We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Place, Great Staff, Small Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Ranked #38 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Fielding UT
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet Place, Great Staff, Small Beach”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We spent one week at Costa Sur (CS) in January of 2014. Overall it was a very good experience.

This place is a couple of miles south of town. We rented a car, but it probably would have been better to take a cheap bus to town as needed. I would have liked it if they had a path or hiking trail into town since I like to walk, but they don't. I didn't want to walk along the narrow winding road into town because it didn’t seem safe. The coast is rocky, but a man-made lagoon provides a little sandy beach. No surfing, but snorkeling and kayaking are available.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. This was probably the biggest plus for the CS. They had a lot of activities for the guests that wanted to participate: water volleyball, darts, cards, etc. Excursions from the CS are available and appeared to be a better deal than the ones originating from town. Our snorkeling excursion was wonderful: out small private group arrived at the "preferred" snorkeling spot before the giant catamaran came from the PV beach area and they left before us. We also really enjoyed taking the kayaks out of the lagoon onto the ocean.

The rooms were older, but comfortable. The view from the balcony was great. A lot of the guests seemed to know each other from the many years of repeated time share visits. This was a one-time thing for us not because we didn’t like it, but because there’s so many other locations out there yet to explore, but we did meet some really nice guests. There were not many child guests there which was fine with me, but they seemed to accommodate them well enough.

The on-site restaurant was acceptable, but not great. They call it 3 restaurants, but it’s really just 3 areas with the food coming from a common kitchen. The food prices were a little high and I preferred eating in town where I had more choices and diverse scenery. We didn’t use the on-site spa.

We did the express checkout the evening before leaving. But the morning of checkout we still had to wait behind the long lines of people who didn’t, so what was the point? They need to get better at this.

If I were to return to PV I would again consider the CS.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Sam thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your vacation stay at our Costa Sur.
We are glad we were able to satisfy your experience and that our staff attended to you the way they know: Making you feel right at home. As you well say, our staff is the soul of our resort and we are proud they stepped up, one more time, to prove it.
Once again, thank you very much, and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again at your "home away from home, in a future.
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    503
    208
    79
    53
See reviews for
392
553
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Myself, my Mom, and my daughters visited the Costa Sur in March 2014. We bought a deal through Living Social and received excellent service.

The hotel is a charming tiled resort that has larger rooms. We stayed in a studio, which was complete with bathroom with a shower, kitchen including fridge, pullout couch, king size bed, table with 2 chairs, and an awesome ocean view balcony. Our room did not come with balcony chairs, however when we asked for some they brought us 2 plastic chairs that were just what we needed.

The sound of the ocean was so near, we could even hear it through the closed sliding door. Ah Heaven!

The Lagoon in front of the hotel, was absolutely perfect for my almost 2 and 4 year old. On 2 of the days the ocean was too rough for swimming, until the afternoon and the hotel restricts access since the ocean comes right up to the sea wall on the hotel. But this wasn't a problem because the main pool is a fairly large and there is also an adult pool. A little annoying when I wanted to use the adult pool and there was volleyball going on, but some people love volleyball. Too each their own.

We ordered food a few times and always found it good or very good. The pina coladas we had were delicious.

One day we ventured to town on the bus and I was able to take my stroller on without a problem. It was a little scary coming down the steep bus stairs but I did it.

Many people at the resort have been coming for years. One of the workers, knew my daughters name and would say Hi to her each morning.

They have a kids club but it was never open when we tried. It is just a little room but I guess they have plans for Easter to open it up more with activities.

We had a great time and hope to return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kualoa04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest thank you very much for letting us know about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure for us to know we were able to satisfy your vacation experience and that all services and staff were up to par.
We do have a Kids' Club with varied activities for children different ages but, unfortunately, we were in the process of hiring a new person and could not attend to your son and daughter; we apologize for this.
We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again at your "home away from home" in a future and thank you once again.
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

A wonderful place to escape a terrible winter. We found Costa Sur when our regular hotel had no room for us this February. We now plan to be regulars at Costa Sur. The rooms face the bay and have kitchenettes and are clean. The service is friendly and responsive. The beach is unique for Puerto Vallarta in that is protected by a manmade reef. The pool area is delightful with ocean views from the deck. Also great areas for sun or shade. The poolside bar has any drink you can think of and a two for one happy hour at 5:00 P.M. The downsides are no in room wifi, spotty wifi (but free) in the public areas, and a distance from Centro Puerto Vallarta where all the action is. However an 8 peso bus ride along an interesting road will get you to town and back. We will be there next February.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear John thank you much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
We are very glad the resort you normally go to was booked and you got to experience us first hand, allowing us to satisfy your vacation expectations.
It is a fact Costa Sur, on the south coast of Vallarta, is unique and that makes it a repeat resort once you have found and enjoyed it.
We sincerely hope you will give the opportunity of hosting you again, next February, at your "home away from home" and, once again, thank you very much.
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We spent 3 wonderful weeks at Costa Sur in February. As usual, it remains a warm, friendly place. The wonderful staff there and the many friendly guests there make you feel like you're returning home. Juan Carlos greets you when you arrive, Fernando makes your check-in pleasant, smooth & easy, Jose provides all of us with many interesting & fun activities, Moses and Victor make your restaurant experience enjoyable. The Costa Sur views of the sea and the sunsets are spectacular. The bus, right at the front entrance, makes traveling north to downtown PV or south toward Mismaloya easy, fun and inexpensive. The facility is getting a little old, but it is well maintained, and is a tremendous value. We've been coming to Costa Sur for years, and the food and the activities have improved dramatically in recent years. In the old days, activities were limited, but Jose has worked tirelessly to offer guests so many new things to do. We already miss Costa Sur, and look forward to returning in 2015.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo0123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Pablo thank you very much for your great comments regarding your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure to know we were able to satisfy your expectations and that the changes in the various services we have been doing over the months are showing and are appreciated.
Our staff is a big part of our success and we will make sure to pass your comments along to all involved as they will be fully appreciated.
Once again, thank you very much and we will be waiting for you in a future to host you at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We purchased a living social deal and were quite pleased. Costa Sur is situated away from the airport and on the opposite side of downtown In a quieter spot than the large all inclusives. A short 8 peso bus ride quickly brings you to town where the boardwalk and many restaurants are available. The hotel is clean and all rooms face the ocean which allows for complete privacy. The floors are quaintly tiled in deep red, the bed very comfy with a pillow top and the headboard was made of terra cotta, shaped like the sun. A small kitchen (mini-stove, fridge, sink, dish and glassware) and dining table with 2 chairs were available should we have wanted to eat in. There was a market on the lobby floor which sold food items(eggs, butter, snacks, drinks, sundries, etc. at the same cost as in town markets. Our American breakfast was included (fruit, eggs, toast, refried beans, potatoes and choice of meat with coffee or tea) and it was quite good. The nachos were yummy and we enjoyed 2 for 1 drinks at happy hour. 2 pools available - 1 heated for adults only, and 1 in full sun. All restaurants and bars were off the beach and near the pool.

Our first morning there, we woke up to see a mother whale and her calf swimming close to shore. Lovely! Our view was just spectacular on the 13th floor. The staff was incredibly friendly, esp. Fernando at the front desk, Diana the concierge, Eric who booked our whale tour (phenomenal tour, by the way), and Clemente at the restaurant who couldn't be more attentive!

Many thanks to all. We hope to see you again!

P.S. - this is not a luxury hotel. Do not expect shi-shi. Expect friendly and Mexican. This place drew Americans, Canadians and Mexicans.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Seasonedchefstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure for us to know that we were able to satisfy your expectations and that the staff and services were up to par.
Our personnel is an important part of our success and we will make sure to pass along, to all mentioned, your nice comments which they will fully appreciate.
Once again, thank you very much and we hope you will give us the opportunity of hosting you at your "home away from home" in a near future.
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loves Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Arturo & Jose keep the resort so alive. Water volleyball, card games, fun things to do at the Fiesta, water sports ( kayaking, snorkeling rental) so much fun.Have to say for great prizes we play Bingo too...Never a dull moment.They must stay there forever.....

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrae Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Audrae thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure for to know that José and Arturo made your stay a very enjoyable and memorable one. We will pass along to them your great comments which they will very much appreciate.
Once again, thank your very much and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you at your "home away from home" in a near future.
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The units can be very large , nice windows and sliding doors balconys.
The private beach can get a bit crowded but you can always find space .Great fir snorkeling and floating .
Have to be crafty if you want a chair by the pool .Got involved in a heated discussion with a women about who had there towels on some chairs one morning .Very entertaining .(for me) I was an innocent bystander , I think she needed a coffee .
They really need to fix the wifi,
The advertise that they have it but it really is a joke .With so many people using phones and such there server can't deal with it .
There's a perfect beach about 1 mile south of the complex ,perfecto
The food is average but good value ,BBQ night , prime rib night good. Italian night, not so.
The wait staff from the greeters up on the 6 floor to the servers at the bar are all excellent

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Ron thank you very much for letting us know about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
We are glad our staff made you feel at home and that, in general, our services satisfied your expectations. I want to confirm we are seriously looking into the WiFi issue and that we will have it resolved in a maximum of three months.
Once again thank you very much and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again in a future.
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#57 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#15 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#99 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
6.4 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#66 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Property: Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Vacatia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing