We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$338
$284
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$241
$184
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$242
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$519
$286
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$238
$196
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$396
$220
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$271
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$149
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$207
$156
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mousai(Puerto Vallarta)
$352
$324
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,621)
Filter reviews
1,621 results
Traveler rating
643
591
238
89
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
643
591
238
89
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate lagoonbarefoot barman made lagoonnorth towerpool areaocean frontroad noisejuan carlossmall kitchentime shareactivities directorminute bus ridesound of the wavesthe wait staffan older hotelpool volleyballfood and drinks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
687 - 692 of 1,621 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014

great staff,very helpful!good food good service,reasonable prices,happy hour5-6with popcorn at the pool!volleyball in heated adult pool16 on a side fun rules!!!we had a mini-suite so we could have food home if we wanted! great view 12th floor.south side on bus (mismaloya),get it at basillio bandeo! 8pesos we will go again when our airmiles need some extra days!!great time!!

Room Tip: high floor-only rooms on thebay side
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Guest thank you much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
We are glad we were able to satisfy your expectations and that you had a great vacation experience.
We will be passing your comments along to our staff, as they will be very much appreciated.
Once again thank you very much and we hope your air miles will be needing some extra days real soon, so you can come back to your "home away from home".
Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

If you're looking for a laid back atmosphere to forget all those work stresses, this is the place.
Best staff in Puerto Vallarta, great food, comfortable beds, large flat screen TV's, treated water system (don't need bottled water, Yeah!),great sunsets, only resort in PV plus a man made lagoon with loads of pretty little fish to see while snorkeling. You can rent snorkeling gear for 50 pesos an hour. The whales swim by with their babies and put on a show for free. if you plan to go into the ocean, make sure you bring your water shoes with you. If you forget them you can buy some locally, even in the resort gift shop. The bus to Old Town runs just outside the front entrance for 7 1/2 pesos (about 60cents) one way. Where you get off the bus in town is the same place you get back on to go back to the resort. Always fun to take the buses in PV & they are well marked on their windshields as to where they go. The bus returning to Costa Sur is signed as "MISMALOYA" but if unsure just ask the driver. If possible returning to the resort, sit near the front of the bus & ask the driver to let you off at COSTA SUR. Buses only run until 10:15 p.m. so don't be later or it will cost you a taxi ride for whole 70 pesos per taxi ($5.85 US). Taxi's are paid by trip not by passenger so see how many you can squeeze into those little yellow cabs! Need help, just ask the guys at the front entrance. They speak English well and know all the answers. Our favorite porter (front guy) is Juan-Carlos. He is very friendly and will be very pleased to help you with questions or moving luggage, bags, etc.
The staff at the desk at very friendly and helpful. Don't hesitate to ask for help. Most of the staff at this resort have been there for over 30 years so know the ropes and keep the customers coming back. You really can't go wrong staying at Costa Sur.

Room Tip: Rooms below the lobby level are the quietest.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank basti0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Guest thank you very much for taking the time to lest us know about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure for us to know that we were able to satisfy your expectations and that you had a great experience while our guest.
We will make sure to pass your comments along to Juan Carlos and the rest of the staff, as they will appreciate them very much. Our staff is an (if not the most) important part of our operation and they showed it once more.
Once again thank you very much and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you in a near future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

costa sur Puerto Vallarta is in a wonderful location - less than ten minutes from the Malecon and the old city. The rooms are spacious and clean. Very good housekeeping daily. On a very nice beach. two pools - one heated. Restaurant on site. Food is fair.
Units are a little dated but the price is right.
Staff friendly and helpful and after spending three weeks I would definitely go back next year.
V and J

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jennie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Jennie thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure for us to know we were able to satisfy your expectations and that our staff left a positive mark on your experience, as they are a large part of our success.
Once again thank you very much and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again, in a near future, at your "home away from home".
Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had an Interval promotion that provided us with two weeks at this resort. We enjoyed that we could hear the ocean waves crashing against the breakwater and beach from our room (on the 9th floor), and then go a short distance to swim in the ocean. For a studio unit, the room was spacious, and the bed was comfortable. From the website photo, you can see the breakwater creates a protected swimming beach. During our first week, the currents were very strong, and the resort would close the beach when the high tides would limit use of the beach. The second week, the currents were much weaker, creating an almost "too calm" of a swimming beach. There were a number of people snorkeling inside the breakwater, and if you have never snorkeled, then you would find the small variety of fish interesting. The beach has a sharp slope, so even sitting on the lounge chairs can be a bit difficult. Most guest sit by the swimming pool, and they tend to place their belongings on the lounge chairs to reserve a spot by mid-morning. The area is not large and thus the lounge chairs are packed tightly. Also, there is no control over how many pool towels guest can use, so the resort would run out of clean towels (until the laundry could catch up). The unit kitchen facilities are a bit limiting. The refrigerator is adequate, but the stove has two, low-btu propane burners. Cooking 3-minute oatmeal took about 15 minutes. The unit has a narrow balcony, and we put the two dining room chairs on the balcony to enjoy the view. However, this did not leave much room to walk on the balcony. Our particular stay unfortunately overlapped with a weekend wedding, which brought a number of guests to the resort for a short stay, whose main emphasis was on late night partying. We had to ask the front desk if they could get the party goers to stop shouting at 4 am. The resort has a decent fitness center (2 elipticals, 2 lifecycles, 2 treadmills, weight machine). The center is most crowded in the early morning, but then is usually empty after 9:30 am. The local bus stops right in front of the resort, so for 8 pesos, you can get into town easily (or, in the other direction, to Mismaloya). Since it was so easy to get into town, we only ate at the resort restaurant once. The resort restaurant food was OK, but the view is very good at sunset. One note: the resort offers a laundry service since it does not have washers and dryers on site for guest use.

Room Tip: We liked the view from our 9th floor room. However, the unit picked up a lot of street noise (street level in floor 6). 907 was also close to the elevator, so was probably a bit nosier than the units on either side.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Jeff we thank you very much for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
We are glad we were able to satisfy most of your expectations and would like to assure you that we have taken note regarding the observations you made, in order to take the corrective actions needed.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again in a near future so you can confirm that we take yours and other comments very seriously.
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Wonderful experience. It felt like home.Everyone was warm and welcoming. The service was exceptional! The food was good, but we were so close to town we wanted to experience many restaurants. The bus is quick and inexpensive, so convenient for guests. The hotel was VERY clean. We loved the area, and are planning on returning.The only reason it is not 5 stars, is that the rooms need some updating.I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheryl g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Cheryl thank you very much for having taken the time to let us know about your recent experience at our Costa Sur.
it is a pleasure to know that we were able to satisfy your expectations and that you had an enjoyable stay.
We will be waiting for you on a return visit to your "home away from home" in a near future, hopefully.
Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews