We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need a change in pace!”

Mama Rita's Pizzeria
Ranked #68 of 1,011 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Need a change in pace!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had lunch here one day last week, its just outside our resort. Great American style pizza, the owner is retired policeman from the States. The prices are good and the food quality is great. A change from Mexican food is nice sometimes.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioFez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    31
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must Try Here!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

If you are sick of resort food, this casual little place has excellent pizza and Italian food. Just steps from Pelicanos Grande, Canto del Sol and Sunset Tower. So friendly. Sit inside or outside!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
233 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Would have given 4 or 5 star, but,”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We ate pizza at Mama Rita's. My husband had a beer. I had water. The young man waiter server was very good. The pizza was delicious and well priced. Here is the but. The owner Rita came out and checked satisfaction and greeted guests at every table while we watched. She also spent time chatting with guests. She did not come to our table to inquire about our satisfaction or greet us. We felt like unwanted cousins. End of story.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Computernana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Pick your arrival time carefully”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We went with friends, who are locals, and had heard that Mama Rita's was outstanding. Candidly, it was OK and was a welcomed change from resort food, but far from outstanding. We arrived to find two tables worth of people in front of us, after about a twenty minute wait, tables opened up. They were scooped up up quickly, however dirty dishes remained for well over 20 minutes before being cleared. We got the next table and waited 45 minutes to be acknowledged and that was only after waving the server down frantically. It took another 30 minutes for drinks to arrive followed by another 50 minutes for 2 pizza's to arrive. We also noted later arrivals being served long before earlier arrivals, and then food coming out randomly. I should note that the restaurant is small, only about 10-12 tables with two staff in the front of the house and three in back. And the two out front were very adept at looking busy, but in actuality were doing nothing...sad because the restaurant could do so much better by instituting basic restaurant concepts. The pizza toppings were fresh and plentiful and the crust was thin, but slightly burnt. The medium size pizza was what Canadians would call large, so the value was certainly there. The food was a welcome relief from resort food, but I wouldn't be salivating about my next visit and definitely would not bother if the restaurant was busy at all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto vallarta mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“new restaurant in puerto vallarta mexico.”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

went to mama ritas pizzeria last night for dinner with friends that came to visit.. we had the pizza for dinner. it was the best we have ever had.. the service was very bad but I guess we came at a bad time. it was very busy and they only had 1 waiter. they just couldn't get there act together. then we had to wait for 1 and half hours for the waiter to come and then we waited at least another hour just for waiter to get our drinks and we finally had to go and ask him to bring our drinks.. even though we were there for so long it was worth it. the pizza was out of this world.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 711jean711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Rita's Pizzeria also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Mama Rita's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing