We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now our sixth visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #13 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Here again and having a good time. EXCEPT we have learned that the hotel has been sold to Hyatt and will close as Dreams in April, supposedly to reopen in December as Hyatt and maybe still all inclusive. There are many versions of what will happen to the property and its great staff.

Went up to Dreams Villa Magna this am to see how it compares. It is definitely newer and more posh and the staff seems very nice there, too. Felt that the World Cafe there, while pretty, was not as good as here at PV. Much more limited food choices.

We will enjoy our visit for a few more days and hope that perhaps our favorite hotel in Mexico will still be available without big changes when we next head for PV. I suppose we could tolerate being at Villa Magna but it just wouldn't seem like "home."

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nhraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,382 - 3,388 of 7,961 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

Really great place to go if you have young children. The waves on the beach could be big at times, so watch small children closely. Pool area was nice. Breakfast buffet is good with great omelets! The Portofino and Oceana restaurants were great.

Room Tip: We had a preferred room, so was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCICBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were so amazed by Dreams and their staff! We stayed at Dreams from Jan 4th to Jan 7th, it was our first time at an All-Inclusive and we didn't want to commit to 2 weeks if we didn't like it. Let's just say that I wasn't ready to leave. The staff was absolutely incredible and did everything they could to spoil you. Whatever you need, they will find a way to deliver! The room was great and the view was breath taking. The resort is a little dated but it is totally worth staying there. You won't be disappointed. The pool area is great, tons of activities for adults and kids. Every night they have some kind of show plus a family movie on the beach. From the airport we took Amstar to the resort. They waited for us with a sign and took us directly to the resort. Totally worth the $40.00. Book the trip, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a view of the ocean. We didn't bother upgrading because we didn't pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Montanagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I were unsure what to expect, since this was our first experience with an all-inclusive. We were ultimately extremely pleased. The resort is almost hidden away from downtown Puerto Vallarta (about a ten minute drive - twenty from the airport). You're greeted with a welcome drink and cool, scented towel, and the resort beach is lovely.

We were very surprised and pleased with the quality of the food and the myriad of choices - there are five or six restaurants with different cuisines (Italian, Mexican, seafood, misc.) and only one of them is buffet-style. There were no reservations but we never had to wait. We also had a delicious private 'romantic dinner' on the beach and the setting was breathtaking.

Generally, the resort had a bit of a cruise ship feel, with activities and such. The only negatives were that the beach got crowded (tough to get a chair at peak times) and certain activities filled up quickly. Also, the lobby and pools could use a brush up - they are a bit worn. I actually heard that this resort is closing in the next six months or so (I believe it's been sold) so that may be why it's looking a tiny bit worn. Having said that, however, it's absolutely worth a trip and worth the price. I think it would be particularly good for families or groups of friends, and I would definitely stay in a Dreams property again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JournalKat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamspv, Quality Control at Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very complimentary comment regarding your stay at our resort. It is always nice to have positive feedback from our guests and to know that we have met or exceeded your expectations of our resort. Especially in your case that had never been to an all inclusive resort. We really appreciate your comments about our pools; they are seriously taken in consideration in order to improve our services.

We sincerely thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination and hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.

It is a pleasure!

Esmeralda Alcala
Quality Control

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were there at the end of October (2013) and had an incredible stay. We loved that hotel was on it's own beach. The rooms were clean and well kept-we stayed in the old tower. We also enjoyed their spa and found the services were great. There was good variety at the restaurants and very much enjoyed trying all of them out, however our favourite was Portofino. Also a bonus that there is no need for reservations. But hands down what makes this hotel so fantastic is the staff- they were truly woderful! The are warm and friendly and extremely helpful. Two of our favourite servers were Ismael & Salizar who worked at the pool bar and beach. They were there to greet us every morning and made sure to take good care of us during the day. Another person of note was Israel who is part of the entertainment team. He went above and beyond in every instance and was always around to have us participate in the daily activities (hiking, water aerobics, soccer, volleyball, etc the list goes on and on) He made us feel welcome and was sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnw2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Dreams still amazing. Dec. 9-24th. Six years in a row. We meet the same families/couples and our 10 year old son sees his old friends year after year. Great food and fantastic staff. It is always nice to be greeted with “welcome home”.
This year we found out that Hyatt purchased and will be renovating the property and closing from April to November. Who knows what that really means in Mexican time? The staff are nervous and many have already been moved to different resorts owned by Hyatt or RMI. Our concern will be with pricing. This year we paid 35% more than we ever paid for the same time period and it was even a close call as to our return. Over the years we have met wonderful people, so we hope we can come back.
Food is amazing. In fact, we asked one of the chefs to come out just to thank and praise him for the fantastic risotto he had made. He invited us the following day into the kitchen to show us a private cooking lesson. One of our trip highlights!
The reviews about the property are 99% correct. This will always be our 1st choice!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngelBoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was our first time at this resort. 46 of us stayed there for our daughter's wedding. What an amazing resort! The location is beautiful, and we loved the fact that the resort is in it's own cove with it's own beach! It is a small resort so it was a short walk to everything, and it was easy to find everyone in our group. The food was delicious, and we especially enjoyed all the seafood as well as the great coffee. All the staff were very courteous and helpful, (loved Eduardo, what a gentleman!). If you needed anything, all you had to do was ask and staff immediately attended to the matter. There were always lots of activities going on. The rooms were clean and big and the beds were very comfortable. As for the wedding, it was PERFECT! My daughter planned everything from home and Elena attended to every detail and was very accommodating. My daughter sent a picture of what she wanted her bouquet and flowers to look like and they were exactly what she wanted, ( though the bouquets did not stay together that well.) Chris was the photographer my daughter chose and she did an awesome job of capturing all the special moments of the wedding. I would definitely return to this resort. It is older and some of the building are in need of repair but I loved it's charming atmosphere. My only complaint is the outrageous cost of laundry!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a room with a balcony and it was nice to sit outside there in the evening to enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamspv, Quality Control at Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Mrs. Theresa B,

Greetings from sunny, warm Puerto Vallarta! It pleases me very much to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and to know that we played a significant role in making your daughter’s wedding a memorable one. I am grateful to you for sharing your comments with future guests.
In addition to taking the time to send us these nice remarks, I sincerely appreciate you mentioning the different people that made your stay special.

We sincerely thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination and hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.

It is a pleasure!

Esmeralda Alcala
Quality Control

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.4 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
776 reviews
4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
569 reviews
5.6 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,350 reviews
5.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#6 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Address: Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $249 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this natural, open-air paradise, you'll see shades of blue you never imagined, stretching from the brilliant mosaics of the infinity pools to the spectacular views of the azure ocean. Authentic Mexican cuisine, swim-up suites and a beautiful, intimate setting that seems to grow more perfect every moment, we have it all. All bestowed with our genuine Service from the HeartTM . That's the difference at Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta. That's the Evolution of All-Inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Resort Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort Spa
Dreams Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Dreams Puerta Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Dreams Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing