We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Gem - Delightful family owned and operated restaurant.”
Review of Chenan2 Restaurant

Chenan2 Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 1,016 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local Gem - Delightful family owned and operated restaurant.”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This restaurant has been on our favorite list for over 15 years and we we're so disappointed when they closed a few years back. We're thrilled to see them reopen.

They continue to serve outstanding food. It is prepared right there in front of you by a very friendly member of the family. Their specialities are grilled fish and seafood. The atmosphere is friendly, and casual, and service is outstanding.

Happy to see that they have a growing clientele. We'll be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KirstenfromRWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    71
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding and fun!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and I use tripadvisor alot when we travel and although we have been to Puerto Vallarta many times and have favorite restaurants, we are always looking for something new to try. We were in PV last week and walked up to Chenan2 about 7:30 and when we got there the restaurant was empty except for two couples who were just leaving and raving about the food. We are always turned off by an empty restaurant, but decided to give it a try...being the numero uno restaurant in PV on tripadvisor. I had the steak Arachera and my wife had the mixed seafood burrito. Both were simply outstanding. We sat in the front table by the doors and were able to watch the owner/chef prepare the food at the grill. While there, more people started to arrive. We told several other travellers back at our hotel about the place, and will look forward to returning again next time in PV. Not only was the food excellent, but really a bargain. Oh yes...one more thing. They were getting airconditioning this week.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gspdx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No way number 1”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Limited menu, hot room with grill in the room with you. We all smelled like fry cooks after dinner. Clothes had to be aired out and washed. Food was good not great. Prices were good. Do not like scraping my shrimp out of shell.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jendam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent! Lived up to it's reputation!!!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We are 8 days into our 12 day holiday. Best meal by far tonight. Restaurant very busy. Group of 12 took up whole back area. Family owners and staff handled everything with grace and smiles. My husband had the mahi mahi, my daughter the shrimp crepes , both were delicious. I love archarra. Had a very poor one last night but tried again tonight........awesome is all I can say. Grilled to perfection with a side salad, it was like the meal was custom made for me!!! Only quibble could be that my red wine was served chilled in a chilled glass. Not a deal breaker for sure, but might ask next time for a room temp glass. Loved our whole experience. May have to break our no going back to same restaurant rule......

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brett2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
121 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best discovery of the season”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Loved this family restaurant where one can visit often eat a variety of dishes at prices that allow us to eat out frequently! The family and service were prompt & friendly. Good casual dinning. The AC & fans provided a pleasant temperature for all of us. Agree the seafood Rockefeller was very good and will order it again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank SLRPV2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chenan2 Restaurant also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Chenan2 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing