Sur in June. Everything was great, food, rooms, food and especially the great staff. Veronica is very nice and a wonderful resource. The entire staff is friendly and willing to help in anyway possible. The location is excellent situated between Mismaloya Beach and downtown. Transportation by bus or taxi is a breeze.

Travel down to PV and enjoy the peace and serenity of Costa Sur on the ocean!

Room Tip: No tip needed, all rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeo899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Joe thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure for us to know we were able to satisfy your expectations and that you had a great vacation experience.
We are proud of our staff and we will make sure to pass your comments along to them, especially Veronica, as we know they will very much appreciate them.
Once again thank you and we hope to be able to host you in a near future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isafjordur, Iceland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I travelled to Puerto Vallerta from Guadalajara for a weekend in december. We bought a groupon for this hotel so we stayed for 2 nights. The hotel was beautiful and we loved everything about it. The room was gorgeous with a view of the ocean. The wifi connection wasn't all that good but we enjoyed each others company. We had a friend in Vallerta that took us out because the hotel is quite far from the center, at least not in walking distance.
We had great food there and relaxed by the ocean. I think we we're the only young couple there, it was pretty much only older couples but we loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSCMtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest thank you very much for taking the time to comment about you stay at our Costa Sur.
We are very glad we were able to satisfy your expectations and that your vacation experience was a good one.
I would like to confirm that, since your visit, we have considerably upgraded our WiFi system and we are sure you will notice the difference during your next visit.
Once again thank you very much and we hope to have the opportunity to host you in a future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Older hotel but will return. Wifi is brutal. Rooms are very clean and staff friendly. Did not have an all inclusive package but was quite happy taking the bus to Old Town to eat. Did eat at the hotel twice and was not impressed. Loved the snorkelling in the lagoon and met several people who returned yearly. Very small older resort outside of the main. The gym air conditioning was on and off. The store was over priced. If you are just looking to relax, swim, snorkel and don't expect high end, it's acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Shona thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your past stay at our Costa Sur.
We have taken note of the issues you encountered and will make sure to take the necessary corrective steps to fix these problems.
Once again thank you very much and we hope you will give us the opportunity of hosting you again in the future at your "home away from home" and show you your remarks are important to us.
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

An extended family get away 6/19-6/26. The hotel is older, but we enjoy the location. I think they need better activities onsite, however easy too get to town. only 2 issues was the taxi ride back to the airport. The driver wanted to charge more than he said at the hotel. Some family members had left the day before same number of people yet the price was higher for a smaller bus. Sunday brunch was a nightmare. Not enough staff and extremely long lines. Overall a good time for all. Had the best massage ever. Veronica was so helpful prior to our arrival. Eric was awesome helping our group book a few outings.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharoneR49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Sharone thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure and a pride to know we were able to provide you with a good vacation experience and that some of our staff members shined above the rest. We will make sure to let them know about your kudos as they will very much appreciate them.
We have also taken note of the observations regarding the taxi issue as well as the brunch detail and we will make sure to take the necessary corrective steps in order to avoid these situations from happening again in the future.
Once again thank you very much and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you in the future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#11 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#58 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#15 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#99 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
6.4 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#66 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Property: Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing