We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Royal Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #95 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and booked a "Romance suite with Jacuzzi". The view is absolutely awesome and we enjoyed every moment there. They offer all inclusive for an extra $ 42 USD, what is a good deal if you want some nice drinks and not want to go out for lunch or dinner. The rooms are very big with a nice big terrace, and very clean !!! The elevators a bit in age and sometimes do not work very well, but there is always somebody to fix that problem very quick. The beach is very nice and clean, from both sites closed with rocks.........so like a private beach. Will come back very soon.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view. Very big and nice are the rooms with Jacuzzi ( 9 and 10 floor) .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mario V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    233
    161
    99
    120
See reviews for
241
312
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed 4 days in early March, 2014. The hotel is clean and employees very friendly, but service is average at best. The Wifi worked only sporadically. Everyday, some item was missing from the room clean-up, such as hand towels or wash clothes. The buffet was very mediocre and the waiters reported that very little of the table menu items were available. Due to event schedules, we were not able to eat until 9 pm or later and many of the buffet items were fully consumed and the pans empty by then.

Making our stay even more unpleasant were the young American spring breakers who partied loud and late.

Puerto Vallarta is a wonderful area, but this resort is a 20 minute taxi ride or rental car ride from the main city. One must enjoy the limited amenities of the resort or travel some distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkBethel_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for over 10 years when it was owned by the Intercontinental chain and was called "Presidente". The things that did not change were the location (which is wonderful), the weather (which is marvelous) and the cleanliness (which is excellent). The things that did change were the overall service (went from amazing to poor) the quality of the food (went from amazing to poor) and the look of the hotel (went from pristine to tired). The pool furniture is really shabby. The pool tiles are missing in several places. Trying to get room towels was like pulling teeth. Housekeeping would remove the used towels but not replace them. We were constantly having to call the desk, sometimes until late in the evening. One thing that changed positively was the room rate. It went down considerably ....... so I suppose that you get what you pay for. Personally I would pay a little more in the hopes that the hotel can get the facelift it needs and to bring the service back to what it used to be.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views. 9th floor has hot tubs in the room but you give up some furniture to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our 19th year in Puerto Vallarta found us at our favorite hotel under new management. Best Western acquired a jewel of a property that had, over the years, developed signs of wear. We arrived early February and left yesterday. Our most delightful activities were reading, socializing with fellow guests who had become friends over the years, enjoying the fantastic weather at the beach and the pool and dining around PV at night. We were pleased with our room - spacious, clean, well maintained. We were disappointed to see the shabby pool furniture unimproved since the year before. We were disappointed that the breakfast service on our arrival was poor with buffet choices limited and platters frequently in need of replenishment. By mid-February, however, we became encouraged that management COULD MAKE CHANGES. We noticed a senior consultant in the dining room, and we watched - over the course of a single week - a transformation in service and attention to detail in the dining area - a marked improvement that persisted throughout the rest of our stay. In discussions with the General Manager, it was clear he had prioritized the dining room and succeeded. He pledged to 'tackle' the pool furniture and attend to the cosmetic and infrastructure issues that would make GOOD become EXCELLENT again. We have confidence that the manager has the resolve to sustain the enhancements and attend to the needs of the rest. We look forward to encouraging 'progress reports' and to our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean side. High Floors have more panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoyNola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burien, Washington
Level Contributor
164 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week's stay at Best Western PLUS Suites Puerto Vallarta. We are seasoned travelers to Mexico, but we always go to the Caribbean side of the country. This time we decided to go to the west side. My husband had never been to PV and I had not been there since 1997. After a lot of research, I selected the Best Western PLUS Suites PV and we were both thrilled with our choice. Some people may not like the fact that this property is not in the Hotel Zone, and in fact is about a 15-minute drive from the heart of town. We loved the privacy and getting into PV was quite easy. The bus stops right across the street and costs just eight pesos, each way. Taxi service costs 100 pesos.

From the start, we were impressed with the friendliness of the staff. We were presented with an all-inclusive optional meal plan and we decided to take them up on the offer, although we did plan on going into town for some dinners. The plan worked out to $52 US each per day. For our breakfast, full unlimited drinks and snacks on the beach, and dinner, we feel this was a good deal. We were always pleased with the choices in La Terraza Restaurant for breakfast, including the buffet. We did not have lunch in the restaurant but opted instead for the snacks on the beach (nachos and fries were our usual choice). Dinner was not our favorite as the menu seemed to be quite limited. On the nights where there was a buffet for dinner, we liked it better. Again, we went into town for three nights of dinners so this was not a huge concern.

I cannot say enough good things about the beach service. Fernando and Esteban are truly the hardest working, best beach waiters we have ever met in Mexico and we have met a lot! They were always coming to us with fresh drinks and asking if we needed anything else. They are assets to this hotel! Sergio, the bellman, was also very friendly and personable. The pool looked nice although we did not use it as we prefer the beach, which is golden sand with water spanning the spectrum of blue and gorgeous. You can hear the sounds of the waves crashing anywhere on the property and it is so peaceful and relaxing. There are two high rise condos on either side of the Best Western but that is pretty much it. There are locals and other visitors who come to use the beach, Playas Las Gemelas, because it is pretty, but it still does not feel crowded in the least.

We chose the "Romance Suite" which included a jacuzzi tub in the room with a king bed. The suite was spacious and had everything we needed. This property has a high standard of cleanliness and that included housekeeping for our room. It's obvious the staff cares about the property. We were given a suite on the ninth floor and WOW, the view was incredible! The balcony was huge and we saw humpback whales while drinking our morning coffee on the balcony. What a wonderful experience!

The only negatives were a group of elderly Americans who loudly complained about anything and everything on a regular basis in the restaurant. They appeared to be long-standing guests of the hotel, probably from before when it was the Presidente Intercontinental, but they made it unpleasant when you were trying to enjoy breakfast and could hear their complaining loud and clear. There are also two elevators and sometimes they worked great, other times they had their issues. Just be prepared to be patient during those slow elevator times. :)

All in all, we absolutely loved our stay at the Best Western PLUS Suites in Puerto Vallarta. We cannot wait to return and again, Muchas Gracias to all the staff who made our vacation such a wonderful experience. We hope to be back very soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors. The views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dawnzascorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

we had to quickly find another hotel when we couldn't review the hotel we were in so booked into this place after reading the reviews and finding that it wasn't much more than what we had just paid, with the CAA discount. Went by taxi approx. 150pesos. David spoke English and was so, so patient with me when I tried to prove my CAA membership as I didn't have the card with me. After several texts home, it was sorted out but he was very very nice about it all. The room with large balcony was fantastic. It felt so luxurious. We really enjoyed sitting on the balcony and reading etc. Pool is nice, beach is nice but not so big. Unfortunately this time the waves were pounding and we didn't dare swim due to the undertow. I was looking forward to snorkelling as I had read it from another review but waves were too rough. We ate at the restaurant three times in 4 days. The spagettii Boulognais was good at 110pesos and so was the pesto. The buffet was also good. It is easy to take the bus to PV-16pesos(flat rate) or to Boca, going the other way. We could swim there and check out life in a fishing village. Beers in the store there (cheapest we have found) are only 8.5pesos but we were charged 70 for 2 beers and 1 limeade!
The only negative was the tall apartment block built in such a way that it intruded on the this hotel. Hopefully the waves are not always so rough.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We have never stayed south of PV in the past, and we always look for nice budget properties. This hotel has Ben the best deal we have had in many years of travel. The property is beautiful. Yes somewhat dated, but that is common in Mexico. Use to be The El Presidente Intercontinental, and it's easy to see that it was even lovelier in its hey day. Best Western in the US is always a sure bet; this hotel lives up to that standard. Even offering free Wifi as they do in US. Location is 15 mins from town and 10 mins from Boca de Tamatlan. Night life in one direction and Adventure in the other. Taxi was 100 pesos to town. Convenient albeit colorful bus was right across the street and only 8 pesos. Bus only took slightly longer than cab. Service at the hotel was very friendly. Food was marginal, but we generally enjoy our dinners in town. Budget travelers won't be disappointed here! Beach is not for swimming, but big waves are great fun to watch!

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view. We were on the 4th floor and the waves were practically crashing on our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deartedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.3 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#38 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
5.6 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
1.6 mi away
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
#34 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Marina and Beach Resort
Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Mar...
#41 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
6.4 mi away
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
#31 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
7.3 mi away
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
#56 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Royal Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Puerto Vallarta

Property: Park Royal Puerto Vallarta
Address: Carretera Barra de Navidad KM 8.5, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Puerto Vallarta)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Royal Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing