We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Regina Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #42 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Ok
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Had a great time, very relaxing, nice rooms, very clean! The food and prices were very good, drinks could use a little more imagination, but Staff very nice everywhere we went, just got home but planning on going back and taking the kids in May!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nwyers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    187
    82
    40
    30
See reviews for
204
190
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
152 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We've been staying at the Club Regina for 10 years. It is always clean and nicely appointed. I love the local art they display in the lobby and along the resort walls. Over the years, they have converted to a salt water pool, which I like, because the chlorine pool used to damage my hair. Not very many pool activities, if that is your thing. Kids Club is a bit lacking - they do maybe one activity a day for the kids (about a hour or less in time). Would like to see them do a bit more with the kids, especially when there are lots of kids there. The grounds are nicely maintained and the vegetation is lush and beautiful. It is nice that you can walk over to the Westin if you want to explore. Rooms are clean and large. If you get a room overlooking the pool, you can also watch the cruise ships come into the marina. If you like to work out, you have to go to the Westin. One area that could use improvement is the internet access. It is very sporadic and undependable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We normally stay on the other side of the Marina at the Vallarta Torre (a vacation share) but were unable to get in on short notice so opted for the Club Regina. We were looking for more of a laid back vibe, rooms with a kitchen, a nice pool and beach front in the hotel zone. Club Regina met all of the criteria with an inexpensive price for the room size.

Rooms: Work nicely. They are slightly dated but comfortable and clean. The balconies with the whirlpool tubs on them are a very nice touch. Not the Four Seasons by any means, but you come here to be outside, not sit in your room. Good value here.

Pool: The pool is large and well kept. The lounge chairs built into the pool is a very nice touch. The swim up bar is a nice touch but has a big kitchen right there and doesn't really inspire a vibe that says "hang out and have some drinks here."

Service and food: The reason we are unlikely to stay here again. Everyone is very nice and accommodating but trying to order a drink or get service in the restaurant is like pulling teeth. I don't think it was something just my group experienced either as I watched others get up and walk out after not having a drink or food order taken. I come down to Puerto Vallarta often and understand that things move a little slower down here, but this was different. Drinks also were kind of small and not great. Again, didn't "ruin" our trip or anything like that, we had a great time. We just are unlikely to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshb72a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
250 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We used our time share exchange (1 br) to stay here the last week of January. The room was very nice, we had ocean/pool view, but only on 2nd floor. The people were excellent, from our concierge, Sofia, to Glori our most excellent maid, Alejandro and Pedro bellboys, Carlos and Sergio in sales. We attended the usual presentation, and appreciated that they took a non-agressive approach. The pool area is very nice, good size, nice lounge chairs, and either shady or sunny spots available. We only ate at the resort a couple of times, mostly strolled over to Marina and ate there with friends. We also stayed at Canto Del Sol this trip, and Club Regina is much nicer. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors, ocean view would be bect if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

My friend owns a timeshare at the Club Regina and offered it to me to stay for a week. It was wonderful. My room was lovely, with a bedroom, kitchen, living room and two baths. The personnel were great, especially Manuel, the activities director. He was so much fun. He did everything!! I loved the yoga (stretch), water aerobics, and other classes. He led Bingo and even had different lessons each day, such as preparing salsa, guacamole, and three kinds of margaritas! Vidal at the bell desk was also wonderful. I went to a timeshare presentation, and although I did not buy, they were very polite and not high pressure. If I were to ever buy, it would be there. It is next to the Westin, and we were able to share their facilities. The location is at the marina, which is quiet and not hustle bustle like the centro, but there are shops and restaurants at the marina. There is also a fabulous market at the marina every Thursday evening, and I bought everything I needed to bring home. I will definitely go back to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We have family that owns a timeshare at Club Regina so we didn't look into the property very much before going to Mexico. All we knew is we had a place to stay once we got there! We were pleasantly surprised by how nice this place is. I'll break things down by section. Feel free to skim what interests you or just head to the last paragraph for the bottom line info! Here goes...

Room (564/565)
We had a one bedroom, two bathroom suit. It has two entry doors. One goes directly into the master bedroom, the other into the kitchen/living space. There is a couch that folds into a sleeper. I'm not sure how comfy the bed is but the couch isn't very comfy for sitting. The kitchen is adequate and lightly furnished. There's a hot tub on the balcony off the master bedroom. There are plenty of dishes and glasses but it's lacking in utensils, pans, and bowls. There's lots of storage space. We had two in-room safes which were easy to use. The water pressure is amazing. Almost too much but I'm not complaining!

Decor
Overall the property is a bit dated. There's a lot of pink and yellow. It's definitely tropical…but dated. The room decor is the same. A lot of bright blue, yellow, etc. The doors and cabinets are stained wood. It's all decent quality, just dated.

Property
Absolutely beautiful! The open air lobby leads to a common area with tables, couches, chairs, and pool table. The property has local artists work displayed throughout. There are coconut palms all over the place along with banana trees, flowers, and all the tropical fauna you'd expect. The pool is nice and they offer daily activities. There is a poolside bar/grill that serves drinks and light snacks/meals. They have a sand volleyball court and outside ping pong table. There was a fair amount of saving pool loungers with towels but we never had an issue finding a place to sit.

Beach
It was nice when we were there (Feb 2014). The waves were almost nonexistent and the water temperature was perfect. They have areas to lay in full sun or shade. There are people selling things along the beach but they're courteous and not overly aggressive. The sand is similar coloring and texture as playground sand; light tan with medium grain.

Food
The Club has one restaurant and the Westin next door has another. We tried breakfast at Club Regina and found it somewhat lacking. The omelet bar was nice but other than that it was just okay. The restaurant at the Westin was very good albeit more pricey than other options in the area.

Staff
Everyone was very friendly, attentive, and willing to serve. The staff we interacted with seemed genuinely happy to be there.

Picky Stuff
The property is dated. They work hard to keep it up but there are things that need attention. Cracks here and there. Loose tiles on the floor. Sagging bamboo ceiling accents. Housekeeping consistency was an issue. Some days you'd get wash cloths, other days not. Some days you'd get cute towel animals, then nothing for a few days. Keep in mind I'm being really picky here. Overall the property is in good shape and they work to keep it as nice as possible. If you want to see the ocean getting up past the 7th floor is where you want to be.

Bottom Line
We were very happy with our stay. We were thankful to have a kitchen in the room for snacks and light meals. The property, while dated, is kept up well. The pool and beach are very nice. The pool side bar is fine for snacks but venture out into the city for your bigger meals. The staff is nice and always happy to help. Overall it was very relaxing and very nice.

Room Tip: Get above the 7th floor for a good ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GeneStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our room was perfect as we had a suite which included a bedroom, living room and outdoor room with hot tub! Daily maid service was excellent complete with folded towels in shapes of animals.
Buffet was very good and there were daily activities to join in!

The location at the Marina was excellent and the beach perfect for swimming!

Room Tip: Ask for one that does not overlook any maintenance areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lajollabarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
#100 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#67 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#15 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#28 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
0.6 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#7 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,975 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Marina and Beach Resort
Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Mar...
#39 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Regina Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Regina Puerto Vallarta

Property: Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur 205, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#28 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Regina Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Club Regina Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Regina Puerto Vallarta
Regina Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing