We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently wonderful :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #13 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We went back to Dreams for our 4th visit this year, just a week. Upgraded to the newer tower, and when the shower door broke, got moved up to the 6th floor with jacuzzi on the balcony. View was fantastic up there, and we enjoyed checking the computer or getting a drink of fruit water in the lobby. Suggestion: upgrade once there and negotiate the price... we only spent far less than we would have booking it on-line prior to going.
Love the Seaside Grill restaurant and ate almost every meal there except for breakfast at the buffet, which was fine. Coffee is wonderful there as usual. They even had Canucks hockey on a screen on the beach, although we had to really complain to get them to turn it back on after the East Coast game was over.
Gardens were fantastic as usual, and I really enjoyed the private garden tour which explained the local flora and fauna. Pool exercises were fun, although the upper pool by the old tower (best for actually swimming) had lots of leaves and such in it. The whole place is looking a bit tired and dated, and the coffee in the coffee shop and drinks at the pool bar were very inconsistent, but overall we love Dreams and will probably go back again! oh yes, and all the premium liquors (Don Julio, etc) were no longer available this year, and no cookies on the front counter... little things you'd never miss if you hadn't been able to get them previous years...

Room Tip: New tower has larger, more comfortable rooms with a full balcony and better views, and computers and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sashaspal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,967)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,927 - 3,933 of 7,967 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent 7 days here in February. It was our first time in Mexico and AI. We loved this resort.
We liked that it was not huge. Easy to get to your room quickly from anywhere on the resort. We stayed in the Dreams tower and although the rooms are basic, the bed was very comfortable and housekeeping kept everything very clean. Turndown service was a very nice touch. We felt these rooms were a good value. Food was always great. Staff very friendly and helpful and very good service by all. Beach was nice. Always a lounger and palapa available but to get a seat at the main pool or adult pool you had to get there early. We like a quiet atmosphere and found just enough activities and programs. We are looking forward to going here again in the future. Definitely a wonderful place to relax.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Julestogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I took my two daughters to PV in February for a one week vacation. We have never stayed at an all-inclusive and we definitely enjoyed our stay at Dreams. The grounds were clean, as were the facilities. The staff at check-in were very helpful and Bethy at concierge was amazing. She always had a smile on her face and got to know us by name. Although it was winter in Mexico, Canadians enjoy an ice cream on warm days, which it was while we were there, and we had a difficult time finding ice cream at the various restaurants on site. Bethy actually made inquiries and ice cream was readily available for the duration of our week!

My daughters (18 & 15 yrs old) participated in many of the entertainment activities including games, fruit carving, massage techniques, margarita making rock climbing and beach volleyball to name a few. The entertainment staff was wonderful in making them feel comfortable and welcome. A big thank you to Tony, Lalo and Oscar for making the trip memorable for all of us with their bright personalities and big smiles.

The food at all the restaurants was amazing! World Cafe, is a buffet and serves a variety of food suitable to all ages; Seaside Grill is a great option for a meal and offers western themed food suitable for all ages; Oceana is best suited to teenagers and adults. El Patio serves wonderful meals in a more upscale environment for evening dining and Portofino...well, what a fabulous restaurant! The fare here was phenomenal to say the least and all adults should take the opportunity to eat here at least once. No complaints regarding the food at Dreams.

One upgrade that could be made is slightly softer mattresses. We all found that by the fourth night our sleep was questionable as the mattresses were too firm.

The price for a one-way cab ride to Vallarta Adventures in Nuevo is $30 USD. Vallarta Adventures is where many people book swimming with dolphins, sea lions, etc. so can be expensive as this is a $60 per day added expense.

Something you should consider if staying at PV Dreams is security of your belongings. The safe in our room was not large enough to accommodate 2 laptop computers, digital camera, wallets, passports, some small jewellery and 2 Western Digital backup drives so I had to leave my 2 Western Digital backup drives in my backpack. Upon my return home I was shocked to find my 2 backup drives were missing. The only people in our room during our stay was Rita from housekeeping, Rita's replacement when Rita was on her day off and the staff who replaced items in our fridge. I'm sad to say that whoever stole these actually had to go through my belongings to find them and it has definitely placed a scar on my memories at Dreams. Not only did they steal the backup drives, but my personal information contained on them which included pictures of my family over the years which I no longer had room for on my computer which are now gone forever.

I would recommend Dreams PV based on our overall experience and the people who did not have access to our room. My suggestion would be to lock your suitcases, etc. when not in your room to ensure staff that have access to your belongings do not violate your privacy and help themselves to your belongings, whatever they are.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
11  Thank Valunteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was our 8th time in PV. This hotel has the best service we have ever encountered. Staff goes out of their way to make sure you are happy and satisfied with your stay. Upon out arrival at our hotel at noon, we had to wait until 2pm for check in. This was a minor inconvenience, but we had asked for a higher floor and they wanted to grant this request for us. They did so by putting us on the 10th floor. The room was perfect, we had no complaints. I would find it hard to pay extra for the preferred room as ours was great. We got a call in the morning asking us what time we would like our room cleaned and turned down at which was appreciated. We loved the Oceana restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Also, the Seaside Grill for lunch and dinner. Nikolas was great at the Seaside Grill. We loved not having to eat at a buffet and always having a restaurant as an option. The pool server Ramon was fabulous, very speedy with the drinks. We would have preferred a greater selection of premium alcohol, and were surprised by the lack of. We have stayed at cheaper hotels which offered a much better selection of top shelf alcohol. The coffee shop has great coffee , desserts and fresh pastries. The entertainment staff was fun and energetic, and played a lot of beach volleyball which was right up our alley. Our favorites were Izy, Oscar and Lalo. The hypnotist show was very good and worth seeing. Downtown in only a 5 minute drive away which allows for easy access to downtown entertainment. The ocean is beautiful, we were lucky enough to see dolphins and whales during our stay. We were surprised by the amount of kids at this resort, this was the only downfall for us. Loved this hotel and hope to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janique&Colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

let me just start by saying if you have small kids this is the place! the hotel is located in a very good location, very private, south of the airport about 20 min by car, if you know Puerto Vallarta downtown is the half way point. hotel have a private beach, so no annoying vendors! back of the hotel is pure nature and all the rooms have ocean view, some with balcony, some don’t. only two towers (north and south) one for families and the other adults only. hotel was clean, great fun around the clock, every night was something different ( shows, music, food, tastings, theater, etc.) hotel have many pools, including one for kids and one for adults only. food was very good, much to choose from, restaurants on the property are very good, but if you want to check something local a cab to downtown is less than U$10.00 there. now for the families let me tell you this is the best part, they have full service daycare for kids up to 12 or so, if you want to take a break they take the kids from early morning all the way to sunset if you want. this is a really good place to stay if you are a couple or a family, there is something for everyone anytime anywhere. the spa service was also great, prices were not different from any place in US. the staff was very nice, just the service around the pool could be just a little better (faster). we took the family more than 5 times to Puerto Vallarta and this is the hotel we will always go back to from now on.

Room Tip: rooms have it all, fridge, tv, cd player and more. all rooms have ocean view, close to downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Schapo_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is an excellent resort. My wife and I stayed for a week and have already decided we will be back to this resort again. A week just didn't seem like enough time.

Unique resort features
Since there is only one gate to get into the resort once your in you don't need to wear any resort bracelet which was a nice change. Also there are no towel cards so you can grab a few towels and just toss them in the bin when done.

Location
Couldn't ask for a better beach. The beach is massive and private so only people from your resort are there. You'll still get some beach vendors that get let in but they were all quite nice. You are also a quick 4 dollar cab right away from the main plaza downtown and very quick to get in.

Food and Dining
The food here is excellent, I would say probably the best of the resorts I've been to so far. You can eat in any of the restaurants as much as you want with no reservations needed. The food was all very good. Once thing that impressed us was while doing a dinner at the Mexican restaurant we mentioned that dairy doesn't agree with us. They modified all the meals for us. The more impressive fact was the next day at the Sea side grill the waiter gave us dairy free options without us asking apparently they made a note of it on our account and the waiter confirmed everything with the cook to make sure it worked for us. My wife and I were both very impressed by that.

Rooms
The room had an amazing view. You can lay in bed and be looking out at the ocean. The only downside with the rooms is that most of them don't have patio's. They doors do open up and there is a railing but nothing you can walk out onto. The rooms were clean and the cleaning staff were there twice a day so you were never without anything. Also what I found the best feature is your so close to the water you will fall asleep listening to the waves crashing on the beach.

The Cons

There was very little wrong with the resort but will warn you of a few things. The main lounge bar at night usually only had one server so took a while to get drinks there. They could have used 2 or 3 working that area. Also the drinks were only average, nothing spectacular.

The Wi-Fi costs about 70 dollars for a week and only supports one device at a time. When in the rooms you only seem to get signal near the windows.

The only other warning is after check in they will want to book you for a dinner and try to get you to become part of their preferred section and offer you the usual gifts for sitting through a breakfast with them. We opted not to do this as I never find them worth it.

Room Tip: Get a room above the 4th floor if you can the views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryFun_and_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Hello fellow travelers and review readers,

My Wife and I traveled to Dreams PV on Jan 1 and stayed a week with friends of ours that were hosting their wedding there. From start to finish it was an extremely pleasant experience. If your interested in a Non-biased, detailed and accurate review, Please read further and try to get a true feeling of this hotel as a possible choice for your vacation. We are an average joe non pretentious married couple in our late 20's.


CHECK IN:

After getting through the security gate, we pulled up to a red carpet welcoming as our doors were opened and luggage was taken aside to be delivered to the room. we walked up 2 steps and were greeted with a glass of champagne and a cool towel, from there we were escorted to the front desk so we could check in. I must say that the staff were very friendly and welcoming upon our arrival all the way to our departure. While checking in the gentleman was making small talk with us while still rushing our details through to get the room. Upon giving us the room he asked if we wanted to look at the room first before settling in. This has been unheard of to me before, usually they give you a room and then wait for you to complain about it to move and its just a hassle. So this was nice! he assured us that all the rooms have an excellent view(which they do, there is no such thing as a room facing the garbage disposal or parking lot. they are All facing the ocean)
After checking out our room we confirmed it were on our way to our new home for the week.
Just after leaving the front desk, we were approached by a lady that wanted to explain their "coupon program" to us. But after reading reviews, and a long enough day spent on planes and airports, I said we just weren't interested at the time and might be later. She said ok, and told us where we could find her at the concierge desk anytime. No pushy sales tactics, nothing. Just a friendly smile and a pleasant farewell.


ROOM:

We stayed in a room on the ground floor, which we found to be quite nice. they charge extra for a small balcony vs a patio door that just opens up in the standard rooms, so being able to walk out to green grass and 2 lounging chairs and a table was a nice touch! The room itself was very nice, its not as modern as what you would find locally, but if this hotel tried to keep up with trends and technology every year, it would constantly be under construction.
The room had a king bed(which was one of the most comfortable Ive ever slept in) a couch/sofa, small desk with a chair, a small flat screen TV(with a lot of English channels) Mini fridge that was re-stocked every day, Large closet with an electronic safe and a ironing board.The room is a room. Nothing fancy, but not a waste bin either.


HOTEL GROUNDS:

The hotel grounds were spot on. all the grass, trees, and shrubs were as lush as can be. They have gardeners that work very hard keeping it that way. And sometimes if your paying attention at the right moment, you may see an Iguana in the bushes going eating some flowers. All the pathways around the hotel were easy to navigate, and well lit at night.


BEACH:

Truly astounding! This beach is private. So you almost feel like your on your own secluded island. They do have a couple vendors that walk the beach, but in no way are they as pushy as the ones that are in town. They mostly will walk by holding up whatever it is that they are selling, and if you like it, call them over. They don't come up and interrupt your conversations or R&R time once so ever. Other than that there is pairasailing that comes in mid afternoon every day so if your looking to do that, you don't have to leave the resort. Once every week they do a baby Sea turtle release at around 6pm for kids and other guests to take part in. All in all, the beach is fantastic, soft sand and groomed every day.


POOLS:

There are 3 pools at the hotel. all of them being medium to small in size. The main pool is attached to the swim up bar that has service like no other. Friendly staff that are fast to whip up the drink of your choice(ask for a Leaping Lizard, it was our favorite and the most delicious drink we have ever tasted) Out of the 3 pools, 1 is an Adult pool which is nice to get away from the noise of the main pool for a while. The main pool of course, and a secondary pool off to the side of the main pool which is not heated. There is also 1 Hot tub if you prefer that in a warm climate.


FOOD!!:

The food here is very good! depending on what your used to. If you eat at fine dining restaurants for every meal and have a personal chef at home, then this might not be the place for you. but speaking for the other 95% of us, I would recommend this place over a lot of other hotels that's for sure. This hotel has 4 a la carte restaurants and a buffet. during breakfast and lunch, 1 of the 4 is also open for a change from the buffet if you feel necessary. For us we ate at the buffet one time. the rest was spent in the Al la cartes because the food was great the first time we went so why not go back? The Restaurants range from Mexican, Italian, Seafood, and a surf and turf kind of place. The Italian was a favorite for many in our group because it was a nice romantic spot. Other than that, we never had nor heard 1 complaint about food while we were there.

HOTEL FACILITIES:

This hotel has a fitness center, spa, Library/coffee and bakery shop(everything is free), gift shop, and 3 Bars/lounges.
The Gym was an acceptable place to keep up with your routine, my wife and I are avid about fitness and we found the place to be do-able rather than not exercising at all(and no we aren't the new years crowd)

The spa was something we never took part in, but were told it was relaxing and nice.

The Coffee shop was nice, a little spot outside the gift shop where you can grab a book to read while your staying at the hotel. they work on the honor system so they don't take any collateral for borrowing a book, all they ask is if you decide on keeping a book to take home, that you replace it with one of your own for trade. The shop has Internet(for a fee) and some baked goods which are phenomenal!

Gift shop was like they all are. they have a lot of stuff for sale but they really rake you as far as price goes. For example a bottle of SPF 15 sunblock is marked as $25usd, something that would be marked as $5 in the local store. So all your really paying for is convenience. and your paying A LOT for it!

Bars/Lounges, There is 1 main lobby bar located....well in the lobby of course. As well as 1 small walk up bar on the end of each side of the hotel. Good for grabbing a drink on the go, or walk up from the beach. and 1 of the bars right beside the adult pool. The main lobby bar is however only open from 5pm to 1am. The others are open from 9am to 11pm. The main lobby bar has a HUGE selection of martinis if that's your thing, as well as any other drink you can dream up. They have snacks to munch on as well.


FINAL OPINION:

We would definitely come back to this place again if we could get a better deal on price, we had to stay here due to attending our friends wedding. However we did feel that its worth the price due to the service you receive from the staff, and all the amenities offered. However unless we got a deal on a package we would have to go somewhere else the next time we travel to PV.

Service staff was Phenomenal beyond belief. These people work their tails off all day and night to make everyone's stay a great experience and get a lot of cold shoulders while doing so. Especially the waiters. These guys are something else. If i had a restaurant I would try to import them. They were very professional and so friendly along with having a very thick skin for those "unpleasant travelers".

TIPPING: Now I realize this may be a soft spot for some people because they view "all inclusive" as gratuity included as well. Which in the fine print it says it is. But! this is one place where I would beg to differ. We will all go out for a nice dinner at home and leave a generous tip when we feel that the service and food rendered it so. So why not here? honestly Ive never seen such rude people before while siting down to eat. Some would complain about everything, demand the meal be made with substitutions for this and that, send it back if it wasn't the right temperature for their liking and then get up and run away after they were done and they saw the waiter walk in to the kitchen. It made me sick. If someone is doing a good job at meeting your needs and then going beyond that. I would say its good karma to say the least to show a bit of gratitude. What we did was we tipped 20Pesos(works out to be around $2) for every time we had breakfast and lunch at the al la cartes. Its $2 to us, something we could barely buy a coffee for locally, but it means the world to them. Especially after they bust their backs to make sure your meal and experience is better than you imagined it to be. I'm just saying its not everyone's cup of tea to tip, but when you feel this person did a great job serving you, whats 2 bucks really? Guaranteed its better service than you would receive locally, and the funny part is, you would pay that server more.


This resort in all was a great experience for us and I hope that the information I provided helps you sway your decision. Its one of those places where you really get the value of your dollar when going on a vacation.

I will say that I was not paid or given anything from this resort or resort chain to write this review, This is the honest opinion of my wife and I from our experience with this hotel. I am pleased to have stayed here, and will be watching the prices for a deal so I can come back again.

If you did find this review helpful in any way, Please click that little green box below that says YES!

Thanks for reading!

Room Tip: Every room has an excellent view, don't stress!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
95  Thank Stormin327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.4 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
777 reviews
4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
569 reviews
5.6 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,351 reviews
5.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#4 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Address: Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $251 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this natural, open-air paradise, you'll see shades of blue you never imagined, stretching from the brilliant mosaics of the infinity pools to the spectacular views of the azure ocean. Authentic Mexican cuisine, swim-up suites and a beautiful, intimate setting that seems to grow more perfect every moment, we have it all. All bestowed with our genuine Service from the HeartTM . That's the difference at Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta. That's the Evolution of All-Inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Resort Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort Spa
Dreams Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Dreams Puerta Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Dreams Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing