We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed for a wedding, was a good resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Ranked #38 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“stayed for a wedding, was a good resort”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed for 8 nights for a friends wedding.

When we first checked in, they had a problem with our booking, however this was ironed out fairly quickly.

We were on an a premium all inclusive package, which gave us access to their really good food, and full range of drinks. Was particularly valuable at the wedding when I ordered 70 tequila shots.

The rooms were clean, the A/C was very strong. All rooms have ocean views, the common bar/pool area is really good too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peefry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest thank you much for taking the time to comment on your stay at our Costa Sur.
We are very glad we were able to satisfy your expectations and that your experience was a fulfilling one.
Once again thank you very much and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you in a future at "your home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    516
    212
    80
    54
See reviews for
409
567
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have company this week with a small child and there is no pool at our present accommodations so we decided to go to Costa Sur on a day pass. Excellent value! The staff was super friendly, helpful and generous. We were never made to feel like we were "just day pass guests". The Food and Beverage manager welcomed us and assured us we would have whatever we required. Janet was our server and she was outstanding. The food was delicious and great value. All of us ageed it was a great day and we will gladly do this again.
IMW from Canada

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IMW93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest thank you for having taken the time to comment about your recent day pass at our Costa sur.
We are glad we made you feel as everybody should feel, comfortable and at home, especially when you are coming with family and children.
We sure hope you will continue to take advantage of our facilities and of the service given by our Food & Beverage staff, we are pretty sure they are the best in the Bay!
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Spent a week at the Costa Sur in a suite in the south tower. The room was beautiful, quiet and had a great view from the balcony. The staff was friendly and attentive. The grounds were well kept and clean. Contrary to some of the other reviews, we had no trouble with the wifi in our room. We also were not aware of any mold or musty smells other reviewers mentioned. Our only slight complaint. Is that it was crowded at the pool area. People came early and put towels on the chairs to reserve them. First come first serve would be a better policy. The waves were exceptionally high while we were there, limiting the use of the beach. If this were not the case, there might have been more poolside room. The restaurants were good and reasonably priced. Service was excellent. Access to town was easy and cheap with the buses stopping out front. When we return to Puerto Vallarta we plan on returning to the Costa Sur.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 54sunlover25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a fact the tides and high waves forced us to close the beach off for safety reasons and this action crowds a bit the pools, but we have taken note about your suggestion and will monitor the situation for future purposes.
We read with pleasure that the service given by our staff was excellent and friendly, as our personnel is key to deliver that vacation experience all our guests deserve. We will be passing your comments on to them, as we know they will appreciate them very much.
Once thank you and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again at your "home away from home" in a near future.
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Were there in January. The property is older but in pretty good shape. Enjoyed being out of the hustle and bustle of Vallarta. Only 10 minutes away by bus. We snorkeled a few times at the resort and saw lots of different types of fish. Our bed was comfortable. The staff were very good. The deal we booked online included breakfast which was very tasty and included fresh fruit. We also like the location for heading in the opposite direction, away from Vallarta. You can catch a bus South to Mismaloya for beaches shopping and restaurants. Easy, cheap ride. The Vallarta zoo is there. Small, but worth the visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Joe thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure to know we were able to satisfy your expectations and that services and staff made you feel very comfortable and insured a nice vacation experience.
We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again at your "home away from home" in a near future and meanwhile remain,
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fielding UT
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We spent one week at Costa Sur (CS) in January of 2014. Overall it was a very good experience.

This place is a couple of miles south of town. We rented a car, but it probably would have been better to take a cheap bus to town as needed. I would have liked it if they had a path or hiking trail into town since I like to walk, but they don't. I didn't want to walk along the narrow winding road into town because it didn’t seem safe. The coast is rocky, but a man-made lagoon provides a little sandy beach. No surfing, but snorkeling and kayaking are available.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. This was probably the biggest plus for the CS. They had a lot of activities for the guests that wanted to participate: water volleyball, darts, cards, etc. Excursions from the CS are available and appeared to be a better deal than the ones originating from town. Our snorkeling excursion was wonderful: out small private group arrived at the "preferred" snorkeling spot before the giant catamaran came from the PV beach area and they left before us. We also really enjoyed taking the kayaks out of the lagoon onto the ocean.

The rooms were older, but comfortable. The view from the balcony was great. A lot of the guests seemed to know each other from the many years of repeated time share visits. This was a one-time thing for us not because we didn’t like it, but because there’s so many other locations out there yet to explore, but we did meet some really nice guests. There were not many child guests there which was fine with me, but they seemed to accommodate them well enough.

The on-site restaurant was acceptable, but not great. They call it 3 restaurants, but it’s really just 3 areas with the food coming from a common kitchen. The food prices were a little high and I preferred eating in town where I had more choices and diverse scenery. We didn’t use the on-site spa.

We did the express checkout the evening before leaving. But the morning of checkout we still had to wait behind the long lines of people who didn’t, so what was the point? They need to get better at this.

If I were to return to PV I would again consider the CS.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Sam thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your vacation stay at our Costa Sur.
We are glad we were able to satisfy your experience and that our staff attended to you the way they know: Making you feel right at home. As you well say, our staff is the soul of our resort and we are proud they stepped up, one more time, to prove it.
Once again, thank you very much, and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again at your "home away from home, in a future.
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Myself, my Mom, and my daughters visited the Costa Sur in March 2014. We bought a deal through Living Social and received excellent service.

The hotel is a charming tiled resort that has larger rooms. We stayed in a studio, which was complete with bathroom with a shower, kitchen including fridge, pullout couch, king size bed, table with 2 chairs, and an awesome ocean view balcony. Our room did not come with balcony chairs, however when we asked for some they brought us 2 plastic chairs that were just what we needed.

The sound of the ocean was so near, we could even hear it through the closed sliding door. Ah Heaven!

The Lagoon in front of the hotel, was absolutely perfect for my almost 2 and 4 year old. On 2 of the days the ocean was too rough for swimming, until the afternoon and the hotel restricts access since the ocean comes right up to the sea wall on the hotel. But this wasn't a problem because the main pool is a fairly large and there is also an adult pool. A little annoying when I wanted to use the adult pool and there was volleyball going on, but some people love volleyball. Too each their own.

We ordered food a few times and always found it good or very good. The pina coladas we had were delicious.

One day we ventured to town on the bus and I was able to take my stroller on without a problem. It was a little scary coming down the steep bus stairs but I did it.

Many people at the resort have been coming for years. One of the workers, knew my daughters name and would say Hi to her each morning.

They have a kids club but it was never open when we tried. It is just a little room but I guess they have plans for Easter to open it up more with activities.

We had a great time and hope to return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kualoa04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest thank you very much for letting us know about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure for us to know we were able to satisfy your vacation experience and that all services and staff were up to par.
We do have a Kids' Club with varied activities for children different ages but, unfortunately, we were in the process of hiring a new person and could not attend to your son and daughter; we apologize for this.
We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again at your "home away from home" in a future and thank you once again.
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

A wonderful place to escape a terrible winter. We found Costa Sur when our regular hotel had no room for us this February. We now plan to be regulars at Costa Sur. The rooms face the bay and have kitchenettes and are clean. The service is friendly and responsive. The beach is unique for Puerto Vallarta in that is protected by a manmade reef. The pool area is delightful with ocean views from the deck. Also great areas for sun or shade. The poolside bar has any drink you can think of and a two for one happy hour at 5:00 P.M. The downsides are no in room wifi, spotty wifi (but free) in the public areas, and a distance from Centro Puerto Vallarta where all the action is. However an 8 peso bus ride along an interesting road will get you to town and back. We will be there next February.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear John thank you much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
We are very glad the resort you normally go to was booked and you got to experience us first hand, allowing us to satisfy your vacation expectations.
It is a fact Costa Sur, on the south coast of Vallarta, is unique and that makes it a repeat resort once you have found and enjoyed it.
We sincerely hope you will give the opportunity of hosting you again, next February, at your "home away from home" and, once again, thank you very much.
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,540 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
682 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#98 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#65 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
260 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#60 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
691 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Property: Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing