We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreams saved our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #13 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Traveling as a couple we had booked at Barcelo and after a quick check about a week before departure I looked at the reviews. Immediately we changed our reservation to Dreams. We were not disappointed.
Pros: when you get off the cab they are waiting for you with a cold towelettes and champagne.
Check in was fast and easy asked about "preferred" tower but decided not worth the upcharge per night This room was fine
Bed super comfortable cold drinks in the fridge
Tons of space on private beach
Ismail the server on the beach was awesome
Great selection of food.
Cons:
No reservation policy cost us one night at a restaurant but not that big of a deal
No nightlife but for us that was fine after 12 hours a day at the beach
Watch out for the quick pitch for resort coupons. If you are there for a short period of time no need to sit thru that.

This is a wonderful location for relaxation good food. People are very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tudor23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,965 - 3,971 of 7,970 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had encountered difficulties in the checking in process.
We contacted the hotel manager Sr. Felix in the morning to discuss the situation. Sr. Feilix immediately understood the gravity of our concerns and took immediate action to rectify the problem and compensate us appropriately. Thank you, Sr. Felix!

We have been fortunate to have had the opportunity to vacation at many All Inclusive Resorts over the past 25 years. Without question, Dreams is certainly up there. The staff is eager to please and their smiles are plentiful. The food quality was outstanding for an all inclusive resort.

There are NO wrist bands, NO line ups for ala carte restaurant reservations and NO beach towel tickets. YES YES YES!

The resort is an older facility but it is well maintained and the rooms are large and updated.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jackbr96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at " Dreams Resort & Spa" in Purta Vallarta, Mexico and absolutely loved it!
The beds & bedding were awesome for us "bed snobs" with even a selection of pillows to choose from. The onsite restaurants featured some of the best food we have ever tasted with a good variety but especially good seafood. The staff were exceptionally friendly, the resort was extremely clean, and the variety of entertainment meant we never had to leave the resort (we really never wanted to). We would highly reccommend this resort to our firends and family and plan on returning there again! You will not be dissappointed if you choose Dreams Resort for your vacation! Oh, forgot to say that the Spa was also fantastic!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I personally gave up on larger hotel all inclusives long ago due to various restrictions, poor quality, service, etc.but I must admit that this stay changed my mind. Dreams turned out to be a very well maintained and semi-luxurious location with wonderful service staff, fantastic and secluded beach and decent food from five restaurant/kitchens on premise. Our reservation incuded locating in the upgraded "preferred" tower where we found the room large and comfortable with expansive views of the ocean and beach. Even with the balcony doors closed the sounds of the crashing waves were soothing for sleep and we were able to see whales moving along the coast line in the morning. The support staff were fabulous and and we tried each of the various restaurants while there. Each dining experience is different and the staff work hard to make some very nice menu items, but honestly we found ourselves in the main "world cafe" for buffet most of the time. The food is good, some dishes prepared individualy and the services excellent. The easy access from all over the hotel to the beach areas, comfortable chairs, towels, multiple pool areas, made this a fun trip for our family. Our son Elan, 4 y/o, particularly enjoyed occasions to stay with the other children at the Explorers Club where the ladies entertained and engaged the kids in all kinds of beach and play activities. We practically had to drag him away at times (smile). There were lots of families there during our stay, activities for all most nights, very nice spa services.
Pros: Just what I was looking for in an all inclusive where I did not need to necessarily leave the resort for any reason at all.
Cons: Surprisingly this is a smoking hotel. To be fair, we only learned this after observing ashtrays in various locations and later we encountered people smoking here and there. Our rooms and facilities never smelled of smoke and the only time we encountered smokers was on the beach when we were unfortunately located behind someone and the wind was wrong. This is the only down side to this resort in my opinion. Its a big thing. I was surprised and quite honestly would have thought otherwise to booking. I'm glad we didn't though because it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pressonjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were originally booked for Barcelo, and after reading the reviews of everyone getting violently ill, we decided to go back to our first choice - Dreams Puerto Vallarta. We were NOT disappointed, and the upgrade was worth every penny. I've been home less than 24 hours and all I can think about is when I can go back to this wonderful property. We chose not to spring for the "preferred tower" and honestly, I can't see why we would have needed to. We were very happy in the "older" tower.

Pros:
Beach: private, few vendors who don't bug you much, not crowded, beautiful, secluded, tons of shade available.
Size: This resort is the smallest of any all-inclusive I've visited. It makes it easy to navigate the restaurants, the beach, the "scene" in general. You don't have to walk a mile to get to your room for something if need to grab something.
Rooms: Comfortable, clean, no frills, but everything you need. Updated and pleasant.
Beds: Probably the most comfortable bed I've slept on in a hotel.
Views from the rooms: Every room has a view - obviously the higher up in the building the better. Restaurants: The no reservation policy made for a very easy and convenient trip. We didn't have to think beyond our next drink. Food was very good and portion sizes were perfect. Buffet had a nice variety, a la carte restaurants also had plenty to choose from.
Service: always with a smile.
Sunsets: amazing every night.
Drinks/Bartenders: Poured well and made delicious drinks.

Cons:
No reservation policy: Ha! Loved this for my pros. However, one night we tried to get in to Seaside Grill for dinner and it was an hour wait. Bummer. But luckily we hopped into El Patio and had an amazing meal instead. Just be aware.
Initial sales pitch: Avoid this unless you really want to buy a time share or spend your resort dollars. Just tell them you don't have time and thanks anyway.
Nightlife: If you are looking for nightlife, this is not the resort for you. They try very hard to have nightly entertainment, but it shuts down by 10:00 p.m. and things get quiet. (This was perfect for us - we weren't looking for big nightlife but you need to know that it's quiet at night.)
Small pool: I didn't mind this, we spent most our time at the beach. But know that it's small and can get crowded.

Tips for your stay:
TIP: If you plan to stay at the beach all day, grab your server early, tip well, and they will be very attentive. Ismael earned a quick tip from us, then literally brought us drinks without us even asking - ALL DAY LONG. We were sitting almost IN the ocean, he whistled to us and did the "one more round" sign with a questioning face. YES. One more round! Awesome. Tips go a long way.
Skip the initial sales pitch: See above.
"Reservations": If you enjoy the sunset still in your swimsuit, put your name on the Seaside Grill list for dinner, head up and get cleaned up, and by the time you are down your wait time is over.

We were so pleased with this vacation. You will be too if you choose Dreams! I can't wait to go back...

Room Tip: Preferred Tower did NOT seem necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CarrieBKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The setting at Dreams is magnificent! Mountains, beach, ocean, flowers and trees that are spectacular! Everything is well organized and executed. We had in incredibly good time. The staff was amazing! Went into town each day and walked the Malacon (boardwalk). Took the local bus which you pick up right outside the Dreams property, a 10 minute ride for 70 pesos (US70 cents). Went to the Zoo (also by local bus). That was amazing! Have never been so close to "wild" animals! $5 US for a bag of food to feed the animals - they eat it right out of your hand! We would go back to Dreams Puerto Vallarta in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jan0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent most of last week at Dreams and enjoyed it thoroughly. What most impressed us about the resort was the design of both the pool/gardens and most of the restaurants. Everything was immaculately clean. And the staff was uniformly friendly and helpful. We had a standard room; it was nothing memorable but it was clean and roomy.

The food was hit-or-miss. The buffet food was pretty good, with a lot of variety. We had dinner once at each of the restaurants. Wife had some horrible gloppy doughy calamari at Oceana, while my fish was good. Portofino (Italian) was pretty much a disaster. We deliberately ordered items that would test the kitchen and it came up short. Spaghetti Carbonara (one of the simplest dishes in the world, but one whose timing is crucial) was inedible, a polenta appetizer and braised lamb shanks lacked seasoning, involtini (basically a rolled version of saltimbocca) was marred by lousy veal. I asked if they had espresso, was told "of course" and was served regular coffee in a small cup. If they tried this in Italy or France, they would probably be imprisoned for consumer fraud. On the other hand, the meal at El Patio (enchiladas verde and chicken mole) was excellent. I guess it makes sense that the best things produced by Mexican chefs would be Mexican fare. Dinner at Seaside Grill (steaks) was good. We lunched at Seaside Grill three times with very good food and wonderful friendly servers. The best food of the week was grilled fish and various versions of ceviche at the Grill, all of which were wonderful. In general, I would suggest ordering items that do not put too many demands on the chefs. Order simple things or things whose cooking time is not critical. And get that ceviche!

The beach was large and uncrowded, main pool area was quite active, though there is a small second pool that is quiet and secluded.

Despite the mixed results on food, we will gladly return, using what we learned this time. BTW, we have travelled extensively, but this was our first AI experience, so I cannot compare Dreams to its peers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.4 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,946 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
778 reviews
4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
569 reviews
5.6 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,352 reviews
5.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#4 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Address: Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $252 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this natural, open-air paradise, you'll see shades of blue you never imagined, stretching from the brilliant mosaics of the infinity pools to the spectacular views of the azure ocean. Authentic Mexican cuisine, swim-up suites and a beautiful, intimate setting that seems to grow more perfect every moment, we have it all. All bestowed with our genuine Service from the HeartTM . That's the difference at Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta. That's the Evolution of All-Inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Resort Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort Spa
Dreams Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Dreams Puerta Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Dreams Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing