We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and Clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Ranked #38 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quaint and Clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Just spent two weeks at Costa Sur in the North Tower, 3rd floor end unit junior suite, rm. 301. I booked this through an Interval World as getaways for a great cost. Two other couples joined us and they were given suites right next to us. The view from the suite is spectacular without a doubt. Crashing waves over the rocks lull you to sleep even with the doors closed. The bathrooms are adequate but oddly enough, one thing was weird: the showers have a good size louvered windows that are kept open and they are on the wall that is the hallway outside your suite. Hence, when you walk down the hallways, you can hear people (yes, two at a time:), showering. Nice to hear that people conserve water and shower together. The bed is most comfortable. Kitchen sparce but does the job. No blenders, so forget the frozen drinks in the room. Large flat screen LG tvs'. Never had it on though. The small gift/convenience shop is in the lobby and carries a variety of things but is very very very pricey. Be prepared to go to the shop for bags of ice daily for a couple bucks. The grounds and lush landscape is maintained well. Pool is nice and is small but did not ever seem overcrowded. The lounge chairs have little overhead swings that can be put just the way you want to make a shade over your head, nice. Never seen those types before. Forget being on the beach after 8:00 pm before the sun goes down. The water waves come right up to the cement of the buildings. You would certainly be washed away and pulled out with the undertow of the tide. The waiters go out of their way to please guests in every way. We have a few meals at the restaurant. Very bland, overpriced, minimal selection and small portions. Best bet is to catch the bus and in five minutes you are downtown and have hundreds of restaurants to chose from. Basically, the resort needs a new head chef and menu. Security is present. The lagoon and small beach has many species of marine life. Be sure to snorkel early in the day as the wind picks up in the afternoons. Housekeeping was pleasant and consistent. Be sure to tip at least 20 pesos per person per day. We leave it on the pillow and they are very appreciative. The bus stop is just 15 steps from the bellman. Taxi's are always ready at the parking lot should you want to go that route. Be sure to stop at the concierge for a small rate chart for what the taxi rates are so you are not ripped off.

Room Tip: corner suite, they are larger and have an extra large window on another wall. Makes all the differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamperedpooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest thank you very much for having taken the time to comment a bout your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure to know we were able to satisfy most of your expectations and that your vacation experience was a nice one.
We have taken note about you comments regarding the food and we will makes sure to look into them and take the necessary steps to correct the issues.
Once again thank you very much and we hope you will give us the opportunity of hosting you once more in a future.
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    474
    197
    76
    53
See reviews for
371
519
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tryon , nc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Absolutely loved the staff, location, views, restaurant, and bed. This was my seventh trip to Puerto Vallarta so I am familiar with what to expect, but this "older resort" really fulfilled my wishes. I am not picky when visiting other countries so my expectations are not like some people who may expect a Four Seasons type hotel. The bus is cheap and runs often so if you want to get downtown, to the Malecon, Mismaloya etc it is a ten minute ride, and restaurants are all s stone's throw away if you prefer eating off site. The entire staff is so kind and courteous that I felt safe and secure at all times. My only quibble would be that the wi-fi signal was not very good but I go on a vacation to get away from the normal media on slaughts so in the end analysis wasn't bothered at all. The week was so enjoyable we are planning a return visit.

Room Tip: all rooms have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lwitTryon_Nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest thank you very for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure to know that we fulfilled your vacation expectations and that all services were up to your standards, but more than anything else, we are very proud of our staff having distinguished themselves and given you the service they so very well like to provide all our guests.
Regarding the WiFi system, we can assure we are only a few days away of implementing a totally new one, so we are sure that on your next visit to your "home away from home" you will notice the difference.
Once again thank you very much. Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Starting with the positive...beautiful place. Good food. Great views. Nice beach. Front desk quite helpful. Negatives....we were two couples who chose Costa Sur for the Sea Adventure package. We made it clear when booking that we were kayakers and looking forward to kayaking. We asked how many kayaks were available and were told there were "plenty". When we got there, we were informed there were only 3 single kayaks. The doubles were damaged or not usable. Bummer number one. Also, the available kayaks were very short, no seats and cheesy paddles. Having never used paddle boards, these ..and there were only 2 of them...were not an acceptable option. Second, WIFI IN EVERY ROOM....NOT! We checked in to our room on the 13 th floor, thinking how,fantastic. NO WIFI AT ALL. We repacked and moved to the third floor, where the wifi was spotty. We dealt with it. So, make sure if wifi is important to you, you make it very clear when you check in. We were completely unpacked when we found no wifi. Time consuming and we were all tired after the long bus ride to PV from Mazatlan. We asked for a credit for services not provided. We were given a measly $25.00 compensation for the sea package, and that was after a huge hassles with the powers to be. Bottom line, there are lots of very nice places to stay in PV that have beautiful rooms, views, good food and nice beaches. And less costly than Costa Sur.
We would not recommend it to friends who want a sea package or wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for wifi if you want it. And if you think the sea adventure package is a value, it is NOT.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Linda thank you much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
Your feedback is very important to us as it allows us to take all the necessary actions to correct and prevent these kind of miss happenings from happening again.
Regarding the WiFi, we would like to let you know that we are in the last stages of installing a completely new system that will fully cover all the resort, from the moment you walk into the lobby and throughout all the areas.
We are very sorry we were not able to satisfy your vacation experience, but we hope you will give another opportunity to make it up to you.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
399 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We have been going to Costa Sur for over 20 years. We speak Spanish (which is not necessary at the resort) but is you like to get a real feel for "Old Mexico" there are great restaurants, shops, etc. in the area.....and you beat the tourist traps in the city. If you want to avoid the "American" influence this is a good place. It isn't as fancy as the resorts in Nueva Vallarta but it is clean, the service is great, and the food is very good. There really isn't much of a beach but the two pools are good. We take the city buses to town or other areas all the time...they are cheap and a fun experience. This is not a swingers resort by any stretch of the imagination....great for families and more mature couples. We have included friends and family on some visits and with two bedrooms it makes it a fairly inexpensive vacation. We exchange for the room.

Room Tip: We stay in the South Tower as it has one and two bedrooms whereas the north tower is all studios. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick_Sue1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Rick thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure to know that we are able to keep satisfying your vacation experience and that our services are meeting your standards. It is a fact our staff is one of the most precious elements at the resort and we are proud when they show it to our guests.
Once again thank you very much and we hope to see you around for many years to come at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

It's beautiful and all the staff is really nice. I remember I was having breakfast and Angel, the waiter, asked us when were returning to Guadalajara.. thing here was that we never told we were from Guadalajara and they also say hello to you anytime.
Food is good but you practically have to eat at the hotel and before 8-9 pm you have to go to the city or order pizza because they don't prepare it.
The water at the pool is really hot, extremely hot and the ocean is cold. You can also swim but stay away from rocks.
If you plan to go everyday to the city better to choose another hotel because it is a little bit away from downtown.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Mariana thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure to know we were able to satisfy your vacation experience and that the services and installations were up to your standards.
We are proud of our staff and we are glad you noticed them and felt well attended to.
Once again thank you very much and we hope you will give us the opportunity of hosting you in a future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I am happy to be returning this upcoming week. Flavio is the best waiter ever. Always remembers what i like for breakfast. Fabricio...the best bartender ever....make a nice drink always. Fernando the Manager of reception is always accommodating and super friendly guy. Everybody here is amazing and all my friends love coming here with me now. I have been coming here since 1996 and have always been welcomed and treated like family. Definitely a home away from home.

Room Tip: not a bad room in the house. You can spit into the ocean from almost every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank realtruthtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest thank you very much for having taken the time to let us know about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure to know that we are able to maintain our quality for our return guests and that, more importantly, our staff keeps on shining everyday. Our staff is the soul of the Resort and the ones you mention proved it once more.
We will make sure to pass a copy of your comments along to Flavio, Fabricio and Fernando as they will very much appreciate them.
Once again thank you very much and we hope to see you soon at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Costa Sur is a pleasant enough property with spacious rooms and a great view. This is the oldest property in the area and is showing its age. Decor is dated and furniture needs to be upgraded. The appliances are older and the bathrooms are spacious but showing some wear. While the rooms overlooking the pool area seem more desirable because of the larger balcony and better view, the ringside seat overlooking a wedding with DJ at 1:00 AM probably won't make you appreciate the view. The food in the restaurant is better than expected. The beach area is small and Ok for swimming but not an area that allows for long walks on the beach. The location out of town does make for a quieter stay than one would have in the center of town but is less convenient.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool do have much better balconies and more light than the internal rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Wayne thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
We have taken note of your observations, which are very important to us, as well as of the good points you mention and are glad that, overall, your stay was an agreeable one.
We hope you will give us the opportunity of hosting you again in the future and we thank you, once again, for your feedback.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#15 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#9 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#62 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#22 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#98 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Property: Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing