We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
great place for authentic mexican art work

Me and my wife love this place we always buy a new piece for our collection every trip to Puerto... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
redrocker62
,
vancouver
Great high quality folk art

We always send all our friends to Lucy’s for their fine folk art collection. Having traveled... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Neil_Ashland
,
Tucson, Arizona
via mobile
Read all 236 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Puerto Vallarta
from $79.00
More Info
from $25.00
More Info
from $69.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
210
19
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
210
19
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews folk art unique items mexican art buy gifts unique collection purchased several for sale art pieces buy something romantic zone visiting puerto vallarta gil shop treasure author handicrafts mexico
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 236 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

You must stop here for a wide selection of folk art from a variety of regions in Mexico. The shop's slogan is "For great gifts you don't want to give away" and we found that to be very true! Textiles, masks, jewelry, wood carvings, talavera tile, and so much more. Your purchases will be expertly wrapped for packing as well. Talking to Lucy and her author/husband Gil is worth a visit and you can purchase one of his books there. The prices are very reasonable and the quality of the selection is topnotch! The owner herself was a bit puzzled about her shop being listed under "attractions", but it is a great place to shop!

Date of experience: December 2013
1  Thank sbranGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is a required stop for us each time we visit PV. Lucy's is our favorite place to buy Mexican folk art for our friends back home. Our purchases have included a beautiful handwoven bedspread for our home, silver jewelry at the best prices, and stunning, hand carved, painted, whimsical animals from Michoacán. Lucy's husband, Gil, is the author of three books of short stories about their adventures in Mexico. For all our visitors to PV, the first thing we give them is a margarita, followed by Gil's book, "Puerto Vallarta on 49 Brain Cells a Day" -- pick one up in the shop if you are looking for a really fun read. The shop is a wonderful combination of interesting folk art, great prices, and all with a touch of humor. Don't miss it!

Date of experience: December 2013
1  Thank sheilaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Unique gifts for all ages...things you will not find anywhere else...we take all visitors there too.

Date of experience: January 2013
Thank Patpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Lucy's has a fun and unique collection of colorful Mexican folk art brought in from all parts of the country. Having traveled through many of the source regions before, I can say that their prices are extremely reasonable. The store clerk was very friendly and chatty. We'll be back to shop again next trip!

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank JoeFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We travel to Puerto Vallarta twice a year and never miss going to Lucy's CuCu Cabana. They have the best funny eclectic folk crafts as well as exceptional tapestries, carved alibrijes, and jewelry. Don't miss it! We pack extra suitcases in our luggage for the return trip and have never failed to fill them. It's a great way to bring a bit of Mexico home.

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank SocraticEclectic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews