We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could've been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #13 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 27, 2013

OThe goods:
- Beach: Dreams PVR is situated at a very private cove surrounded by huge boulder so there aren't hawkers and random people hanging out on the beach (unlike most other resorts with a public beach).
- Food: Foods at most restaurants are very good.  There's Mexican, Italian, seafood, steak, etc. And the buffet restaurant have lots of selections too.

The could've-been-betters:
- Activities: there are some water activities like kayaking, beach volleyball and pool exercises. But they are few and some are subject to ocean conditions (i am not sure why it is usually red flag even when there was barely a breeze).  I thought they could add a few more activities
- Entertainment: Dreams PVR is a small resort so obviously the nightly shows cannot compare to bigger resorts.  No complaints but could've been better.
- Room: Every room faces the ocean with a million-dollar sunset view.  However the rooms are outdated and not very well maintained (for example chipped paint on bathtub, etc).  The ring at the basketball court was down too during our stay.
- Service excellence: Services is generally very good.  But I feel that the pending sale to Hyatt is affecting the employees.  Some of them are nervous about it. While most are friendly some appeared that they are ready to change job.  By chatting with some staff most are feeling sad and uncertain about the transfer of ownership.

Definitely-need-to-be-improved:
- Upgrades-and-updates: The hotel feels like it hasn't been kept up to date, especially the public areas.  The main pool looks old and a bit dirty too. The fitness center is very old too with equipment that feels like from the 80s.
- Sales pressure:  After check-in, there's a short sales pitch for the AMResort and they are always a few sales ladies near the lobby area looking for every opportunity to sell you excursions and membership.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DT94024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,398 - 3,404 of 7,952 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had an amazing 10 days at Dreams Puerto Vallarta. This was our 3rd trip to the Resort; we like staying in the Preferred Club Tower. The location is amazing with its secluded beach, lush mountainside and well maintained property but it is the Resort staff who made our vacation extraordinary. From the moment you arrive, they go out of their way to make you feel at home and fulfill your every need. Its fun to see the same employees after 8 years. We love this location and highly recommend it. Thank you to all the Dreams staff for their hospitality. We look forward to seeing everyone again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Dreams Puerto Vallarta surpassed all our expectations. We normally don't book "all inclusive" vacations, but we felt we needed a hassle-free escape, so we booked 9 nights at Dreams Puerto Vallarta over the Holidays. We couldn't have been more satisfied. The property itself is beautiful and very well maintained. The food was very good, and the property's 5 restaurants provided plenty of variety. The resort staff was professional, friendly and attentive - yet they did not hover or try to sell add-on activities. However, plenty of activities (both included in the price and add-ons) were available daily. The resort also offers an Explorer Club for kids, and it appeared that the kids had an awesome time. The resort also went all out to make it a fun Christmas day for the kids with Santa arriving via parasail. We highly recommend this property and thank the entire Dreams staff for their hospitality.

Room Tip: Although I'm sure all rooms are nice (they all face the ocean), request a room/suite in the new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Dreams is exactly that- a Dream Vacation. We love coming each year to the most beautiful property you will find in Mexico. The property is lush everywhere and the beach is only footsteps away as well. The staff is extraordinary- they are right there to help with any possible need and their friendly attitude makes for a very positive atmosphere. The food is abundant and you can eat any time day or night. They even have a stocked mini fridge that they refill each day. There is lots to do there as well. Sometimes we just hang out by the pool and read but you can play land and water sports all during the day. I love the yoga class offered 6 days a week and their water aerobics class is top notch too. There is always something to do at night- events on the beach or ball room make evenings fun for everyone.
This is our 4th year in a row coming and this year even more family members came. I really can't say enough good things about this place!

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty much the same but we think the higher floor rooms are the best. Never stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Staying in a 4 BR condo in the last stack near the beach. The most amazing view of pools, beach, and mountains. The waves were breaking great yesterday so body surfing was awesome.
Beautiful resort with lots to do. Played at El Tigre golf course. The course layout was challenging, the greens rolled ok but were bumpy. If you enjoy golf, it was worth the cost. They have a special price after 1:30pm

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank rudy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Great place for the family! We stayed for a week and we had a great time. Very friendly staff and full of energy. Each night something special was planned for either a dinner on the beach, magic show, or other event. The activities available to kids is impressive. There is an Adventure Club, tennis lessons, air soft gun battles and so much more.

This was our first time visiting and we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doreen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Dreams Puerto Vallarta Dec. 7th to Dec.14th. We had a great time, and rate Dreams as an excellent resort to stay in.
At the top of our list is the staff and service. Staff was cheerful, courteous, hard-working, and although busy took time to chat about the resort, Mexico or their personal lives. It was obvious to us that they cared about the resort, and it was important to them that we enjoyed our stay.
Service was first rate, whether it was service at the restaurants, pool side, or on the beach. We had a small problem with the lock on our balcony door; my wife reported it to the desk on the way to the beach, and by the time we returned to our room, two hours later, it had been repaired.
The resort was very clean; workers were continually sweeping, wiping and picking up items. The housekeeper cleaned our room well; the room always felt clean and fresh when we returned to it. The room itself was comfortable, and had a balcony overlooking the ocean. Dreams has a secluded and extensive beach about half a km. long. The sandy beach is close to the rooms, no longer than 100 m. away. There are 3 pools, one was for adults only.
Activities were many and varied. I used the gym each day, and my wife and I had tennis lessons with 2 or 3 other people each day. It was like having our own private lessons with the tennis pro named Octavio. The lessons were included in the package.
Though we didn't have family with us, Dreams was quite family friendly. There were numerous families with toddlers and older children. Dreams offered an Explorer Program for the children; the children were busy participating in various activities during the day. Talking to parents, they stated that their kids loved the program and were eager to go each day.
Finally, the food was the best we've had at an all-inclusive resort. The menu was extensive, varied and delicious. Food was fresh, and bread is made at the on-site bakery. There are four a la carte restaurants at Dreams, and a buffet stye restaurant called the World Cafe. If I stayed any longer than a week, I'm sure I would do irreparable damage to my waistline. Also, the drinks were great, even though I'm not much of a drinker.
All in all, we had a wonderful time at Dreams and would visit there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaySmyth955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.4 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
776 reviews
4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
566 reviews
5.6 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,347 reviews
5.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#6 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Address: Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $248 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this natural, open-air paradise, you'll see shades of blue you never imagined, stretching from the brilliant mosaics of the infinity pools to the spectacular views of the azure ocean. Authentic Mexican cuisine, swim-up suites and a beautiful, intimate setting that seems to grow more perfect every moment, we have it all. All bestowed with our genuine Service from the HeartTM . That's the difference at Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta. That's the Evolution of All-Inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Resort Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort Spa
Dreams Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Dreams Puerta Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Dreams Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing