We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #10 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

From beginning to end, everyone at this property did an outstanding job of making our stay enjoyable and worry free. The grounds are lush and well-maintained; most areas are accessible without having to use stairs. Our room, in Tower 1 on the 20th floor (really 10th), was comfortable and clean. The only complaint I would have of the room is some more comfortable seating other than on the bed would be nice. The one "easy" chair was not very comfortable and since the rain kept us indoors several days, it would have been nice to have a couple of good, comfortable chairs in our room. The view from our room was fabulous; the floors below 17 or 16 in this building are probably not as good as there is lots of dense shrubbery and trees.

There are 2 reasons for 4 stars instead of 5. First, while this is not a "time-share" property per se, they do try to sell vacation memberships. We didn't even make it to our room right after arrival w/o having to stop for a "chat" with the appointment maker, who was very persistent until we finally gave in and let him set us up for the spiel. It wasn't as bad as others we've been roped into, and I did end up with $250 spa credits, but it was irritating that they just wouldn't seem to take "not interested" as an answer.

Second, the restaurant schedule was not as accommodating as we would have liked. The food overall was very good with the Grill being our favorite, followed closely by El Patio. Oceana was disappointing, the food was fair but the service was poor compared to the other locations - especially the second time we ate there. Which brings me to the schedule. Each day, several of the restaurants were dark. I understand it was low season while we were there, and I understand the need to make the best use of resources, but some nights, the selection for a dinner venue was very limited.

Even those two criticisms wouldn't keep us from returning to this resort, and I would have definitely stayed longer if possible.

Room Tip: In Tower 1, floors above 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YellowRose73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,101
    1,506
    368
    159
    108
See reviews for
1,722
2,850
75
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I were in PV for another trip and shortly before arriving to PV we extended our trip by adding a couple of nights at Dreams where we had first stayed in January 2013. This is by far our favourite all inclusive resort for a few reasons: the private beach; the gorgeous oceanfront views from every room; the fantastic meals that are good by any standard (not just all inclusive meal standards); the wonderful staff and service; the fun activities; the a la carte breakfast (in addition to the a la carte dinners and lunches).

Some of the things that we like about this resort (as well as about other AM resorts we have stayed at) include: the 24 hour room service; the mini bar that they restock each day; the twice a day room cleaning/turn down service; the excellent customer service; the waiters who bring you drinks by the pool/beach; the wonderful entertainment staff and great variety of activities; the a la carte meals etc. These are all included in their most standard rooms. We know from experience, that some other resorts (e.g. Sandals) charge extra for some of these services).

One highlight of this trip was the tennis clinic with Octavio--he was fantastic and fun! Another highlight was on our last day around lunch time, about 30 staff started streaming out of the buffet restaurant with trays of finger food/desserts and started serving people on the beach and by the pool. They even jumped into the pool fully dressed and started serving people treats there!

From our perspective, the only limitation of this resort is the fact that some of the premises are starting to date a little bit and need a bit of an upgrade. I'd recommend the preferred tower for a more recently renovated room. That being said, the standard tower has spectacular ocean front rooms and is very clean.

Room Tip: All rooms have spectacular views of the ocean--although higher up rooms have more spectacular views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank opalkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bragg Creek, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We just returned last night and felt we must share what a great time we had! we have been to PV/NV many times and stayed in some fancy places. I wouldn't say this was fancy but ooh so much fun. The hotel itself was nice, the food at the restaurants was really good for an all inclusive (particularly Portifino) but the staff made this the best vacation ever! The Entertainment staff were friendly, accommodating and most of all FUN! There were tons of activities offered, never a shortage of things to do and best of all, no pressure. No matter your skill level we were always welcome to participate, or not. I suggest play as much as you can it just adds to the fun. special thanks to Christian and Freddy for adding to our fun.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Preferred Tower because I needed a balcony. some rooms only have french balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I never review anything, but Dreams PV gave us the best holiday we've ever been on so I decided I should jump on and share our experience.
My partner and I (and our friends) stayed from 1st - 11th October, and the weather was hot hot hot! It only rained a few times, and even when it did it was only brief, or during the night. It never really impacted our activities at all. The resort itself is so beautiful - private beach with loungers everywhere, 3 different pools, a myriad of bars and restaurants, and the most helpful and wonderful staff I've ever seen.
We stayed in the Preferred Tower and our friends stayed in the Main Tower, so we ended up seeing both sides - ultimately they are both nice but if you can afford the luxury, the Preferred Tower is awesome to experience - especially the ham sandwiches and mini desserts in the lounge area downstairs!! The room itself was beautiful, we had a jacuzzi suite on the 17th floor and the view was stunning.
The food was delicious - we especially liked Oceana and El Patio. I loved having drinks on the beach or in the pool, and in the lobby bar while the sun was setting.
We loved the fact that there were so many things to do if you wanted to, or if you didn't - beach or pool to lounge by all day. Shout out to Victor and Raul at the beach bar, Freddie and the entertainment crew (my boyfriend was enamoured with the Crazy Game) and all the other wonderful staff who made our holiday.
We are already planning our vacation there next year!!

Room Tip: Preferred suites are awesome and worth it if you can afford it, but the Main Tower is still nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa is a really unique place to vacation. Without a doubt it has the very best "private" beach in Vallarta! The resort is set up perfectly with the palapas, palafitos, swimming pools and the fabulous Bay of Bandaras situated so as to make your "day at the beach" an activity you do not want to leave. The Oceana Restaurant, World Cafe and Seaside Grill are all just a few steps off the beach and the fresh food served is readily available and delicious. Beach service for drinks and guacamole & chips etc. is constant and prompt. Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa just launched a marvelous new "beach club concept" for during the day and an elegant and sumptuous Romantic Dinner offering at night. Be sure to reserve and take advantage of both. This resort has a great "history" in Vallarta, and it is both very comforting and welcoming to its guests. It is a genuine treat to be there, no matter when time of the year you go.....this destination is truly delightful, and the proof is that for so many years guests keep returning and are loyal because the brand is so special! It's not brand new and "glitzy", however it pulls you back because it really has that special thing you could call a "soul", for lack of a better way to describe it. Try it, and you'll really be hooked......and hopefully be lucky enough to keep returning, as we do......usually twice a year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margebro55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Service was very friendly, the place was clean and well kept and the Seaside Grill restaurant was fabulous. And then the champagne service every day at sunset in the hit tub was great fun and a good way to meet other fun people. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fly-Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinaw
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at Dreams from 10/4 thru 10/12 and it was a awesome vacation! We have been traveling to Mexico for the last 15 yrs (always on the Caribbean side) and this was our first time in Puerto Vallarta and at a Dreams resort. We had a balcony room in the old tower and it was wonderful! The maid service was top notch and we never had to ask for anything as they never missed a thing. The food was superb and the service was also excellent. But, what topped everything was the service from the entire staff! Christain from the entertainment team took special care to make sure everyday that we were happy and that all expectations were being met. He also made sure that 2 birthdays from our group was recognized by the resort and was surprised to have banners on our room doors and balloons inside. Thanks Christain! All the bartenders could make any drink that you ever wanted and always did with a smile! You never had to look for the wait staff on the beach as they were always around to serve you. If you are looking for a great spot on the bay with a wonderful beach and staff, Dreams PV is the resort for you. Like others, my only complaint is that I had to leave.........but I will return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.3 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#9 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,621 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#7 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,680 reviews
3.5 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#13 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
3.5 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#15 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,244 reviews
5.5 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Property: Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Address: Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this natural, open-air paradise, you'll see shades of blue you never imagined, stretching from the brilliant mosaics of the infinity pools to the spectacular views of the azure ocean. Authentic Mexican cuisine, swim-up suites and a beautiful, intimate setting that seems to grow more perfect every moment, we have it all. All bestowed with our genuine Service from the HeartTM . That's the difference at Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta. That's the Evolution of All-Inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Resort Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort Spa
Dreams Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Dreams Puerta Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Dreams Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing