We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Sazon del Aca - CLOSED

El Sazon del Aca
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stopped into this restaurant for a late breakfast/early lunch and were not disappointed. The margaritas for 100 pesos were huge, delicious and made to order. My wife had the chiliquiles with eggs and I had the octopus with the chefs special sauce. Both dishes were very well prepared, delicious and more than ample serving sizes.
Edwin was waiter and he was very attentive and gracious. We will return to this restaurant and encourage others to enjoy as well!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lefthanded1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    27
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“I'm in the unimpressed camp”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I hate to pile on to some of the negative comments here - and generally do try to mix the good with the bad - but I would genuinely have to agree with most of what dianeh246 says in her review. I dined here on the recommendations and reviews here. I don't know if they are stuffing reviews or paying people for good feedback but my experience at this restaurant was very average. We arrived on the early side for dinner and were the only patrons in the restaurant, which we found odd given the reviews here. But we decided to give it a shot.

All of the pageantry around the tequila and the restaurant name and the free soup and - well - everything is too much. The server is young and seems to be in a bit over his head, serving as bartender, runner, cashier...well, he basically runs the place. All of these can be forgiven in the context of a great meal but sadly, it was not to be.

We ordered a couple of the recommended dishes plus a starter of guacamole to pair with our giant margaritas. The guacamole was the best dish of our evening. The mahi mahi dish and the my dining companion's snapper (hauchinango), both a purportedly house specialty, were overcooked and had the same bland sauce on them paired with the same bland vegetables. To be honest, it tasted more like what I'd expect at a chain restaurant in the US.These were not standout dishes and were inferior to what we have had elsewhere in PV including El Arrayan.

Perhaps it is the free tequila shots and massive margaritas that give people a great impression of this place. We left full but disappointed and somewhat dissatisfied with our meals and our decision to eat there. There just isn't anything special about this place worthy of my recommendation; location is poor, ambience is poor, food is middling at best. At least the booze is flowing freely.

What I am flummoxed by is the reviews here. During our dinner there were only a maximum of 4 other guests at the restaurant, and we walked by it several times during our week's stay and it was never full.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SFO-World-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“breakfast review :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This new restaurant is out of this world great! Tried going here for breakfast after church on Palm Sunday, but couldn’t get in. We were told they had already turned away dozens of people. So it was a goal to get back there before our trip was over. Went again after the Good Friday re-enactment on the Malecon. It was busy, but we got in! The chilaquiles special for 38 pesos is just unbelievable!The eggs benedict was wonderful as well. The best coffee I have ever had is included with all breakfasts. Definitely one of the top finds of our trip!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pv4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hate to burst your bubble !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Iam slowly loosing faith in the trip advisor critics. Are they really authentic?? After reading all the recent hoop-la about this new restaurant,we decided to give it a try. There were 3 adults and one 2 1/2 yr old. The restaurant had a pleasing look,but will agree with others the location is lacking, certainly no view here,so was hoping the service and food would make up for it. Not so much! Having been a former restaurant owner I feel I have the credibility to make an honest assesment of this one. We arrived at 7pm and were promply seated,then the free tequila arrived with a long narrative about it. Then the free appetizer,clear soup. We were then asked about drinks and were directly steared to the margaritas,When we asked about the size we were told we only have one size. The gigantic drinks arrived at which none of us could ever finish, and because we never had been given a menu we had no idea of the prices, then of course the specials were mentioned and of course thanks to another diner we asked the price and all 3 were way over 300. We then had to ask for a menu. We are about 30 minutes into our visit Our little guy was getting hungry and antsy.After finally ordering we got our food one hour and 20 minutes later. We had the coconut shrimp (the baked potato arrived hard and dry,when we asked for butter,they brought melted butter. The Mahi Mahi ordered had no flavor and couldn't compare to the same dinner ordered the night before at another restaurant. They seemed unprepared for a dinner service and the waiter seemed to have to wear many hats,waiter,host,bartender. Would we return again,no..There are too many oustanding restaurants in town and this one doesn't live up to the hype!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank dianeh246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Daughter's 18th B-day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Celebrated our daughter's B-day with friends. We all enjoyed our dishes including steaks, fajitas, octopus and the lobster stuffed poblano pepper. Eduardo our waiter was great, providing a personal touch and advice for our daughter's night out - much appreciated. The complimentary tequila shots and ceviche tostadas are a welcoming introduction. If you appreciate more personal attention without the crowds, this is a good place to begin your night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sazon del Aca also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing