We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Honeymoon Experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Ranked #37 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Honeymoon Experience!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked this resort through a deal on Living Social and I'm SO glad we did! The resort was clean and the staff was so friendly. Everyone was so accommodating and helpful.
We had a one bedroom King Suite with a full kitchen and one and half bathrooms. We went to the market for a few things and made breakfast in our room (to save money) We mostly ate dinner and lunch at the resort. The food at the resort was excellent. Although, my one complaint is that I would have liked to see MORE Mexican food on the menu. They only had a few Mexican dishes - which were great (But hey, I'm in Mexico so I wanted all the authentic Mexican I can get!)
My husband and I walked to Lindo Mar resort one day (not sure that I recommend walking because theres hardly a sidewalk and they drive really fast) but they had a more extensive menu and all mexican food. We had fish tacos - they werent my favorite but the Strawberry margarita was really good :)

Overall, I HIGHLY recommend Costa Sur. It wasn't over crowded and the pools were really nice (we noticed at Lindo Mar Resort, not as great pools or beach...) The beach at C.S was a bit rocky which hurt walking in but overall was a quiet, nice beach.

Our favorite place to eat in town was PiPi's. Their Fajitas were the best I've had! And of course, you gotta drink their margaritas ( I recommend the Mango Marg :)

MEXICO IS THE BEST!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
It’s wonderful that you were able to give us such a high score. We will do our best to deserve that ranking.
We will take into account your suggestion to have more Mexican dishes which we are happy to offer. On Sunday mornings we now offer a lot of the traditional Mexican foods such as molé, pipian, tamales and a variety of quesadillas. C’mon back – we will make some special Mexican dishes just for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    539
    215
    84
    54
See reviews for
435
584
43
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at the Costa Sur Resort while in PV for a family wedding. Since we love to explore the town and the restaurant, no All Inclusive was attractive, and this hotel was suggested by the Wedding hotel. We were very pleased overall. The rooms are older, but our room[s] were exceptionally clean. We tried several rooms, as we needed a good strong WiFi signal. The staff was most gracious in helping us accomplish that. The wait staff at the Bar and Restaurant were thoughtful and gracious--even "saving" a table by the ocean for us for dinner without a reservation! Our meals at the hotel were beautifully prepared and served. We will return for a relaxed time again. We travel frequently, so we don't sweat the small stuff. Service is the most important part of the stay for us. This place has it for sure!

Room Tip: We stayed in #507, Lobby on 6, pool and restaurants on 1. No morning sun so we could enjoy sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idodetails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind remarks about our resort. We agree entirely with your focus on the quality of service. We have been very fortunate to have a staff with a lot of natural grace and charm.
Great that you also enjoyed the food – we take a lot of pride in preparing and serving the best for our guests.
Hope you can return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We just returned from Mexico. The trip was great, the costa sur was not. Hotel is old, rooms need new furniture, baths and new kit. The only thing they updated was the t.v. Bed was comfortable. View was great but small balcony. Now for the worst part. The fun in this hotel sucks! I still have the runs

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
To: Lynn
Lynn, we were sorry to hear about the negative points in your experience with us, although you were fair about including some of the positive features of Costa Sur, such as the incredible views and new beds and TVs. But we won’t be satisfied until we have resolved the other issues you mention. We have a team working steadily on corrective maintenance every day, upgrading the kitchens and adding new furniture where ever needed. Frankly we generally receive compliments about the food and beverage service. We will continue to monitor and test to make certain that anything served at the hotel meets the highest standards of hygiene. Two independent labs test our food and beverage products on a regular basis and we have been assured that we have been successful in our efforts to control cleanliness in our F&B department.
But again, we won’t be satisfied until we meet our guests’ expectations in every category of comfort and service. We hope you will try us again and enjoy the progress we are committed to achieving. Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelseyville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

On a previous stay at Costa Sur we were very happy and on the basis of that experience we pruchased a TLA membership for return trips but much to our disappontment our recent trip 4/29-5/6/2013 we found that the ambiance had changed drastically. No longer is it a resort of relaxing ambiance, good food and service-it had changed into a childrens zoo-screaming children at both pools from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. we were only able to swim in a relaxed mode on two occasiona out of a 7 day stay, The food service had deteriorated to mostly buffet style service and mostly mexican type food and flavor, we also felt rushed to get seated, eat and get out. It also appeared to be a smokers paradise and at no time could we enjoy a smoke free area...not even when dining. The resort seems to have developed plumbing problems for we were not able to adequately adjust the water temp in the bathroom and the hand sink took ten minutes to drain-UGH! Just before leaving we learned that the resort management had opened the resort to local day trippers, which we assume was the reason for the zoo atmosphere. Needless to say we will not return nor recommend Costa Sur. Mel T. Kelseyville, CA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
To: Ray F.
We were very sorry to hear about your disappointment with your stay at Costa Sur. We try to maintain a comfortable balance with visiting groups who come to enjoy the unique pleasures of our lagoon and beach. Once in a while, we let that balance get away from us and that was apparently the case during your recent stay. Please be assured that we will redouble our supervision to make sure that the hotel facilities, dining areas and swimming pools are not overloaded. Nothing is more important than keeping a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere for our guests. In regard to the problem with the wash basin and water temperature controls in your room, we regret that you had that problem and will be more vigilant about reviewing every fitting and fixture in our rooms to make certain that this problem does not reoccur.
We hope you will reconsider in the future and return to Costa Sur to enjoy the atmosphere you so much appreciated during your earlier visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Level 5 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I don't know why there are so many people that have given this hotel a bad review. Some people must have incredibly high expectations to think every property is going to be 5 star. This property is one of the oldest time shares in Puerto Vallarta and while the rooms are a bit dated, they are well maintained and very clean. The beds are comfy and the A/C is cold.

I can't say enough about the common area...the pool, the bar, the restaurant, the small beach and lagoon. Classic Mexico with a fabulous view. You won't have to deal with loud, thumping music all day long along with someone yelling into a microphone leading pool games. You will get peace and quite and jazz on the speakers around the pool and bar area.

We stayed our first week at Paradise Village in Nuevo Vallarta. Very large property, lots of activity and noise. We are now spending a week here at Costa Sur and we are loving the small hotel feel and the incredible location south of town.

As with any property, there will be less than ideal room locations. We always ask to see our room before we have our bags taken to it.

We also had massages at the spa and the were great. All of the staff, from bellman, front desk, waiters, bartenders and housekeepers are great and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for room from floor 6 and up for a great view. If you want the windows open in th bedroom, choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review.
I feel the same way as you do about the reviews...we are a small, quaint, traditional 4 star hotel located minutes away from one of the most beautiful town in Mexico, Puerto Vallarta. We do not advertise brand new, 5 star, deluxe accommodations, so dont know why some of our guests have that idea... In addition we have one of the most unique features any hotel could have in Puerto Vallarta, our ocean lagoon which is populated by the most amazing and colorful fish.

Thank you again for posting your comments and hope you come back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The room was in good shape and we enjoyed drinks by the pool with a great view. The help was fabulous and the front desk was very attentive. The view is wonderful and the lagoon is a fun experience! I really enjoyed a relaxing massage from the spa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dirk,
Just a quick note to say thank you for your very kind comments about our resort and especially about our staff. Yes, they are “fabulous” and we are all very pleased to hear that your stay was a complete success. C’mon back. We we will try to surpass your last stay with us.
Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Banos, California
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I feel as if Costa Sur is a hidden gem! The scenery from any room you book is priceless. As you stand on your balcony, you have Los Arcos to your south and the lovely Puerto Vallarta skyline to your north. Lots of warm hospitality thrown in to add to the overall pleasure of your trip. The room staff are very conscientious and thorough.
We used the bus frequently. We even used it from the airport. Across the road from the hotel there is a nice cement slab to stand on while waiting for the bus.
The food is delicious with a lovely presentation. You can even select a table with an ocean view. I can't say enough about the view!

Room Tip: The higher up, the prettier the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgaribay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments about your experience at Costa Sur. We must agree that it is a “hidden gem.” We also hasten to agree with your warm remarks about our staff which are the pride and joy of our resort.
Please come back so that we can try to do even better. We are always happiest when our guests really enjoy themselves. That’s why we’re here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,641 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#81 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#11 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#57 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
290 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#16 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
338 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Property: Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing