We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have stayed here several times and will return again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #44 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This was our 6th trip to Club Regina in Puerto Vallarta. Overall a beautiful resort with very friendly staff and clean rooms. We were pleased to see renovations underway and our units (we rented 3 - 2 bedroom suites) had newly remodeled kitchens. The grounds are well kept with nicely manicured landscaping.

We love the service at the conceirge desk. Virna and Fabiola are fantastic and have never steared us wrong with restaurant recommendations or assisting us with day trip planning.

On the downside, the front desk staff has never been accomodating when requesting room changes. Being our 6th time, with the exception of the first time upgrade with the purchase of the timeshare, we have never been able to secure a higher floor with ocean view. We usually reserve 3- 4 units with each visit (always bringing a large group with us). When the resort is full, we understand luck of the draw, but on this last visit, the resort was not near capacity, yet the front desk and manager refused to budge on giving us an ocean view room. We had an additional 1 bedroom suite we ended up not being able to use at the last minute (and too late for refund), and the manager was unwilling to give us anything for not using it. We had asked for an extra late check out on 1 room in exchange for not using the 1 bedroom suite for the entire week, and he refused. Again, with less than full capacity it just seemed wrong to accomodate us with this request, especially since our rooms were not cleaned before 3 pm on any given day.

Another complaint is the apparent management wars between the Westin and Club Regina. This trip we were forced to wear "Blue bracelets" to identify us as club members versus hotel guests. Also disappointed to see a "parameter fence" in place to seperate the two properties, which previously was blended without borders. We hated the "them" versus "us" feel. No longer able to charge hotel restaurant to our club regina room; and hotel guests were forced to "cash only" at the club pool bar. The local economic stresses were apparent this stay (compared to previous visits) and it seemed a shame to further restrict economic trade between the 2 facilities.


Worth mentioning was our difficulty getting a restfull night's sleep. Being on a lower level unit, we suffered from loud chirping from sunset to sunrise every night. At first we thought they were birds, but later found out they were frogs in the planter areas outside our doors. Would be interested if the noise would be as annoying on the higher floors.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JJGCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
There are newer reviews for Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 631 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

Beautiful Property--Great Location--Great Views-Great Service-- Well maintained--Very Low pressure Timeshare pitch.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelamigo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I have thought long and hard about whether or not I should publish this review. My husband and I - both 65- stayed at Club Regina through RCI for 3 nights in mid-May, 2011. We had planned to stay for a week at another resort, then return for our last 3 days at Club Regina. The resort is lovely with bright colors and lots of art and greenery everywhere. The big pool with the swim-up bar was awesome and the restaurant food was fine, if a bit over-priced and with slow service and lots of annoying birds outside.

Since the front tower was apparently being renovated, we had to walk a long way back to the elevator to get back and forth from our 5th floor room. (568) My husband has bad knees, so we asked about getting moved closer on our second day there, but no luck. We were shown a larger room facing the ocean, but would have had to pay $75 per day additional to move rooms and it really wasn't any closer, which was our issue.

We had both noticed a few insect bites the first morning we were there and asked at the desk if they knew what sorts of insects bit us. The young front desk person (she was knew, we found out later) told us to "make sure we closed the sliding doors onto the balcony at night." I sprayed insect repellant on my shoulders and arms before going to bed that second night. We woke up the next morning and my poor husband was covered with bites! His shoulders, back and arms looked like they had been attacked by hordes of mosquitoes, but strangely, they didn't itch. We asked again at the desk about flying insects. No mention of possible bed bugs, no offer to change our room. And we were clueless. More bites the third night, then we checked out. But i was beginning to get suspicious and upon arrival at our new resort, I used my iPad to research bed bugs. Yup, no pain when bitten. Yup, the bites were in groups of 3 or 4, called "breakfast, lunch and dinner", typical of bed bugs. Yup, not much itching. My husband wore a t-shirt all week but still had a (rude) guest ask him what was wrong with his skin! Luckily the bites are not dangerous and don't usually spread diseases, but they were annoying and embarrassing. Plus the more I learned about it, the more I itched! (and I just had a few bites!)

I took a taxi back to the Club Regina after a sleepless night and talked to the Front Desk manager, Jorge Luis Gomez Sanchez/ He listened sympathetically and said that they had thoroughly cleaned the room and had not found any bugs. He also said that he would send us a certificate for 4 days at a Raintree resort, but then it never came, despite a few emails back and forth. Needless to say, we will never stay at this hotel again. If the certificate had arrived as promised, I most likely would have refrained from publishing this review because I would have felt that the manager's action showed that he cared, but obviously Raintree did not believe us. I have the pix and a doctor's statement from the US however, proving that he was severely bitten. Too bad, Club Regina is gorgeous and most of the staff work so hard to keep the guests happy and to clean everything. I just wish we had stayed in a different room.

Room Tip: Avoid room 568!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Katiekono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed in a Grand Suite on the 11th Floor. The room wasn't one of the remodeled ones but it was still very clean and we really enjoyed the view and accomodations. The check-in service was very quick and easy and everyone was very nice. Fabiola at guest services was wonderful and so helpful the entire time. She even made our reservations at Casa Isabel (wonderful!) for dinner. Everyone always said hello and asked how we were doing and if we needed anything. Location is nice. Close to the airport and within walking distance to the Marina. We walked down there a couple of times and ate at Victor's. Great food and free shots of tequila. Swimming pools were awesome and the service at the swim up bar was wonderful. Juan, was always there to see if we needed anything to eat or drink...very friendly!!
We had one issue with the room, just sand fleas or something out on the patio. They took care of it with spray right away and even called us a couple of times to see if it was better. Nice that they follow up on complaints or problems.

The only thing I didn't like is that the towels in the rooms are only changed once a week unless you request it more often but I believe there is a charge (not positive so you might want to double check on that). The breakfast buffet is not the best for the price. Not a big variety. Oh and when there are weddings on the beach, be prepared for fireworks to be going off until 2-3am...I didn't appreciate that but I had earplugs which kind of helped.

We will be going back!

Room Tip: Ask for updated room on one of the higher floors.
Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I wrote a lengthy review last year so will not repeat here. But the resort is still a delightful, relaxing place to stay. Nice beach view from our room. Do note that around Easter there are lots of large families traveling so there are lots of kids. Beds kinda hard. Service at Inizio's restaurant not as competent as last year and the food is still average. Much better at the Westin next door but you'll pay for it. If you need anything, see Reyna at the concierge desk. She takes care of people! The rest of the staff was great too. Great stay, we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank theswanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

This was our third stay at Club Regina in Puerto Vallarta. The staff is truly expert and many have been there for years. They pride themselves in remembering your name and addressing you by your name whenever possible. The grounds are meticulously kept, as are the hotel general areas. Although we stayed in a room that had not yet been updated, it was comfortable and clean. The cleaning staff seemed to go through it magically fast. They literally wait to see that you have gone to breakfast or the beach and swoop in to expertly clean the room. While the room could do with a little updating (and it is in process in the resort) we were perfectly happy.
You can no longer charge at the Westin, but are free to use the pool (Club Regina's is better anyway). The beach is relatively small but convenient and well-managed. The concierge is very helpful and actually gives very good suggestions and not just where they are provided incentives. The bellmen keep track of the cab you left in and the cab you arrive in in case anything is lost-- a very nice touch.

Room Tip: Go for higher up in the south tower
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BostonBeachGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

My wife, my daughter, and two of my daughter's friends stayed a week at Club Regina in early April. The grounds are beautiful, the pool is large, and the beachfront is nice (not huge but sufficient). There is a large lobby area with seating overlooking the pool area with its numerous palm trees. The rooms are great. We had a 2 bedroom which allowed the three teenagers to have their own space. Each bedroom has a deck with a jacuzzi tub that overlooks the ocean. I think the vast majority of rooms here have a view either to the ocean or the pool area. Kitchen has a couple burners but no oven. We took a taxi to Costco (about 80 pesos) and stocked up for the week. The Walmart supercenter is even closer and it's easy to take the bus there. The bus is a great way to get downtown. They come by on the road just out from the hotel about every 15 minutes and cost about 6.5 pesos.

The service at Club Regina is outstanding. Everyone is super friendly and helpful. They are also working to constantly keep the grounds clean. Daily room service was very thorough.

We avoided the concierge desk so we didn't have to get pressured for a timeshare sales pitch. They do have discount cards for food at the pool but it hardly seemed worth it to us as we do not need to spend our precious vacation time being bothered with that.

We would highly recommend the Los Veranos canopy tour, which was a blast. Also, go on the 9 am kayak outing with the activities staff or rent a kayak. We kayaked next to a bunch of dolphins. They say sometimes you get close enough to touch them!

Make sure to go downtown for dinner several times you are there--the food in PV is amazing. There are some fun restaurants in the marina also, which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Victors has great fish tacos and will serve you free shots of tequilla.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marktbreck9500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
#109 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
90 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
729 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#19 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#30 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,879 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclus...
#49 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Regina Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Regina Puerto Vallarta

Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur 205, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#28 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $136 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Regina Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta offers hotel to two bedroom condos right on the beach in the hotel zone. Our pools, lush landscaping, beach, and the Bay all enhance your experience. Puerto Vallarta's beautiful beaches, rich biodiversity, and wealth of outdoor adventure attract tourists from around the world. Traverse Puerto Vallarta’s picturesque Malecon or Romantic Zone; browse the art, jewelry, and handcrafts at the Isla Rio Cuale market; hit the trails on an ATV; or soar through the canopy on a zip lining tour. There’s no shortage of ways to enjoy Puerto Vallarta – let Club Regina Puerto Vallarta be a part of your fantastic vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Club Regina Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Regina Puerto Vallarta
Regina Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing