We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome addition to great PV food scene”
Review of Nu Global Tapas Bar - CLOSED

Nu Global Tapas Bar
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary, Healthy
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
CH
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Welcome addition to great PV food scene”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

NU appears to the passers-by as a small corner bar that seems to attract a fair crowd of ex-pats and tourists. However, if you head up stairs you will find an expansive open air dining room with cool modern colors, great service, and excellent cuisine.

So lets talk about the food. There are many great restaurants in PV, so it isn't easy to stand out. But NU has an extremely creative menu that certainly fills a need in town. I'm usually not a fan of tapas bars, but the execution here is excellent. I've been twice so far and two favorites include the "wilted spinach salad" and the "eggplant albondigas" (little eggplant filled "meatless"balls that have an amazing flavor). But everything else I've tried has been delicious as well including tuna, scallops and steak.

I personally enjoy the atmosphere of the upstairs dining room, but if you are feeling very social enjoy the sidewalk tables and bar of the first floor. In either spot I've found the staff to be warm and attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peterjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpalsce, Owner at Nu Global Tapas Bar, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. Having both an upstairs and downstairs is a challenge, but having customers like yourselves is the reason it´s worth it! Thank you for your many visits, and the journey you took through our menu, which is exactly why I designed it as such. Your comments about Vallarta are certainly true, and it´s quite flattering that you find nu filling a niche here in Vallarta where there are too many restaurants to count. We look forward to having you back and trying some of the new dishes on the menu as well. Thank you for taking the time to write the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    10
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“The best corner in Puerto Vallarta”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is an excellent place on Amapas. I was staying in Tropicana, and this easily became my nightcap place! Always interesting people sitting round bar table on the street corner.

Jae and all here do great job in welcoming people. Next time I really will eat here too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philipoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpalsce, Owner at Nu Global Tapas Bar, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for the review. It´s a magical experience when we get to meet people, and see the almost daily during their stays. It´s an easy corner to get to, and for a lot of people their last stop on the way home. But it´s really a wonderful compliment that you wanted to stop each day and we certainly enjoyed getting to know you. We look forward to your next visit next spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gun Lake, MI
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service, food & drinks”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have stopped at Nu serveal times for cocktails downstairs and always enjoyed the great servivce by Jae and her staff. The corner is a great place to stop to meet new friends and people watch. This week we also had dinner. Although the dining room upstairs is very pretty, we dedided to eat downstairs. My husband and I shared three items : potatoes, the beef and cucumber salad (our fav) and the shrimp/veggies/cheese stuffed pineapple. They all were presented beautifully and tased very fresh and delicious. We were too full for dessert that night, but stopped the next night just for dessert. We shared the banana/carmel/chocolate tart and it was perfect. We will definelty stop back for drinks, tapas and dessert! Thanks to Jae and staff for providing such a fun spot!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunlakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpalsce, Owner at Nu Global Tapas Bar, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is often that we meet people on the corner, and then they try the food later. Which is great! I am very happy to be able to have such a diverse, fun, interesting corner, where great people like yourselves, make every night different and special. Thank you for visiting us, for trying the food, and for the great review! We hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An unforgettable culinary experience”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Discovered this gem towards the end of my week's stay. The owner/manager very welcoming. The staff friendly and attentive without being in your face.++++
The creative and inventive dishes were without a doubt the best experience in many years of annual PV vacation.
The Cauliflower Ceviche is memorable, the eggplant dish out of this world and on and on. Each bite brings many flavours to your taste buds.
Went back twice over a three day period, bringing friends to enjoy this exceptional culinary experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpalsce, Owner at Nu Global Tapas Bar, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Jean,

Thank you for your kind review. We are certainly glad you found us, and even if it was at the end of your stay, we hope to see you again! The cauliflower ceviche is certainly one of the most popular, but as you describe, there are lots of flavors and the reason I chose to serve global tapas at nu was so that you could taste, taste, and taste some more. Thank you again for your visit, and for taking time to post a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“FAB flavours”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Restaurants, whatever the excellence of their ambience (Nu rates highly), location (Nu is easy to find), servers (engaging and totally dedicated), etc., rise or fall on the quality of their food. Nu has an inventive, innovative, scrumptious array of tastes with presentations to match. Your first bite of one of their tapas (so good for sharing!!) will make you a convert. Check out the descriptive menu posted at the door on the street then climb the stairs, enjoy the warm welcome and give your taste buds a treat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poolman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpalsce, Owner at Nu Global Tapas Bar, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your very descriptive review. Although sometimes the outside menu might scare people a little bit because it is not completely the norm, we know that once we can get them to try the food, they will love it! This has been the case time and time again in our first season, and we look forward to the summer (food only served downstairs) but most certainly the upcoming season where we have return customers, which will hopefully include yourselves! Thank you so much again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nu Global Tapas Bar also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing