We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Wait to Go Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #13 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Go Back”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We travelled to Dreams for a family wedding; the wedding was beautiful; a ceremony on the beach followed by a five course dinner served on white clothed tables set on the beach with the sunset in the background. The service was polished and professional. The resort as a whole is well run with amazing staff; always smiling, friendly, and outgoing. The food in the a la carte restaurants is well prepared from a varied menu with gracious, friendly service. Did not have a bad meal in the week we were there. I highly recomend the molten cheese appetizer in El Patio, anything at Portofino, the fish or seafood at Oceana and Seaside Grill, and the desserts everywhere, my husband was quite impressed by the steaks. A family member had a birthday during our stay and we spoke to the concierge who arranged for the room to be decorated and a plate of desserts to be delivered, there was no extra charge. Due to the geography of the resort wrist bands are not needed. We did not attend the presentation and found the staff to not be pushy regarding it. There is a constant list of available activities if you are interested or 3 pools to relax at in addition to the beach which is raked each morning. We fell asleep everynight listening to the waves on the beach. The beds are amazingly comfortable. There are shows every night to attend and a trip into town for nightclubs for those who are interested in a more lively evening. The resort does cater to weddings as there were 2 or 3 each day while we were there, but the outside activities are over by 10 or so. This resort is a true all inclusive, the only items which there is a charge for are lobster, bottled wine, spa treatment and motorized water sports. The mini bar and all other activities are no cost. The only down side was having to return to a Canadian winter and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, leave the sliding door open to listen to the waves break on the beach, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,852
    1,740
    426
    172
    118
See reviews for
2,087
3,322
94
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We paid top dollar to stay at a preferred 5 star resort and were shocked to see the condition of this place. It is old and terrible. Sure, the 1 new tower may be nice, but thats just the room (and you can't get those unless you pay extra and/or sit through their timeshare seminar), the rest of the resort is terrible as well. After the first night we made a switch to the Secrets Resort (which is a sister resort, by the way) and paid the extra $50/night. Worth EVERY PENNY! That is a 5 star resort. I highly recommend giving this one a pass.
The only positive I have is that the staff were very nice and did what they could to keep us there. Once they knew we were leaving, they were very kind and helpful.
Our Sunwing rep, ALDO, was awesome! That guy deserves a raise! Thanks Aldo!

Room Tip: If you don't get a room in the new tower, skip it altogether. Or just go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank mbertling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamspv, Quality Control at Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa receive our most sincere apologies for not fulfilling your expectations. I am disappointed to know that your visit here was not as enjoyable and that we did not meet your expectations. However it pleases me very much to know that our sister resort met your expectation and that you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay.

Once again, we are truly sorry for not fulfilling your expectations.

It is a pleasure!

Esmeralda Alcalá
Quality Control
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We renewed our Wedding Vows for our 10th Anniversary on Nov 4th, 2013 at the Dreams resort. We stayed from Oct 31-Nov 8,2013. ALL the Staff were amazing. I did not meet one staff member who wasn't smiling, happy to be there and assist us anyway they could. The beach wasn't crowed as it was early November but the weather was beautiful even the one day it rained, we danced in the warm rain shower. We got SO spoiled by everyone there from Eduardo who checked us in, to Eleana who was our wedding planning angel, to waiter Daniel and I can't remember his name but the our waiter at Oceana who laughed so hard at my son's 'Fish don't have fingers!' comment' as well as the wonderful bartenders of the swim up pool! I will be busy shoveling snow to work off all the delicious food we ate at the 5 different restaurants. Oceana restaurant has the best Shrimp I have ever had! Our sons loved the Kids Explorer club (so did we because of the free babysitting) and releasing baby sea turtles was such a unique and memorable experiences for them that they couldn't wait to tell all their little friends about. We are already planning on returning next year and we wouldn't 'Dream' of staying anywhere but at this Dreams Resort. Also our retired in laws who joined us, have never travelled outside of Canada and USA because they are total homebodies, they want to return to Dreams and refuse to stay anywhere else. WestJet also exceeded our expectations by having a rep on site to book all our Vallarta adventures excursions.

Room Tip: Preferred Club Suite facing the Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEL-DAWN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We just came back from a family trip to Dreams in PV. The food was 5 star. The service was 5 star. Nothing but fun in the sun. My wife and I have a timeshare at Garza Blanca but will happily return to dreams on our off time.

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor where our family members could hang out on the groomed patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suretest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was our second visit at a Dreams resort (first in Cancun) and Puerto Vallarta was exceptional. I booked our 5-night stay through the hotel website and got a great deal with airfare and airport transfer included. 



Highlights include (in no particular order): the layout of the property, daily itineraries and Spa Pevonia deals, having a room on the 10th floor (#2020) with the most spectacular view, the special dessert delivered to our room on our last night there, the melted cheese in a hot stone rock appetizer at El Patio, watching football on the big screen on the beach, eating al fresco, getting knocked over by the waves, taking a taxi to downtown PV (50 pesos) and walking along the shore front, eating at Viejo Vallarta authentic Mexican restaurant and my husband parasailing for the first time.

Tip: It's wise to have Mexican pesos if you visit downtown PV. There are ATM machines that will give you pesos (for a fee).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug7733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was our first vacation at Dreams in Puerto Vallarta. The location is quiet and beautiful, the beach is perfect, the hotel building is fantastic! As to the services, we were surprised with friendly and very professional staff. From the first minute of our arrival we were surrounded with nice people who have been ready to make from our vacation the real holiday! There are 5 restaurants with various type of food - always fresh and tasty.
We would like to specially thank the Front Desk Manager Felix Briseno who provided outstanding customer service!
We will recommend this place to our friends and are planning to come back ourselves.

Room Tip: We liked very much our beautiful room with Jacuzzi at the preferred building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Dreams Puerto Vallarta Nov 2 - 9, 2013. We had a dream of a trip!
We had reserved a Preferred Club Junior Suite with Jacuzzi. Preferred Club check-in was quick and easy, thanks to Valeria at the preferred club desk. We had snacks and a drink in the lounge while our bags were taken to the room, after a long trip to PV from Indiana. We enjoyed the preferred club amenities a lot and felt it was worth the upgrade.
We enjoyed the resort immensely! The private beach had a wonderful view, including being able to see Los Arcos from beach. We went parasailing one day right from the resort's beach - amazing!! Orlando and Salazar at the pool bar kept us filled up with drinks. Abel and Oscar with the Entertainment Team kept us informed of activities and lots of fun! We played games at the pool, did a tequila tasting, took massage lessons, as well as just relaxing and having drinks at the swim up bar. Monica from Vallarta Adventures gave us scuba lessons in the pool - fun experience!
Bethy and Lucy, the concierges, were so helpful to us. Bethy checked in with us frequently to see how we were enjoying the stay, and made sure the little "extras" to make our trip even better were done. Lucy was so helpful the night my boyfriend's insulin pump stopped working - she got insulin syringes delivered to the hotel within 30 minutes for us! We couldn't get that kind of service in the USA!
We did the private dinner on the beach one night... Amazing food and experience! They even gave us a special romantic turndown service that night. The food at Portofino (Italian restaurant) was fabulous, and the wine list for the resort is very good. My boyfriend sells wine for a distributor and was impressed with the wine list and the prices.
Everyone on the resort was happy to be there, and it seems many of the employees have worked there for years. I always consider that to be a sign of a good company when they have high staff retention rates! Plus, many people we talked to on the resort were there for return stays - often, the people have been coming there for years - that also says a lot about the resort when people come back so frequently.
Town was a $5 taxi ride from the resort. We went in to town twice, to walk the Malecon, and explore town. We felt very safe and welcomed.
This was my first trip to Puerto Vallarta, but I have stayed at other Dreams, Now, and Secrets resorts. I will continue to vacation with this company!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.4 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
3.5 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,739 reviews
5.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Property: Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Address: Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this natural, open-air paradise, you'll see shades of blue you never imagined, stretching from the brilliant mosaics of the infinity pools to the spectacular views of the azure ocean. Authentic Mexican cuisine, swim-up suites and a beautiful, intimate setting that seems to grow more perfect every moment, we have it all. All bestowed with our genuine Service from the HeartTM . That's the difference at Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta. That's the Evolution of All-Inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Resort Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort Spa
Dreams Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Dreams Puerta Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Dreams Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing