We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not just Pulpo (Octopus)”
Review of Mr. Pulpo - CLOSED

Mr. Pulpo
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's not just Pulpo (Octopus)”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stumbled into Mr. Pulpo last week with a few buddies after going to the SouthSide Shuffle. We feasted on sumptious Oysters Rockefeller and enormous steamed Crab Claws, all washed down with tasty margaritas.

The staff were all very friendly, the outdoor kitchen makes for a fun ambiance and adds greatly to it's location. The restrooms were also very clean. Best of all, the price was very reasonable. I'm looking forward to dining here again soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chasmader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    26
    14
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Walking the streets seeing the sites of PV, looking for a place for lunch, we stumbled on Mr Pulpo. Seemed like they are fairly new, service, though excellent was a bit clunky. Eduardo, our waiter did wonderful,and the food was superb! I had a fresh (and it was definitley fresh!!) Snapper, fried whole with a lemon thyme butter, I am a huge seafood fan, and I think I'm qualified to say this was fantastic! My wife had Taco trio, with 1 shrimp, 1 fish and 1 Octopus.(Pulpo) Best Octopus I have ever had, cant say one negative thing about our experience at Mr Pulpos! Loved it!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best CRAB CAKES in town!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This clever and comfortable new restaurant is gaining ground as a must-visit place... great seafood, and always something different and new. Attentive service, attractive and charming owners, and a tempting dessert menu as well.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good shrimp tacos”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

It is not really an outdoor restaurant but rather open to the street. Our server was friendly and no problems with the order but it was a long time coming to our table. Folks at the next tables were smoking which we found offensive while we were eating our dinner. The shrimp tacos were tasty.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Incredible staff; thanks Eduardo. Fish and seafood is amazing. Best octupus I have ever had. Shrimps in a garlic sauce, like a scampi; just great. Had 2 visits here. Don't miss this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Pulpo also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing