We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Endless views, home away from home”
Review of Casa Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Isabel
Ranked #10 of 73 Puerto Vallarta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Endless views, home away from home”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is our fourth stay at Casa Isabel and the views are as gorgeous as ever. We usually come in May when the heat commands you to the pool. This year we came for New Years and the fireworks show was the best we've ever seen. Simply amazing! No other vista in PV could possibly have been as beautiful. I would highly recommend room 303 for privacy and space, or if you are traveling with another couple consider the 2 bedroom just off the pool. Almost all of the rooms have a kitchen and living/dining area and in recent years the hotel added a restaurant so you don't have to leave the hotel if you don't want to. Of course, PV has so much to offer, you should get out there!

Pros
Views, views, views
Friendly service
Good food
Large rooms
Pool and hot tubs without the crowds
Did I mention the views?

Cons
Wireless signal is weak or not consistent

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenGraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    48
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
32
208
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Casa Isabel is located up on a steep hill overlooking the old town area of Puerta Vallarta. It is a beautiful place with very nice and helpful people working there. The whole place is meticulously clean and if you have any request or concern they attend to it immediately. Our room had a kitchen that was quite functional and had pretty much all the basic utensils. The cool part of the room was that the doors to the balcony opened so wide that is felt as if we were living outside. No bugs at all! It was a little difficult to close the doors all the way and we did hear other loud guests coming and going.
I would say that you must be somewhat able to climb stairs if you want to stay here as it has multiple levels-which is part of the charm. Also, you will either need to take a taxi, (not expensive at all), to get to the town or walk down-and then up, a fairly steep hill which is mostly cobblestones, to get there.
The pools are small. There are 2 small warmer pools and a somewhat larger cool pool. The patios are very quiet and relaxing. The hotel provides beach towels for you in the room.
The restaurant is all outdoors under a roof and overlooking the city. The food was great and pretty reasonably priced. Every morning they have coffee brewed that guests can help themselves to.
We met the owner, Isabel, who is charming and welcoming. If you ask, she will tell you the history of the hotel which is interesting.
We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Isabel and would definately come back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSstpmsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I have to concur with the review written by DJWORR. Casa Isabel is like paradise.The moment you approach the property a magical feeling sets in immediately. Perched like a jewel above old town PV, every room affords a glorious view of Banderas Bay and the town itself, The rooms are tastefully decorated and meticulously maintained. The layout of the hotel (more like a castle really) is beyond description - it must be seen to be fully appreciated. Isabel and her staff provide guests with award-winning service. Every employee (Wendy, Michael, the restaurant staff, and the cleaning staff) goes out of their way to ensure your stay is as you could only dream it would be. We ate many meals at the restaurant and the food was always delicious; it is no wonder so many people return time and time again to watch the sunset and stay to savor the fine culinary delicacies. We had fresh langostina one night, which was to die for. This was our second stay at Casa Isabel and we would not consider staying anywhere else when visiting PV. I could go on and on but I suggest you make reservations at Casa Isabel for your next visit to PV to truly experience the magical charm created by Dave and Isabel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandyandy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

As much as I loved being in PV, I couldn't wait to get home to write this review! I had found Casa Isabel here on Trip Advisor and thought we'd go up one day on a pass and hang out at the pool, so the day after we arrived in PV, we walked here from our hotel in El Centro. It was a little tough to find, but we just kept walking! At some point I commented to my husband that I hoped it was worth the walk.

Once we arrived... WOW!!! The walk had turned into a path to paradise! We decided to watch some NFL football on one of the many tv's at the restaurants/bar while enjoying margaitas and looking out over the bay. Julio, the bartender suggested we take a look around, specifically at the "Honeymoon Suite," so we began our exploration of the entire property and fell in love!


Although we already had a hotel in town, we decided to check into Casa Isabel for 4 nights during our 7 night stay! We booked one of the studio rooms. It was the smallest room for square footage, but it had a large rounded window opening that overlooked the bay and the city of PV! Beyond that, we didn't care about anything else! We could lay on the queen bed and just look out the window at EVERYTHING! But, everything else was so nice, super clean and very well aquainted! The shower in our room also had a large window with the same view! What a pleasure 1st thing in the am! We had a small cafe table with 2 chairs where we enjoyed coffee each morning. There was a small refrigerator, flat screen tv, safe, and nice closet! We were set! We didn't use the a/c and we left our window open all night!

During the week, we also had a nice variety of the food. It was all excellent, fresh & beautifully presented!

The hotel staff was great, we were made to feel like we were at OUR home! Everything was extremely clean and very well kept, the property was absolutely beautiful! If you don't stay here, be sure to check it out for lunch, dinner or a drink & sunset watching! Or use the one-day pass for the pools! We can't wait to go back!!! Be sure to check out our photos & our video review!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZTAz3zBM_Wo&feature=youtu.be

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawShank20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2011

How else but to wake up with a view of the whales splashing in the bay, manta rays flying out of the water, fireworks to ease you to a fitful night of rest on a king size bed ,.... ahhhhh ! Or to soak in the 2 infinity pools at 2am overlokking old towne Vallarta as the town comes to rest for another day, this boutique hotel , hosted by her vibrant and personable owner, Isabel Manore is a must for anyone's bucket list. Anchored into the side of the hills overlooking Zona Romantica and the Bay of Banderas where National Geographic comes to life. You feel so close to nature here that you cannot help but cringe at the thought of leaving. A short, steep, 7 minute walk from Basilio Badillo up the hill, or 40 peso ($ 3.50US) taxi. To stay here is to be blessed ,.... what else can I say, come and see for yourself and if you cannot, come for the food at the public palapa restaurant and ask the friendly staff for a tour of the rooms, then you can imagine what I have just described and make some time at this beautiful place your own.

Room Tip: To my knowledge, all rooms have water views , A/C Air conditioning and multiple ceiling fans
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJWORR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I love Casa Isabel. Isabel is a lovely, caring, and gracious hostess. The staff are efficient and kind. Fast Eddie, the manager, is a great resource for fun in the city. The views from Casa Isabel are like postcards. A wonderful place to spend time in PV.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heycradler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We have been to Isabel's twice. Once to stay and then again for a romantic dinner on my birthday. I cannot say enough about the property. Absolutely beautiful, stunning views, great food. The staff are fantastic, we were treated like royalty. You simply must visit Isabel's if not to stay, then just for a meal. You will return again and again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmtreehugger_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#23 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#11 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#8 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Isabel

Property: Casa Isabel
Address: Privada Del Bosque 483 | Col. Alta Vista, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodations at affordable prices. Stay with us and see why our guests return year after year. We offer twelve different units in a variety of styles and budgets, from a hotel room, spectacular romantic suites, studios and one bedroom suites, most have full kitchens, plus our fabulous two bedroom two bath casita. Incredible views of the mountains and ocean, fireworks and sunsets, plus enjoy two Jacuzzis and a pretty pool with a B.Y.O.B Palapa Bar and professional grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Isabel Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing