We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!”
Review of Old Town Bistro - CLOSED

Old Town Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located on Basilio Badillo #180 in the heart of Old Town Vallarta Old Town Bistro is now serving Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. Old Town Bistro Features World Class International Cuisine by award winning chef/owner Kenneth Tanasy. Our menus include many classical dishes along with new and innovated entrees that will excite everyone. The menu also includes premium steaks and chops, outstanding seafood and pasta dishes. Old Town Bistro is a place where you always know you'll get the best of everything. Old Town Bistro features a romantic dining room and an elegant cocktail lounge with comfortable furnishings decorated with soothing warm tones. The lounge area also features a softly lit bar with comfortable couches and love seats. Guests will enjoy the sounds of trickling water from its unique fountains situated throughout the restaurant. Old Town Bistro's lounge which has several areas for intimate conversation or private business discussions makes it the perfect place to relax and perhaps order something from our appetizer menu.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Quality food presented beautifully at a reasonable price!!! 5 in our party,not one complaint! Coconut shrimp excellent,beet salad to die for,yummy mango daiquiris . Will return & recommend

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank neesy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    21
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dorset england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Duck to die for”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Wife and I walking past, looked at the menu, noticed a free table and that was it. She had Red Snapper I had the boneless Duck.both portions very large and beautifully cooked with puréed sweet potato and mash with fresh veg. Both sauces were exc. I had two very good margaritas and she had a large Bacardi and coke. Service was polite,attentive and efficient. Charming hostess at the door. All in all very good value for very good food. As Arnie said " I'll be BECK" !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dc321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great and Gorgeous !”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Breakfast, lunch and dinner = I've been to this wonderful gem several times. Service, food, ambiance is superb. Location is a great place to "people watch", or have a romantic dinner in the back. Their choices of wine are excellent. Priced well. One of PV's gems, not to be missed !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redheaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great apps!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We first stopped by this place to get out of the noon day sun and just have a beer. The plan was to go for a burger at some place (sorry, I forget the name) at the end do the street. We sat in the lounge and received prompt and friendly service. We enjoyed the cool shade and the people watching on the busy street, but then headed to the burger place, which we discovered was so hot we decided to try somewhere else. We ended up back at Old Town Bistro and ordered drinks and appetizers, thinking it would be a light snack. We ordered the nachos, calamari, and chicken wings.

There were four of us at a table for four, but when the apps arrived it was apparent we were going to need more space. The waiters quickly pushed two tables together which allowed more room for the servings.

The nachos were outstanding with plenty of guacamole, cheese, sour cream! ( I didn't know this was Mexican), and refried beans. On a scale from 1 to 10, I'd give these a 10, especially based on the nachos we experienced at the Cheeky Monkey (see my review). The wings (hot) were exceptionally well (and fully cooked to a perfect crispiness (although we did ask for them well done). The sauce tasted a lot like Frank's Red Hot, which suited us just fine. The dipping sauce was supported to be blue cheese, but tasted more like ranch--or a very mild version of blue cheese. They were supposed to come with celery sticks, but instead came with sliced tomatoes (which was okay by me, 'cause I hate celery--but they were impossible to dip in the dressing).

The calamari was okay, but a bit skimpy and a bit greasy tasting. It was served with a chipotle dip that didn't seem to have a lot of flavour. Everyone agreed, the calamari was the least impactful app we ordered.

We didn't discover this place until it was almost time to go home, and wish we had earlier, as we would have gone back to sample so elf the other dishes. Plus, the people -watching view can't be beat.

I should mention too, the portions were big enough that we didn't eat supper until nine that night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edmonton62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
136 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

A gorgeously presented meal that melted in my mouth!! And service? Exquisite!! The fun was being out on he sidewalk and seeing all of our friends that walk by and getting to people watch while eating this divine food!! Highly recommend!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TriciaLyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town Bistro also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing