We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Upgrade...upgrade...upgrade to the Preferred Tower!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #9 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
san pedro, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Upgrade...upgrade...upgrade to the Preferred Tower!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We decided to stay at Dreams for our anniversary. Overall we definitely enjoyed our stay but if you decide to go here are some tips:
Upgrade to the Preferred Tower. This will make a huge difference. When we booked through Expedia, the new tower was not even an option because it was supposedily sold out. The first 2 days we spent in the Main Tower which was average to below average. Small rooms, most with no balcony. No lobby, very motel like. Some people seemed fine with the Main Tower but if you are picky or want the most out of your visit then do whatever it takes to get into the Preferred Tower. With that said, Jose at reception found us a Jr. Suite without a jacuzzi in the new tower and it was MORE than we expected. Air conditioned lobby with a section that included top self liquor, food, and coffee from morning until 9 pm. The room had everything! Large balcony, LCD TV, 2 sitting areas, gorgeous bed, and huge bathroom. It was worth the cost to upgrade!
The food was what you might expect from an all inclusive resort, pretty average. Each restraunt is closed one or two nights a weeks so I suggest that you research that before getting all dressed up and walking down to Portifino which just happened to to closed for our last night. We did enjoy the coconut shrimp appetizer at Seaside Grill.
Comedy Night was hysterical and Fiesta Night was another great experience.
The adults only pool was very nice. Make sure you go down early in the morning to reserve a couple chairs.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank honeymoon89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,929
    1,441
    356
    156
    103
See reviews for
1,613
2,755
72
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed for a before flying home from a trip round Mexico. A comfortable hotel in a beautiful location with lovely beach. Although we have teenagers who did enjoy the pool and beach, we all found the large groups of loud drinkers somewhat offputting. The hotel was good value as a stopover for a night, I would only recommend it for a longer stay to 18-30s looking for a Mexican Ibiza.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocolate_Pudding1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Every employee at Dreams went out of their way to make our stay relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable. You are always greeted with a smile and a warm greeting. Ask them for information or advise and they will stop what they are doing and accommodate you. Truly incredible people. A few that I would like to recognize are: from the front desk, Jose Guerra, Alexis and Geraldine. Dreams is truly lucky to have these three. At the World Cafe Buffet: Anahi and Omar. Terrific service. Maid: Flor on the eighteenth floor, always smiling. Vallet: Ezequiel. Too many to name.
The setting at Dreams is "one in a million" having a private beach and a magnificent view of the Bay of Banderas but the real beauty is the landscaping. You will have the best of both worlds in so far as the beach on one side and mountains on the other.
There is no need to leave Dreams once there but I do recommend going to central and taste the flavor of Mexico.
We enjoyed all the activites and especially the Mexican Night on Fridays. Our kids loved the mime. Take advantage of all the activities.
If you are looking for an all inclusive with tons of family fun look no further, you found it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VolsTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Gorgeous view of the ocean and comfortable room.
Lots of kids and teenagers drinking, so not as relaxing by the pools.
The food was FAIR, but we didn't expect much for all inclusive- we should have spent more time eating in PV, but the clean, isolated beach and resort was too hard to leave

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MQadeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We booked a great deal for our trip on Hotwire for 8 nights at this all-inclusive resort. Location was fantastic- 10 minutes (or less) and $5 US cab ride in to Old Town; secluded beach (no wristbands!); fabulous view. The service was exceptional everywhere except the lounge, where it was still good, but paled in comparison to the other areas. The food was AMAZING- absolutely delicious with a lot of choices all day long including room service. The enforced restaurant times, dress codes and protocol (ie: no kids in one fine dining restaurant), which was great and made for a wonderful experience. Two tips: take small peso notes with you and tip the servers- after you see how hard they work, you will want to reward them; and pay extra for the Preferred Club Tower- sooooo worth it!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeamusBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Let me start by simply saying this location is breathtaking. We choose Dreams after doing a great deal of research looking specifically for a resorts capabilities to host a small (25-30 person) wedding. Then we took into consideration costs,location,food and drinks. Let's just say that for the price...you can't go wrong paying so little for an all-inclusive resort in such a beautiful location. We had 25 people in all join us to celebrate our wedding in the middle of the "swine-flu outbreak" and they all have or share our opinion of the resort. Many stayed in the old tower and were content with the rooms. Yes, as many have stated in other reviews the rooms are older and a little outdated but the mattresses were great and after all- time spent in the rooms was minimal at best if you were out enjoying the resort or the city. We did stay in the preferred tower and loved our room. However, when returning I don't think it is necessary to upgrade to the preferred tower if you can reserve a room in the old tower with a balcony. So let's talk about the service...In my opinion the service was better than average on most days. Room service was better than I expected...and it always came within 20-30 min with a smile. Our wedding coordinator Rebecca was outstanding. Everything concerning our wedding went off without a hitch and was beautiful. The check in and check out process definitely needs some attention. I'm not sure if it is a lack of training or just the fact that they have a hard time finding competent people they can trust. TIPS...Do you tip at restaurant when you receive good service? Do you tip your bartender when he knows what you are drinking and has it ready for you before you ask for it? I hope so. The people working at this resort for the most part are working their butt off to make your vacation or holiday memorable. If you think that working everyday making drinks and serving you in 85-95 degree heat with a smile and being friendly to everybody is an easy job...Give it a shot and see how long you last without a little extra compensation. It doesn't take much-I think that on an average day between the maid service, bartenders, and waitstaff we probably tipped an average of about 15-20 US dollars a day! That in mind is next to nothing considering the round the clock service you receive. Food, ahhh the food....delicious nearly every meal. If you think that every meal is going to be-you are certainly going to be disappointed. We were at Dreams for 11 days and we probably ate atleast 3 if not 4 meals on some days and I would say that out of 36 meals maybe 4 were sub-par. Pools...I have to say they can be bigger and it could truly use an enforced adult only pool with swim-up bar. That said-"fuggidaboudit" get your but out on the beach! It is awesome!!! The beach is combed or raked every morning, the ocean water is so warm and it is incredible to swim along with the harmless manta rays and smaller fish. There is waitstaff that walks the beach to bring you drinks. The sand along the beachfront at dreams is nearly rock free!! if you find a rock in the ocean as far as you can walk out it is no bigger than a few inches. We loved Dreams and all that it had to offer on a whole. A few bumps or hiccups here and there but absolutely enjoyable and worth the money without a doubt. If you want or expect perfection you only set yourself up to be let down. So go with an open mind and plan on enjoying this resort with the above in mind and you wont be sorry.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank PoppaBearChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columb ia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Decided on Dreams, Puerto Vallarta based upon Trip Advisor ratings. Took 2 university age young adults. The food was fantastic - the kids enjoyed the wonderful selection, sampling such amazing breadth of fresh cuisine and the service. Safe beach, wonderful weather & the entertainment team transformed the pool & beach frontage on daily basis for wonderful events/entertainment. Absolutely superb cleanliness, loads of gorgeous extras that made setting special & friendly staff. Was a "bonding holiday" before family separated to different continents for career/ university needs. A fabulous time that exceeded our hopes & "Dreams". Can't wait to go back!
Be aware of nightmare solicitations even inside PV airport before you can get out to meet hotel transfer - avoid the "package offers" and solicitations.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank explorerBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#7 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,549 reviews
2.3 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,566 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#13 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,374 reviews
3.5 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#14 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,148 reviews
5.5 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#10 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Property: Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Address: Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this natural, open-air paradise, you'll see shades of blue you never imagined, stretching from the brilliant mosaics of the infinity pools to the spectacular views of the azure ocean. Authentic Mexican cuisine, swim-up suites and a beautiful, intimate setting that seems to grow more perfect every moment, we have it all. All bestowed with our genuine Service from the HeartTM . That's the difference at Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta. That's the Evolution of All-Inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Resort Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort Spa
Dreams Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Dreams Puerta Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Dreams Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing