We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort, needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #45 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Marshall, MI
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort, needs work”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

North of Puero Vallarta is the 'suburb' of Nuevo Vallarta and that area has its own character and charm. The main Marina and Harbor is located there, so anyone that cruises, is probably familiar with this part of town.

Among the resorts there is the Raintree-Club Regina, on the shores of Vallarta Bay and within walking distance or the shops, restaurants, and boat dock about 20 minutes away. The Club Regina, at first blush, is a beautiful location with well kept and gourgeous landscaping. The views of the Bay and Puerto Vallarta are spectacular and provides for some unbelievable sunsets.!

We traded some RCI/Wyndham points to stay here for an extra couple of days after a business trip to Secrets Vallarta Bay (reviewed in another article) to extend our time in Mexico and away from damp cold of Michigan. Upon arrival, the staff was helpful with our luggage and getting us to registration for check-in. Once there, Ramon was on the job and is without a doubt he is the best and that is why he is out front. He accommodated our every request, later and not just at check in, and was pro-active in suggesting restaurants and activities while we were there.

The pool and garden area was magnificent. The restaurants and buffets were very good and the deli was well stocked and offered a nice variety of items. Easily, you could spend your entire time at the resort and never go any where else, but you would miss out on all the other stuff to see and do in this area.

However, with all the great things, it must be pointed out that the condos are in need of repair or replacement. The furniture in the one-bedroom/two bath units was old and not very comfortable. The square footage of the unit did not allow for a lot of room to spread out. Like the kitchen/dining/living area was so crowded that I had to re-arrange the furniture to get around the area easily. The balcony had a fantastic view of Vallarta Bay and the Nuevo Vallarta area to the north, but the again this area was crowded and half of it was taken up by the small (hardly room for two) hot tub. The bedroom was more roomy and had separate access to the balcony but the sitting area was jammed in the corner so as to be able to get to the door out on the balcony. One good thing was the closet space was ample and more than enough for the week's worth of clothing we brought along.

The worst of the unit was the two bathrooms. The wall were damaged, the tub/shower enclosures were bad and needed to be replaced. There was mildew evident (although this area is humid and that is not something that can be easily controlled) and the lighting was not very good.

Another dissapointment was the work being done on one of the pools. Apparently something major since it involved jack-hammers and a lot of material being removed by wheel-barrows. It was not being done on the weekend (thankfully) but started at 9:00 AM on Monday morning and continued until about 5:00 PM. We never did find out what exactly was wrong but it reduced the amount of 'pool space' by half. The Westin next door was not available to guests of Club Regina without a cost. Apparently this was all one resort in the past but there was a messy separation that resulted in the invisible wall going up between the properties.

Don't get me wrong, we very much enjoyed our time there and all the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The food at the different restaurants was very good and the cost were in line with resorts like this. The pool area was beautiful if not truncated by the construction and the beach area was nice even with the gift hawks looking for any tourist to buy their wares.

Club Regina may be worth another visit if they get the pools done and the rooms upgraded and repaired.

Room Tip: Stay as high as you can get. Lower than the 5th or 6th floor and you will not see the water, just t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scubahanlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    194
    85
    40
    33
See reviews for
223
206
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed in early May for a week via RCI. Our one-bedroom room was huge, clean, and came complete with a very large shower, two bathrooms, and a hot tub on the balcony overlooking on the beach. The bed was incredibly comfortable, too. This hotel was one of the nicest timeshare exchanges in which we've stayed. Unfortunately, the beach lacked powdery sand and while one could walk to the marina for restaurants (which we did a couple of nights), it was an $11 cab ride to downtown PV where one could find a powder-sand beach (Los Muertos), nightlife, and more restaurants than one could eat in over a month. So all in all, a fabulous hotel with a not so fabulous beach.

Room Tip: South Tower, above the sixth floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ge124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful week at Raintree's Club Regina Puerto Vallarta. Had both a 2 bedroom unit and a 1 bedroom unit was we were a party of 7. Worked out really well for us as we were able to have breakfast in the room, everyone keeping to their own schedule. The staff at the resort are all wonderful, helpful and friendly. The grounds are well kept and the rooms are clean and well maintained. Although there were lots of jellyfish in the bay waters, the kids didn't mind at all because the pools were so good. They also enjoyed painting the ceramics, making jewelry and several of the kids club activities.

As this was the week prior to Easter, the resort was very busy, but it never felt over crowded. There was some "party noise" on the beaches at night, but not too bad.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hickory444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabernash, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have stayed at Club Regina several times in the past and have always enjoyed the experience. This year was something special. We had an RCI exchange and had a studio for my husband and me, a two-bedroom suite for our daughter and family, and a hotel room for one grandson and his MSO. All rooms were extremely clean, well appointed and beautiful. The whole area is beautiful and well maintained. Enough about the physical attributes of the hotel/resort. What really stands out is the staff. We had a special problem in that our grandson became ill and had to be hospitalized for over 2 weeks with 5 surgeries. I can't begin to describe how warm and helpful the entire staff was. The manager, Alberto Berriel, arranged for a welcome home event for our grandson when he got out of the hospital--complete with many members of the staff greeting him in the lobby, wheeling his chair to his room which they had decorated with balloons and welcome signs, and members of the staff dancing and singing "Happy" to him. There were not many dry eyes. We will never forget the kindnesses extended to us by these wonderful people who were strangers but whom we now consider our friends. A huge thank you to all!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgnesW982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed on an RCI exchange April 5-12
Check in was smooth, quick and easy, asked and received a nice upgrade, 9th floor, center building. It's set back from the beach by the pool areas, but a nice view from the room. The room is actually two, with a pull out couch in the living room. I assume they lock off sometimes, but we had both...so a suite, if you will.
The room was 962-963, right by the elevators....NO NOISE from the elevators, they are completely quiet.
Just a small timeshare push, with one msge left, and one written note under the door to remind us of our "opportunity"...we declined, of course.
A round jetted hot tub on the balcony is nice, it worked fine. Windows open out to the view, so you get the nice breezes in the evenings, with a distant wave sound.
Good maid service, plenty of towels...very clean.
Cheap furniture, basic coffee-maker, blender, ect. But..nice flat-screen TVs (2 in the the unit, total)
Comfortable bed, great pillows, plenty to choose from on the TV.
The pool is salt water, very nice, with a swim-up bar. You have to deal with the usual early-morning "chair holders" that put a book and a towell on the choice spots, and show up hours later. I like to move these when I see them, and give to lost and found. ;)
You have to pay for an umbrella....come on Raintree, this charge is not worth the bad taste in my mouth!
The beach is very nice, with rock breakwaters on both side to keep the sand....The Sheraton Bougenvillas chose not to do this, and now have a rock beach, so kudos to the Raintree to not go cheap here.
The grounds are outstanding, nice foliage, fresh paint, very clean!
We only had lunch once, at the pool, and breakfast once at the restaurant...breakfast was good...the hamburger had that "salt pork" flavor that plauged Mexico years ago....so they have to get a chef that knows what real hamburgers taste like.
Good guacamole, beer could be a little colder!
They crew is ALWAYS cleaning, pruning, varnishing....very busy.
The resort is quiet, although a little chain saw noise most morning around 8:30 AM
Check out was again, pretty easy....a couple of "mystery charges" on the bill that were quickly taken care of, so watch that.
I would return, given the exchange opportunity...it is better than some of the other big resorts in town (Mayan Palace, Bugenvillia) but we do prefer the boutique hotels.

Room Tip: Do go above the 7th floor, or the tops of the Palm trees block your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fleeteric06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We just got back from a week at Raintree's Club Regina, our first visit to this particular property. We have stayed at the Club Regina in Cancun previously, and I would rate the Puerto Vallarta property much higher. The rooms were very nice. We had a grand suite, which consisted of two bedrooms with king-sized beds, connected by a living area/kitchenette that had a fold out couch.

For a family consisting of two adults, 2 teenagers and an 11-year-old, it was very nice to have so much space to spread out. We own a timeshare at a Raintree property up in Whistler, Canada, and the Club Regina people did not even ask us if we wanted to sit through another presentation here, which rates them higher with me, as we have always had to decline the presentation at other exchange properties.

The beds were very comfortable, though my 11-year-old did complain a teeny bit about the fold out couch that she was relegated to, but really, we have yet to find a fold out couch that is 5-star comfortable.

The grounds are very clean and the pool/beach area was really nice. The Westin right next door was nice too, but their pool was under maintenance and drained. We were able to use the gym at the Westin at no extra charge, as well as the tennis courts (extra fee for that).

All the employees were super friendly and helpful. The only complaint I would have is that later in the evening (around 10:00), we could hear employees walking around in the hallways and their radios were turned on super loud, which was a bit irritating. The halls are cement, so sound carries pretty easily.

The food at the restaurant was good, and the buffet dinners that they offered twice during our stay were top notch.

Overall, I am giving this property the highest rating, as I think they are better than "very good", maybe not completely "excellent", but very close!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinlMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week's vacation and we have no complaints. I've never met friendlier staff anywhere...each and every person that we encountered in the week was truly truly amazing and they went above and beyond. The pool is great and the temp is just right. Loved the close proximity to the georgous clean beach which too was a perfect temperature. Beach has all the activities that one would need from jet skiing to parasailing to massages, etc., etc. The food at the restaurant and pool was great as were the drinks. The only thing that I did notice was that the waiters were like 80% slower in bringing drinks to us during happy hour. When it was not happy hour they were extremely fast in returning to us for refills. We were able to use the gym at the Westin which was really nice. The hotel is located a short and very safe walk to the beautiful marina. Loved it and would def return to this hotel and maybe do an all inclusive package next time.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wileman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
#111 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
90 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#11 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
705 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
#62 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#30 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,857 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclus...
#47 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Regina Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Regina Puerto Vallarta

Property: Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur 205, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#28 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Regina Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta offers hotel to two bedroom condos right on the beach in the hotel zone. Our pools, lush landscaping, beach, and the Bay all enhance your experience. Puerto Vallarta's beautiful beaches, rich biodiversity, and wealth of outdoor adventure attract tourists from around the world. Traverse Puerto Vallarta’s picturesque Malecon or Romantic Zone; browse the art, jewelry, and handcrafts at the Isla Rio Cuale market; hit the trails on an ATV; or soar through the canopy on a zip lining tour. There’s no shortage of ways to enjoy Puerto Vallarta – let Club Regina Puerto Vallarta be a part of your fantastic vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Club Regina Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Regina Puerto Vallarta
Regina Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing