We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome get away!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #14 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We looked at many resorts and reviews and chose the Dreams resort all inclusive. We were very happy with our pick. The staff and resort were awesome. Always something to do and someone ready to help you make a plan for an outing. Always fun to learn about the area and culture but reallly loved the quiet seclusion of this beautiful resort. Food was always good with many choices every day. Our room was overlooking the ocean with a jacuzzi on the balcony. The room was clean and set up well,very comfortable and clean and we enjoyed
the door open to balcony at night with the sound of the ocean which was very relaxing. The staff treats the guests as royalty calls you by name and always greet you with a smile. One of the most amazing trips we have taken. The activities were very well planned and fun, the special parties had amazing food and entertainment. Will definitely go back and travel to more Dreams locations!

Room Tip: More privacy in upper level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,102 - 4,108 of 8,169 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

My trip to Puerto Vallarta was just the best trip ever. You want to know what made it that much better? Dreams Beach side Resort. All inclusive and not very pricy. With the 5 restaurants on (or by) the beach it was just so worth it. It was just a great experience, especially with the service. Many of the workers were very polite and never slacked off. They were very into the activities that we had done. I made a lot of friends also. The beach was beautiful and the water was perfect. The waves were very enjoyable when we were body boarding (besides the rashes from the sand) and the trampoline was very fun. It was probably the best trip i ever went on and i am looking forward to going back

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sean I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you compare Dreams to a luxury hotel or restaurant anywhere in the wold, it won't win. BUT if you conisder the value, location, and convenience, it's terrific.

Service: very willing but particularly the restaurants are understaffed (esp. the Mexican restaurtant on the night we were there).

Food: adequate.esp. again considering the price. But if these places were self-standing restaurants you'd say ok, nice but you wouldn't write home to mother.

Drinks: truly unlimited but expect juices not fruits, small glasses, and in general less than premium brands.

Rooms (based on our stay in the "old" tower): it really isn't very old at all our room was large and very nicely decorated. We were first assigned to the 2nd floor, then to the 4th, and finally after much complaining, what do you know, there was a room with a view and balcony on 19 or 20 that was available...all this despite having asked for a room with a balcony and view. Make sure you clarify BOTH these points before you agree to a room. They will use all kinds of euphemisms to pawn off the lower floor no balcony rooms on you. Note that views on the lower floors are often blocked by trees.

Also, you are asked to fill out a long form at a second registration desk with info such as your birthdate, children's ages, and more. I could care less about the privacy issues, but they only want this to sell you a timeshare...so pass on the form filling and special desk if you can.

Beach: nice.

Cleanliness: excellent

Room Tip: Be sure you get a high floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HowardB118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We are huge fans of the Barcelo Colonial on the Riviera Mayan and until now we did not think we could find a place that could match the food, cleanliness and comfort. Well, I am please to say this place was amazing! The food was always top rate with excellent portion size. What we really liked was that you did not have to make a reservation to go to the ala carte restaurants. You just showed up and if they were full, they would give you a small disk with lights that would tell you when your table was ready. There was always a small bar just a few steps away from the restaurants. Our favourite was "Portofino" (Italian) and we ate there 3 times over the 2 weeks. They also had Oceana, Sea Side Grill, the Patio and the World Cafe.
The rooms were excellent. We stayed on both sides and they were both excellent. The reason we stayed on both sides was we had an opportunity to stay on both sides and we took it. Staff we very helpful and always said "Hola".
The beach was a nice size and being that it was somewhat isolated, there was less beach vendors than other places we have been.The sand is finer and not as coarse as Huatulco and makes it easier on the feet. Kayaking was excellent, especially when we took the Hotel Entertainment Team Kayak tour. We only saw a Hobi Cat on the day we were leaving, so that would have been nice to do prior to leaving. Always lots to do, all the Hot tubs were excellent, 2 out of 3 pools were cooler than the main pool, but they were nice on the hot days.
The evening shows were good, although some of the beach evenings shows were a little cool with the ocean breeze.
There is the Time share people, but if you don't want to hear it.....just say no thanks. They are not allowed to approach you a 2nd time (so we were told and experienced).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lovely resort! Small and quaint. Best for couples I think. Service is very good, food was good but not great, didn't have to wear wristbands which was nice!!! Our room was spacious overlooking the ocean! It was nice to hear the ocean every morning and night. But... I would still rather stay at theBuenuventura downtown!

Room Tip: Rooms all face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank moem_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We chose Puerto Vallarta for this year's holiday on the recommendation of our son and his wife who has been there many times. We picked Dreams as a place to stay on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews.
We were not disappointed in either of our choices. Puerto Vallarta is a great destination if you want more than a sunny beach, and Dreams provides a great all-inclusive experience.
The main positives were the secluded, yet close to town, setting, our rooms, and the excellent food. We had originally booked a room with balcony in the older tower, but upgraded to the Preferred Tower on arrival (by using our package credits, it cost us a bit less than if we had chosen it originally). We were on the second floor and didn't have a jacuzzi, but the room and balcony were very large. It was a very nice place to be, and the view (including whales and dolphins in the bay) was excellent. We ate at all the restaurants and thought Portofino and the Seaside Grill were the best for dinner. The buffet style World Cafe became our favourite for breakfast and lunch because of the wide selection of food and the opportunity to choose exactly what you wanted.
The negatives we experienced were a very spotty wifi (that they say they are in the process of upgrading) and a lax enforcement of the stated non-smoking rules. In addition, our room was very close to the adult pool, which was occupied by loud, well-lubricated guests a couple of late evenings.
As other reviewers have said, the staff are all very friendly and helpful and, although there were time-share VIP desks in evidence, there was very little pressure. Perhaps the strongest recommendation for the resort was the number of people we met who had been coming back regularly for years. One such couple told us they liked both the older and the preferred towers, so we are not quite sure our upgrade was worth the money.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the Preferred Tower, try to get on a higher floor or in a higher numbered room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kingston_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

First off, we stayed at a resort in the Mayan, in the premium villas for our honeymoon and thought that place was great... until we went here. This place is seriously amazing, I'm not even sure where to start. Firstly, I always have said never go to the same place twice as there are so many places to go... but we are all ready planning our vacation back here next summer. This may be a long review..

What we Loved:

The location: Puerto Vallarta has been rumoured to be not as safe as other places in mexico, and well, that is simply untrue. We absalutely LOVE puerto vallarta. Since this resort doesn't have wrist bands and there are alot of snow birds down there, the locals couldn't tell if you lived there or not so they didn't harass you as much. We went into town 2 nights for dinner and it was awesome. Only a $5 cab ride made it very accomodating to get back and forth.

The Food: Seroiusly, the best food that we've had at an all inclusive... keeping i mind that you're in mexico. So the steak won't taste like AAA alberta beer... but the Seafood is to DIE for. So fresh. I had mahi mahi pretty much every night cooked all different ways at the different a la carte restaurants. We also loved that there are no reservations at the restaurants, and only a dress code at portofino. We also loved all the different options for breakfast and lunch. One a la carte is open so you can sit down for a meal (breakfast at oceana and lunch at seaside are great), but you can also eat at the buffet, the snack bar, room service (which is included), and you can even take a plate from the buffet TO GO! you can eat your buffet meal right on your lounger.

The Beach: We loved the ocean and the beach. The waves are big which makes the ocean so much fun to boogy board in and play in. The beach was beautiful, and it is very easy to get loungers and palapadas by the beach. Butler service on the beach was awesome.

The pools: Granted there are only 3 pools (one of which no one uses), they are just enough. We didn't hang out by the pool much as it was more of the party place with music playing all day. Games at 3 pm every day tended to be fun. The Infinity pool at sunset it amazing.

Activities: Kayaking, Yoga, boogy boarding, snorkel gear, beach volleyball. We didn't go on any excursions as there was so much to do just at the resort. The best was running on the beach in the morning, every morning there would be a bunch of us our there while it was cool and the beach was shaded by the mountains. As hikers we thought the jungle trek was weak but I can see why most people would enjoy it.

Employees: They were amazing. The entertainment crew were personable and got to know you if you participated in stuff. As soon as you arrive you someone brings a glass of champagne right to your taxi.

Small resort: We loved this. You met people who you would see throughout the whole week.

The Not so great:
Nightly entertainment: it was fairly week and kid friendly. But Puerto Vallarta is only a 5 dollar cab ride away if you want action. They also go into town from the resort every night at 10 pm for 35 bucks a person which includes all your alcohol. Also, the hypnotist show was a blast.
Gym: super super hot. no windows so it doesn't cool off in the mornings, and no air conditioning.

Bottom line. Go here. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: We thought the "Old" dreams tower was fine. But we met some people staying in the preferre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank calgaryknowit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
847 reviews
2.4 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
1,998 reviews
4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
602 reviews
5.6 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#10 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
3,452 reviews
5.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
3,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Address: Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $266 - $756 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this natural, open-air paradise, you'll see shades of blue you never imagined, stretching from the brilliant mosaics of the infinity pools to the spectacular views of the azure ocean. Authentic Mexican cuisine, swim-up suites and a beautiful, intimate setting that seems to grow more perfect every moment, we have it all. All bestowed with our genuine Service from the HeartTM . That's the difference at Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta. That's the Evolution of All-Inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Resort Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort Spa
Dreams Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Dreams Puerta Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Dreams Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing