We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Ranked #38 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Merritt Island, Florida
1 review
“great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here in October after coming down for a friends wedding for 3 nights. I had to change and add to my reservation alot since we were all arriving at different times and they were very helpful with this! The all inclusive food was top notch and WELL worth it! I have been to many all inclusive and I believe this food to be the best!! The bartender Juan was always very fun and friendly. It is a short cheap ride into downtown, but nice to be out of downtown and the bustle. We had agreat view from our room and it was very quiet and peaceful. The spa there too was VERY reasonable and highly recommended!!!
All in all it was a great place and I would definitly stay there again!

And I didn't mention..I left my purse by the pool one night and remembered it about 15 minuted later. When I went down to the pool...there was a staff member just standing by it gaurding it for me for when I came back!!!! I couldn't believe it!!! I am still so thankful for him!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chann0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure for us to know that your vacation experience was a great one and that our services and staff exceeded your expectations.
We pride ourselves on having one of the best human resources team in Puerto Vallarta and each time one of our guests mentions it we make sure to let them know about it, as they really appreciate being told their service was noted.
Once again, thank you very much, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in a near future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    474
    197
    76
    53
See reviews for
371
519
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Very much enjoyed Costa Sur for a long 4-day weekend right before Christmas: Wonderful, wonderful breakfast buffet and just outstanding staff. Great service at the restaurant, best restaurant and hiking recommendations from Eric, the concierge, and Fernando, jefe de recepcion, rescued us after we forgot a CD with photos and videos from a day trip at the hotel. He uploaded two GB of photos and videos for us - saving us all the complicated shipping of a CD to the US. Thank you, Fernando - wonderful customer service. We will be back :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMG-TEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear guest thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure for us to know that our staff satisfied and exceeded your expectations, as the soul of the Resort is formed by our staff and they have proved this is true, once again!
We will be passing along to Fernando, Eric and the wait staff your compliments which, we are sure, they will appreciate to their full value.
Once again, thank you very much, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again ¡in a near future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

My family (7 of us) stayed a week in December. Oh my, what a great place. Our 1 bedroom unit was very comfortable and clean. Taxi & bus service were very convenient. The staff took extra care to make us feel comfortable. And the food was delicious. This is our 2nd stay and we will come back every year.
Mary Ann C.

Room Tip: The studio is nice because the railing on the patio is open making it easier to see the ocean. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAnnC473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Mary Ann thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure for us to know that we were able to satisfy your expectations and that your family stay was a great experience.
We will let our staff know about your compliments as they appreciate them very much.
Once again, thank you much, and we will be waiting for you i a near future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We recently stayed for 2 weeks here and enjoyed it immensely. The staff were friendly and very helpful at every turn and made our stay most enjoyable. The rooms were clean and studio we stayed in the second week was updated and very comfortable. The one bedroom unit the first week was clean if a trifle dated, but renovations are ongoing tho not as to disturb any of the guests. The internet accessible in the main lobby was strong enough to fill my need to "keep in touch". The bus to town was directly across the street and cost only 7 pesos or .70 cents US. The lagoon was fun to swim in and all the rooms face the water. great sunsets! I would definitely stay at the Costa Sur again.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter and the balcony/deck is much bigger as they are 1 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamalusnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, Director General at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Guest thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure for us to know that we were able to provide a great vacation experience and we will make sure to let the staff know about your nice comments. They will very much appreciate them.
We will hopefully have the chance to host you again in a near future at your "home away from home" so that you can keep enjoying and relaxing in Puerto Vallarta.
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

The private beach and Lagoon made for the most peaceful swimming, no fears of sharks or waves to know you over. The staff at the front Desk were so considerate, when we arrived our Banks were not allowing us access to ATM's so we had no way to pay the Taxi, the front desk loaned us the money until we got ahold of our banks! The rooms are huge and its true that ALL the rooms have full balcony views of the beach. Its a quick 8min Cab ride to downtown. But nicely set in the jungle away from all the traffic and noise.

Room Tip: All the rooms are Balcony view, but the corner units have a larger wrap around balcony if you desire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danifuninthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, Director General at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Guest thank you very much for letting us know about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
We are very glad we were able to satisfy your expectations and that the services and staff were an important part of it.
We will make sure to pass along to our Front Desk personnel the comments about their service as we are certain they willl very much appreciate them.
We hope you will give us the opportunity of hosting you again at your "home away from home" and meanwhile remain,
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

A very enjoyable experience! The food was great. The staff were all very kind, helpful, friendly, and efficient. A very relaxing atmosphere, The rooms were very clean and well supplied. This is real Mexico!

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms in both towers and liked both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, Director General at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Karen thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at our Costa sur.
It is a pleasure for us to know that we were able to satisfy your expectations and that our staff turned it into a wonderful experience, as we are proud of them being the soul of the Resort. We will make sure to pass your comments along for them to enjoy.
Once again, thank you much, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you in a near future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I greatly enjoyed my stay at Costa Sur. The facility was charming and the rooms were nice. We had a Living Social deal, so the cost was exceptionally good. We had an all-inclusive supplement, which I highly recommend, as the food and drink are delicious. The menu is expansive and there is alot to choose from. The staff is genuinely friendly. Fernanado, Juan, Victor, Oswaldo and Antonio made us feel welcome and taken care of. The view from our room was phenomenal, and I enjoyed going to sleep listening to the ocean below. This would be an excellent location for a wedding. The spa was great, and I had one of the best massages of my life there. It is outside of town, so you feel little out of the hub-bub of the city, which is nice. The pool and beach were quintessential.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mieko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, Director General at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest thank you very much for having let us know about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
We are very glad we were able to satisfy your expectations and that all services and staff made you enjoy a great experience.
We will be passing along your compliments to all staff involved, which we are certain they wil fully appreciate.
Once again, thank you very much, and we hope you will give us the opportunity of hosting you again at your "home away from home" in a near future.
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#15 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#9 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#62 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#22 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#98 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Property: Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing