We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Ranked #37 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We swapped our beautiful 5 star time share in Cabo for this 3 star (at best) hotel in PV. Resort and Spa are huge over statements, the main building is in need of major upgrades. The beach is open to the public for a price so we often felt crammed in the tiny beach with dozens of local families with coolers and swimming in their clothes. The food was mediocre and we all got sick. The staff was very friendly and helpful but it couldn't make up for the low end facilities. The spa consisted of four open rooms, no other amenities. The gym was tiny and the flooring in need of a thorough cleaning. Suggestion-find another option if you are used to traveling to Mexico in style.

Room Tip: Ask for the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are writing in response to your disappointment with your stay at Costa Sur in Puerto Vallarta. We very much regret that you had a negative experience at the resort, which was complicated by your stay having occurred during the “Semana Santa” or Holy Week in Mexico. This period always puts a lot of stress on the facilities of every hotel in Mexico since it is the most important vacation time in Mexico.
But we are in the business of accommodating our guests every day of every year, making sure there is guest satisfaction regardless of any peak vacation periods during important holidays. There is no excuse for any failure to provide well maintained and well managed facilities.
We do not normally have the problems you describe with crowding on our beach. Over the past year, we have added new beach furniture to anticipate this problem but we obviously need to do more – and we will.
In regard to your comments about our food and beverage service, we assure you that we will give an immediate and exhaustive review of our food and beverage preparation procedures. We want to guarantee that our service is based on the most meticulous standards of cleanliness.
We appreciate that you had good experience with our excellent staff, but we agree that a great staff cannot compensate for the problems you have mentioned. We ask that you bear with us as we steadily renovate this grand old resort and we hope you will return to see a much improved facility over the coming year. Please stay in touch with us so that we can be certain that you have a very different experience during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    475
    197
    76
    53
See reviews for
373
520
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Expensive view and menu. Unless you're all-inclusive which for about 5 hours might amuse. After that the drinks and limited selection of food are not worth the sacrifice and we were glad that we were only there for one day. Cant complain too hard about the view from the rooms when the place is located such as it is. Only everything else including time share and the boring, repetitive complaints about it from the "owners" who sit around its only pool and alternate between bragging that they are, and sorry that they aren't.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brentalan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. To be honest, we have not had many complaints about the food and beverage pricing but we regularly review our price/value points for all of the hotel’s menu items – and we will soon do so again, keeping your comments very much in mind. We were also surprised by your low rating for service which is normally an area in which we exceed expectations, thanks to our excellent staff. But please be assured that we take all guest comments very seriously and we will not be satisfied until you return to our resort for a very different – and very positive experience.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel was about average. Good things were the rooms were pretty spacious, have the kitchen, no tub, small balcony, but awesome views. If you want to watch the sunset every night from your room this place is great. The place is pretty old though so expect not a lot of amenities. We were on the fourth floor so we had a good location. I heard if you were on other floors you had to wait a long time for the elevator (we always took the stairs). There is only one restaurant so not a lot of variety, and their service was pretty slow some nights. The ocean is great, but the beach is pretty rocky. You are also pretty far from town so we had to take a taxi each time, which can get pretty expensive. Overall the hotel was good, but it doesn't compare to come of the newer resorts. It is fairly small so if you don't want large crowds, this may be a good place for you.

Room Tip: If possible, stay on the ends, away from the elevator. And stay on floor 2-5, close to the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raingirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Yes, our hotel is one of the older (and we think best) resort hotels on Banderas Bay. As you note, every room has a stunning, full ocean view.
We have no interest in offering an “average” experience. We are in the process of renovating the rooms, starting with the kitchens. This will take some time but if you are able to give us a second try, you will find significant upgrades throughout the hotel. Two years ago, we promised – and delivered – on new beds and bedding for every room in the hotel. Mission accomplished.
Now we will demonstrate that Costa Sur can and will be a very comfortable and very beautiful accommodation. Regardless of where you are located within the building, the full ocean views are spectacular.
The hotel has its own antique charm, having been built more than 30 years ago. But our renovation team is determined to provide a modern level of comfort that will do justice to the hotel’s extraordinary location just five minutes from town. Few hotels – anywhere – offer Costa Sur’s unique mix of seclusion and privacy, combined with the almost immediate access to the best of Puerto Vallarta.
In regard to the limited dining options, we just opened a new seafood restaurant (The Seahorse Bar & Grill) which offers great seafood specials (including a variety of authentic “ceviches”). Come back and give us a second chance to make your stay much more than ordinary.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Costa Sur with a friend. The rooms were adequate. The food was disappointing. It is quite amazing to me that there are many that have stayed at this place for years with average service and less than average food. If you get a great deal like I did, used my Grandparents timeshare go. Otherwise, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drabiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We appreciate your comments although it is painful to be termed “adequate” and “average.”
Our intention and commitment is to far surpass that condition and offer an excellent resort experience at an extraordinary beachfront location. Our service has consistently been highly rated and our food and beverage service has steadily improved over the last two years – according to a majority of our guests. But we know we have work to do when we hear the term “adequate.” Our renovation team is hard at work in upgrading every element in the hotel, from room furnishings to television service to new beach furniture. The new “ceviche” Seahorse Bar & Grill has just opened and offers a new variety of the freshest seafood, right from the bay which is so beautifully visible from every room in the hotel.
So please come back and give us an opportunity to show that we know how to be much more than adequate. Although we are very proud of our location and the incredible views of the bay, our greatest strength is our staff. They will work very, very hard to replace “average” with “excellent” in your next rating at Costa Sur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed this past week at the height of vacation season in Mexico & US spring break. This was our only choice of accomodation through an Interval exchange. I had concerns even before coming based on website photos & some of the negative Tripadvisor comments. Having no choice (or we throw away our unused vacation share banked from 3 years ago), I set myself with low expectations.

My low expectations were not even met upon checking in. Unimpressive facade/entry & lobby with dull marble floors and
unfresh furniture. Carpet on elevator worn out, stained & dirty that I didn't even want to put down my nylon duffle bags.
We were given a studio room on 5th floor of North Tower, on wing of bldg closer to pool. Again, dull tiled floors throughout bed:living area & bathoom, dull formica kitchen counter, chipped & stained toilet bowl cover, chipped & dark grout spots on shower tiles, un-fresh scent (smelled like someone just fried in the kitchen), a blasting sound of Bingo coming from the pool area. Of course, I immediately asked for a room change. Not much of a difference though in the dull/worn & unfresh look & feel & scent of the room. This time, we were on the 7th floor, farther away from the pool side and no blasting sound from the Bingo game going on. I had to request a change of the bed cover though which had a lipstick stain and who knows what that other red stain was! Still same condition of bathroom - chipped, peeling tiles, paint stains & crack at bottom of door, mirror had random dark spots in places, & just an overall 'yuckiness' to it. This was torture especially since I am very particular about bathrooms everywhere I go!

So, I sacrificed! We survived the week by dashing out to town for the most part for meals & sightseeing and going on tours.
I know what I want in accomodations and Costa Sur just isn't for me. Again, we happened to have this Marriott vacation share that we've not been using; and with shares expiring my husband decided to book this vacation last-minute thru an Interval exchange. I am sure a true Marriott property would have been much better than what we got from this Interval exchange at Costa Sur. Painful lesson learned!!!

While I would rate the accomodation quality a low "1", the proximity to Old Town was a real plus! Our cleaning lady was nice & courteous, although I think she alternated with another one as bathroom clean-up & replenishment of supplies was quite inconsistent. View from rooms & beach was beautiful. Help staff outside ( i.e., those assisting with taxi) were the nicest amongst all we've interacted with. Pool and beach area was packed & crowd was a mix of all sorts in terms of age, nationality and demeanor. Note that smoking is common in Mexico and the pool areas was not spared of smokers. I could not even enjoy the few times I laid in a chaise by the pool as people next to me were smoking. So much for trying to breath in fresh ocean air! Massage at the spa was so-so, and priced like US rates even with their promo/discounted rate.

Would I go back? Definitely yes to Puerton Vallarta. Definitely no to Costa Sur. Definitely never via an Interval exchange. Is the property owner just ignoring the obvious fact that Costa Sur needs a major renovation? How sad given its prime & ideal location.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank IamFromNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Lam from NY
We are very sorry to hear that Costa Sur did not meet your expectations. We are determined to do everything possible to correct the problems which caused your disappointment, beginning with the maintenance issues you mention. We now have a full time renovation team working throughout the hotel to upgrade the rooms, with special attention to the bathrooms and kitchens.
We appreciate your kind words about our staff who have been so important to the hotel during its more than 30 years here on Banderas Bay. And we are pleased that you enjoyed the full ocean views and convenient location of the resort.
But we must redouble our efforts to upgrade the facilities so that we can meet the expectations of guests who are committing their valuable vacation time to a stay at our resort. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate that our renovation team can make the difference necessary to make your next visit truly enjoyable, even if it should occur at the peak of the Mexican resort season -- always a challenging time for hotels in this country.
Thank you again for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This resort was great. There were two of us traveling and the stuido room was the perfect size. The ocean view was great. The rooms are not brand new, but well cared for. The staff was all very friendly and happy to take care of requests. This resort is not right in downtown. Many of the people staing here were older. We still had a great time here. Very relaxing. We found it quite easy to take the bus into town 7 pesos for the whole trip in. Taxis are available from the resort if you prefer to travel by taxi. No reason to leave the resort if you dont want to. They have plenty to do there. We are planning on returning and staing here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spoter18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Renently traveled tro PVR with a group of tennis friends. Good time of year to be in PVR weatherwise...good tennis facility with coverd hardcourt & 4 uncovered clay courts (which could use some improvements to deliver a better experience). 2 of the clay courts (7&8) get smelly exhaust from the hotel and also need a noise barier from droning rooftop machinery that drown out all calls
plus both need a little more clay for to even out the surface with the lines.

The hotel staff were extrodinary, well trained, friendly and saved the holiday.
The facility is beautiful in a good location and very well cared for and always very clean.
The rooms we had were nice but the bedding and pillows could use improvement.

The beach and swim area is average for that area and better beachs can be found with a short walk.

The food was overall very good however there were two seperate cases of 24 hour stomach sickness after dinner in their "onsite" restraunts, both involving the 1 person in the group that ordered "beef".
We all only drank bottled water and did not eat off site so are positive of the source.

The onsite WIFI could use an upgrade, and was inconvenient, and could easily be ugraded with a small investment. The phone in our room had conflicting instructions and was inoperable and had to be replaced.

Still overall good value for the price but has potential to be much more.

Room Tip: ask for a room that has an ocean view.....you will get the fresh west wind off the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nmacleanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#15 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#59 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#97 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Property: Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing