We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Restaurant”
Review of El Sazon del Aca - CLOSED

El Sazon del Aca
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Fort St. John, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Little Restaurant”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Kinda just found this little place just off Melacon (boardwalk) about a block or so up. Wonderful Waiter (Edwin Garcia) made us feel very welcome with a shot of tequila and a description of such as well as a very nice appetizer. The meal was VERY enjoyable and reasonably priced. Edwin was great and we would most definately revisit this restaurant

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    27
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visit to Puerto Vallarta”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

While visiting Puerto Vallarta we ran across this wonderful little restaurant that has very wonderful
food and very pleasant and helpful personnel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WaterRat32349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wanted something new and this place has been winning over Trip Advisor reviewers ...”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I chose to try El Sazon del Aca strictly based on the reviews I have read here. I was not disappointed. This is a quaint little place you would probably never find on your own. Located a couple blocks inland from the famous Malecon and equal distance down from the central flea market, it's tucked away on a small side street that runs very close to the front of the building. This is a bustling neighbourhood and I chose a table right at the front to maximize the people watching potential.

They start you off with a complimentary ceviche tostada, spicy and excellent. As I was listening to the specials I was tempted to try the bacon wrapped flank steak that other reviewers have raved about. It is not on the menu, but is among the specials every day so it might as well be. I opted for a seafood special, white fish fllets done in a "Mayan" sauce, white wine, lime juice, onions, jalapenos, mushrooms. It was an excellent choice, served with fresh veggies and rice it was a great dinner. Your wine selection here is 'Red or White', but the Chilean Cab they served was perfectly fine.

A great choice for a fun dinner. Full meal plus 3 generous glasses of red wine, $435 pesos about $35.00

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy-from-Cowtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Take a chance!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Apr 30, 2013: Would never have found this place if not for the beach vendor who hassled our group on the boardwalk and I could not be happier that we took the chance! The vendor showed us a bunch of menus as we walked by the boardwalk and after one of us asking him if he knew where bacon wrapped shrimp were served he took us right to the door of El Sazon del Aca. Seemed kind of sketchy but he promised a free shot of tequila and appetizer so we thought, 'why not? Mexican adventure!'. The adventure was definitely worth it.
The bacon wrapped shrimp were amazing as was the coconut shrimp. Portions are massive and the shrimp are huge! The margaritas are blended with real fruit and taste like a booster juice that's been spiked. The waiter was extremely attentive and engaging and made it an experience. Will definitely be recommending this restaurant to anyone in Puerto Vallarta.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Typical Mexican”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

They welcome you in a very personal way and do everything to please the customer.
Free taste of tequila.
The chili rellenos are perfect !



  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sazon del Aca also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing