We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast!”
Review of Cafe Vayan

Cafe Vayan
Ranked #273 of 1,302 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reviewed March 30, 2019

We went to this cafe every morning of our 2 week stay for breakfast it was that good! When we returned a year later they remembered us and our children. It has a very homey feel and the BLT bagel was our favourite. Our children love the pancakes. Coffee is great as well. Service is great and we will definetly be returning again next year!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AliciaKHadwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 146 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2019

We loved this place on our last trip to PV so made the return visit this trip.
As with all food reviews, tastes vary. This is our opinion of what we had.
- Last trip I rated the French Toast as the best I'd ever tasted. It's still very good but I don't think it's quite as good as it used to be, I'm not quite sure what changed.
- My wife loved the Vayan salad, we made a few trips her just so she could have it again.
- Service is incredibly slow but the food makes up for it.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2019 via mobile

Looking for good salads, breakfasts, pasta, home cooked? Great prices and service? Come to this small sidewalk cafe on Olas Altas and Basilio Badillo. Really good shrimp and chicken salads.

This is not a fancy restaurant; it’s a cafe with simple food and good service. We often eat breakfast and lunch here.

Tonight’s service was a bit slower than usual but our guess was the chef had run out of chicken salad prep and had to go from scratch. Chicken is not from frozen bags but freshly cooked and off the bone. Same as the rest of their food—home cooked.

CASH ONLY. LIMITED SEATING.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank williamn262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2018

Cafe Vayan is a must on your list of attractions in Puerto Vallarta.
Definitely the best breakfast you are going to eat, try the mushroom omelette with potatoes and salad with as much coffee as you can drink. You can eat inside or out, and they allow smoking outside. There is an internet service inside. It is situated just outside the Malecon, so you can get to the beach really easily. Cakes and fresh bread can be purchased for take away, and ghe service here is excellent.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2018 via mobile

Like this place. My local hangout. Good breakfast and a wide variety dishes anytime of day. Good place to sit awhile and take in passing scenary. Waiters are young and do well with English.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Vayan also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Cafe Vayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing