We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #45 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Kintnersville,Pa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mexican home away from home”
Reviewed February 11, 2010

This was out second year comming here and it was every bit as wonderful as the first. The service is first rate and it is a beautiful property. Location was in walking distance to the Marina with excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llitzenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    194
    85
    40
    33
See reviews for
223
206
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

My wife adn I just spent 12 days at the RVC Club Regina, on the Marina outside of Puerto Vallarta. It was the perfect location to be. We were very happy with our stay. The resort was incredibly beautiful, the staff was friendly and helpful, the food prices were reasonable (for a resort), especially at the lovely little restaurant in the Villa Vera boutique hotel across the street (also an RVC property); and the pools were great. I loved the main pool with the palm trees growing up from the middle.

RVC and Westin share the property, and the Hotel managers seem to be having a tiff, because there's now a fence running down the middle of the property and Club Regina guests are discouraged from using Westin facilities. My wife and I didn't find this to be a problem, however. Club Regina has perfectly lovely facilities, and by far the better stretch of beach.

As a town, Puerto Vallarta is ugly and smoggy, unfortunately, but the Club Regina resort is great. We will return to this property again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fellowtraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colgate, WI
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

This was (I think) our 10th stay at Club Regina, one of our favorite places in the world. We spent 3 nights at the Villa Vera property across the street to check it out, and then 5 nights at the club.

The positives - we were given a great room on the 13th floor, it was immaculate and everything worked great. All the staff we encountered were pleasant and efficient. We were shown how the renovated rooms will look, they have some finished. The Mexican tiles on the kitchen counter and in the bathrooms are replaced with granite and marble, less colorful but nice. The cement design behind the bed is replaced with wood panels, didn't really care for it. Most other changes are in the fabrics and paint.

They have added an attractive Inzio restaurant and bar at the south end, we had Sunday brunch and it was good but pricy even with the member discount. Unfortunately the club did not take the opportunity to charge more reasonable prices for food and drink at their own places. This is shortsighted, why pay $5 for a beer when you can get them for $1 in town or at the store? If they reduced their (obviously huge) markup, they would double their business and people would be happier to eat and drink there. They moved the Internet room and Kids club office to the second floor.

The negatives - the split with the Westin has resulted in a ridiculous and ugly tall green wire fence winding and stretching through the center of the property. It was unclear if it was the Westin that initiated this or Raintree. You can only enter the Westin side from one gate at the top of the beach. If you walk into the Westin you have to take a huge hike to the beach and back again to your club building. It looks ridiculous and has NO POINT. The Westin was very underbooked when we were there and you'd think they would want the club people to use their bars and restaurants, and give their guests the access to our facilities. You can go there, but access is as described and you cannot charge to your room at their places. You can at the Inzio and at the club pool bar.

One day my husband sat on regular chair on the beach on "their" side and was asked to move to the club side by a Westin guard. He was shocked. Our presentation person said that the wall may be removed, and I certainly hope so. There also are now charges to use the health club and the tennis courts. It is a shame and best described as a lose-lose situation.

Finally, there was no members party. We miss those from the past. I talked to another marina time share owner and they said their club had a hour of free cocktails every day for their members. Wouldn't that be nice?

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TeteDuFromage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2009

We have been here twice before and loved the beautiful and extensive pools and grounds, shared with the Westin hotel next door. Be warned - in late December Raintree formally ended its association with the Westin, so we were treated to watching wire fences and new walls being built to separate the Club grounds from those of the hotel. Club pools are now limited to the two with children's activities, games, and noise, so if you planned to come for peace and quiet you might want to try somewhere else. Service in the Club restaurant was confused, with staff not knowing the menu items, and our room needed repairs to drapes and lampshades. Raintree recently opened a smaller Villa Vera across the road from the Club - is this where the future lies?

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ami98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Hat
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

A Whiski Jack resort that is beautifully built and has good staff but is situated in an area that is rapidly developing into a busy Americanized tourist hot spot with hustlers looking for a quick buck. Noise and partying all night, beaches are steep with many jellyfish in water and no decent snorkelling. Closest shopping is at Marina where prices/service is very American. Very little cultural experience nearby unless you go into the old town or escape to more remote locations on Banderas Bay. Some taxi drivers are hustlers and rip you off, so we preferred the locals bus system. Many, many very aggressive hustlers outside of the hotel pushing everything from timeshares to fishing trips and more on the beach pushing everything else. Hint...do not buy from hustlers...take the bus to Playa del Carmen and buy your goods in the shops at one tenth the price.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We stayed at Club Regina last week for a "girls trip" 10/9 through 10/14. Check in was smooth, we had a very nice 2 bdrm/3 bath unit on the 9th floor, plenty of room for 4 women. Room was good-sized, kitchen is small but serviceable, sofa bed was comfortable (although just sitting on the sofa not so great), beds are very comfortable. Plenty of room in the bathrooms for 2 girly-girls to spread out all of our stuff and get ready to go out on the town. The only real disappointment was that there is not a large balcony; rather, there are 2 small balconies, one off of each bedroom, but not enough room for the 4 of us to hang out together and enjoy the hot tub. Normally I'd say ask for a room in the front building for the best views, but there's a new resort being built and that's the building closest to the construction, so maybe not the best right now.
The resort was spotlessly clean, we were all very impressed. Beautiful grounds. Daily maid service was thorough. Business center with free email/internet. Sheoul Gallery staff was very helpful and matched prices we found in town (thanks Judy!). Activities desk was wonderful (ask for Mary). Front desk staff was not rude, but not particularly friendly either. We moved rooms to get a higher floor and Claudia was very accomodating about letting us see a couple different units. We had to have an adjustment made to our final bill because we weren't given a discount at the restaurant one night, they took care of it without any fuss.
Restaurants on property are expensive, food is fine. We at at Inizio a couple of times (bkfst & dinner) and at the pool one day. If you are an owner or trading in you get a 20% discount, be sure to confirm it on your bill when you eat. Happy hour 2 for 1 is different in different areas of the resort, it's 4-5 at the pool and 6-8 at Inizio/lobby bar. Took us a few days to figure this out.
Lots of on-site activities like kayaking, pottery painting, water aerobics, pool-side bingo, etc. We were a bunch of women travelling, but I would love to take my kids there. There's a nice playground on the grounds, and a trampoline. I think there's a kids club too. Beach is good for the PV Marina area, water is swimmable. Yes there are beach vendors, you're in Mexico, get over it. They can be kind of fun to haggle with.
We booked two things through the activities desk--spa services, and a tour to Canopy El Eden. The spa services were OK. At first we were amazed at how inexpensive they were. Then we found out that you go offsite, and the location was not a luxury spa, more like a shop in a strip shopping center in the States. Massage was OK, facials were outstanding, manicure/pedicure was mediocre. Spa staff was wonderfully friendly and overall we enjoyed the day, just don't go into it expecting a luxury spa experience.
Canopy El Eden was fantastic--zip lines, very entertaining staff, icy cold pond with a rope swing to cool you off at the end, tequila tasting. All for about $41 US. One of the fellows ziplining with us had paid $81 for the same tour, so the price through CR was outstanding. Oh, and the food at Eden is fantastic, but costs extra, cash only.
If you're looking for a downside to Club Regina, it's a little far from town in the Marina, which is not exactly a hopping part of town. You can take the 5.5 peso bus pretty easily, or a 100 peso taxi. If you want to go into town to shop, then back to resort, then back to town for the evening it's kind of far. Not nearly as far as Nuevo Vallarta though!
Overall a great resort I definitely would return, especially with my family.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnabelleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We were a little leary of PV (not thrilled about the Pacific side)...but found it to be a very charming town. The Club Regina was great... room/staff and mostly location. We would definitely return. Could not get over the reasonaly prices from cabs to restaurants....!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chitowngirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
#111 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
90 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#11 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
707 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
#63 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#30 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclus...
#48 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Regina Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Regina Puerto Vallarta

Property: Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur 205, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#28 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Regina Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta offers hotel to two bedroom condos right on the beach in the hotel zone. Our pools, lush landscaping, beach, and the Bay all enhance your experience. Puerto Vallarta's beautiful beaches, rich biodiversity, and wealth of outdoor adventure attract tourists from around the world. Traverse Puerto Vallarta’s picturesque Malecon or Romantic Zone; browse the art, jewelry, and handcrafts at the Isla Rio Cuale market; hit the trails on an ATV; or soar through the canopy on a zip lining tour. There’s no shortage of ways to enjoy Puerto Vallarta – let Club Regina Puerto Vallarta be a part of your fantastic vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Club Regina Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Regina Puerto Vallarta
Regina Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing