We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little lagoon for snorkeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Ranked #35 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We couldn't get last minute reservations at our timeshare in the hotel zone, so we checked out this place for a Getaway with Interval International. It definitely would not be a great exchange for our place, but for a Getaway, it was an excellent value. Staff was friendly, really good food in the restaurant, proximity to town is 2 buses away, which is a pain, since we are used to walking across the street to the grocery store. Pools are small but, clean. Super romantic sunsets, so watch out!

It's on the south side, which we've been wanting to explore, much more old Vallarta, very romantic, old places on the way to check out on the winding ride up there, reminds me so much of when I was a kid and we went there for family vacations. Small, intimate, easy to get around the resort. Weeks are fixed, so everyone knew each other, had alot of fun with the people who'd been going there, some of them for over 30 years. Water was clear and snorkeling was surprisingly great.

We only take buses, no taxis - so if this is of interest: walk out of the airport, ignoring the timeshare fake taxi guys, walk out to the left and to the street sort of under the underpass and you will usually see people waiting for the bus - ask to be sure. Take the blue and white CENTRO bus to downtown for 6.5 pesos, be sure to ask the driver if he will be going all the way to the MISMALOYA buses. Go all the way thru downtown, get off where the orange and white MISMALOYA buses are, walk down the block, pay your 7 pesos and take a really cool ride up the mountain and get off at Costa Sur. We have saved many dollars over the years taking buses rather than taxis, and you get alot more Vallarta flavor.

** I only recommend this if you pack lightly and can hold ALL of your luggage on your lap or on the floor beneath you, as these buses get packed - don't take more than one seat per person. Do the same thing in reverse on the way to the airport, but make sure that the blue bus goes to the airport as some of them don't. The Howard Johnson name is gone, but the bus drivers still call it that.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a corner studio, as these are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank ks714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

810 - 816 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

Resort is small, but I love it. Rooms are clean and spacious. Staff is fabulous and very attentive with most having been employed there for over 20 years. Property could use some updating, but in general is very comfortable and nice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

There are plenty of reviews here that sum up our experience at the Howard Johnson nicely. To be brief, it was perfectly average in everyway, but met my expectations. I wouldn't mind going back but will probably explore other hotels in the area.

That said, on the second day of our trip, I sliced two of my fingers open swimming in their pool. There is a drain on the bottom near the ocean side of the pool that I had the misfortune of swimming directly into without looking. After the bleeding stop, I came back and felt around, this thing is SHARP people. Please be careful. To top it off, half an hour later, my wife almost gashed her knee open on a protruding screw from one of the pool lights.

Given the amount of kids present in the pool (20-30 at any given moment), I don't feel this is acceptable and would have concerns about letting my kids play in it. Hope they fix it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

We are truly sorry you and your wife harmed yourselves at the pool. Thanks to your review we were able to fix it right away. We are also happy to announce we are no longer part of the Howard Johnson hotel. We are now Costa Sur Resort & Spa. With the new name came new upgrades as well. All rooms have been remodeled. This includes brand new beds (the heavenly type) new linens, flat screen 42" TV's, iPod docking stations, new sofa beds and much more! Hopefully you will come back to experience our new resort.

Thanks again and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Nice hotel, stayed in the suites and it was very spacious, only that there was no tv in the main room (big NO NO). Good brekfast, pools were small but nice. Beach is rocky but the sea is like a pool. Front desk people could be a little nicer, sometimes they treated me like they were doing me a favor for doing so. Balance es very good for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clopz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

From the Check in staff (not the time share vultures), to the wait staff and housekeeping...everybody is great. Professional and courteous. This is why i keep coming back year after year.
Special thanks to Fernando(front desk), Santos(housekeeping), Bar and Wait staff especially Fabricio, Flavio, Osbaldo and Enrique. You are all the best.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank realtruthtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My boyfriend and I were on the search for a good quality hotel on the beach…this hotel worked out perfect for us, we went with a group of friends and we had a blast, drinks were really inexpensive and the food was the best mexican food ever! Some of our friends have a timeshare here and this is why we came…it was a great option and we highly recommend this resort. Ask for Rafael, he will make the best margaritas in the house!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mixtly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

beautiful view, nice lagoon for snorkeling and swimming, but the rooms are NOT acceptable at this price point. I mean polyester sheets don't feel good! The bed was moderately uncomfortable ( add a foam topper and it would be fine).

Room Tip: food prices way too high, go into town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dafaulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Dear Sir/ Madam,

I've waited a little to respond to this review as i wanted our brand new rooms to be ready before giving you the good news. All rooms have been upgraded with brand new king size beds (the heavenly type), new lines, flat screen 42" TV's, iPod docking stations, new sofa beds and much more! We hope you give us a second chance and come back to experience are new upgraded suites at Costa Sur Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,836 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#79 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
161 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,021 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
345 reviews
4.9 mi away
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa...
#68 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $94 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing