We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Ranked #36 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This resort was great. There were two of us traveling and the stuido room was the perfect size. The ocean view was great. The rooms are not brand new, but well cared for. The staff was all very friendly and happy to take care of requests. This resort is not right in downtown. Many of the people staing here were older. We still had a great time here. Very relaxing. We found it quite easy to take the bus into town 7 pesos for the whole trip in. Taxis are available from the resort if you prefer to travel by taxi. No reason to leave the resort if you dont want to. They have plenty to do there. We are planning on returning and staing here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spoter18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Renently traveled tro PVR with a group of tennis friends. Good time of year to be in PVR weatherwise...good tennis facility with coverd hardcourt & 4 uncovered clay courts (which could use some improvements to deliver a better experience). 2 of the clay courts (7&8) get smelly exhaust from the hotel and also need a noise barier from droning rooftop machinery that drown out all calls
plus both need a little more clay for to even out the surface with the lines.

The hotel staff were extrodinary, well trained, friendly and saved the holiday.
The facility is beautiful in a good location and very well cared for and always very clean.
The rooms we had were nice but the bedding and pillows could use improvement.

The beach and swim area is average for that area and better beachs can be found with a short walk.

The food was overall very good however there were two seperate cases of 24 hour stomach sickness after dinner in their "onsite" restraunts, both involving the 1 person in the group that ordered "beef".
We all only drank bottled water and did not eat off site so are positive of the source.

The onsite WIFI could use an upgrade, and was inconvenient, and could easily be ugraded with a small investment. The phone in our room had conflicting instructions and was inoperable and had to be replaced.

Still overall good value for the price but has potential to be much more.

Room Tip: ask for a room that has an ocean view.....you will get the fresh west wind off the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmacleanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is our greeting whenever we arrive, and we do consider this our other home. We have been going here for many years, and have experienced the many changes that have taken place over that time. Happily, I can report that Costa Sur has survived despite past periods of bad management. Today, I can proudly say that the beds are good, the cleanliness has always been good, the food has improved greatly, and the staff is as wonderful as ever. We spend months here during the winter, so we know what we are talking about! The crowd varies from week to week, but it is true that it generally has a greater number of older people, owners who have been coming for years. Please come down to PV and give this place a try! You will love it, too!

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucinhalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The staff at the Costa Sur Resort and Spa were the highlight of our stay. I can't say enough about all of them and especially Osbaldo and Victor at the restaurant/pool bar. I've never been to a resort where the more than 80 percent of the clientele was retirement age and older so if you want hang out at night at the pool bar and restaurant for some fun, you won't find it here. The kitchens in the rooms are badly in need of updating but it was clean. The lounge chairs around the pool are pretty uncomfortable with only two settings - flat or half way up but the chairs on the beach are great. The all-inclusive option of $47-$67 (premium seafood) per day was fantastic because we could pick and choose which days we wanted to do it and the food was good. I liked the location being only a $6 taxi or 70 pesos bus ride to old town and the Malecon.

Room Tip: There are two buildings - the south building looks newer although I did not see the rooms. I know t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We ended up here as a friend could not use their timeshare this year. We were
a bit unsure what to expect at this property but we were so pleasantly surprised!

The location is inbtween the Mismaloya and old town.....about a 10 min cab ride into town.
The view from our balconey is beautiful...it feels like you are on a cruse ship with the water right there. So much to see from the balconey...whales..spear fishers..birds..very entertaining.

The private beach has a great quiet area for swimmers. Fun safe area for snorkeling or to refresh your diving skills with the resorts PADI instructor. Many beach chairs a few very nice vendors. They were all on first name basis with the long time guests.

The rooms are fine with a very comfortable clean bed. The room was very clean and kept that
Way throughout our stay by a great housekeeper. The room is old school but freshened with a
nice flat screen Tv. The kitchen is adequate if you plan to have a few meals in your room.

The excercise room was a nice surprise. 2 eliptcals 2treadmills and a universal gym.
All was in great working order.

I did not use the spa as I felt it was a bit over priced.

What we enjoyed most was the resorts following. Most of the guests had been coming since it opened. Very friendly and social....many card games going on. Just a good feeling.

Would return and would reccomend to those looking for a smaller resort experience.

Room Tip: We were on the far side of the North towers....very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atarnove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

After reading reviews on several resorts that where available through our travel club we settled on the Costa Sur. We were looking for a quiet place with good food and an older relaxed atmosphere.
It truly was quiet and relaxing. The crowd was older and while some of the time share people didn't seem to happy about us "visitors" most were very pleasant and friendly.
The food however was awful. I am not a picky eater and can usually eat just about anything without complaint. If we had to eat in the restaurant I stuck to the salads or sandwiches, Everything else was not very good.
The staff is outstanding. Fernando at the front desk goes way out of his way to be helpful. I can't remember the young woman's name that is the concierge but she was also great. I don't think I met one unpleasant employee.
The rooms are very old but the kitchen in our studio was serviceable for our needs. I own a cleaning company and do have high standards of clean and this was a bit below my standards but not horrible. We were unable to use our air conditioner due to the amount of mildew it was putting out. My allergies were out of control until we just turned it off and left open the patio door and bathroom window at night.
The view from our balcony was truly amazing. We could sit with our coffee in the morning and watch dolphins and whales at play. One day an entire school off manta rays came flying past. It was soooo relaxing and beautiful.
Going in we knew that it's wasn't an expensive new resort. We just wanted an affordable quiet get away and that's what we got.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Costa Sur couldn't be a more relaxing and romantic location. The pool and private beach were spectacular! The staff at Costa Sur were the highlight. They were able to help us with everything from travel arrangements to restraunt recommendations to even having a private Doctor come to our room. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gelseyf, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Jessica,

I agree with you! I love Costa Sur too!
I will make sure to share your very nice comments with the rest of our staff.
Hope to see you here at Costa Sur again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
1.1 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#82 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
158 reviews
2.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,732 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#18 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
342 reviews
1.6 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,918 reviews
6.4 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#54 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $80 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing