We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great food and service”

Jorge's Hideaway Shrimp Shack
Ranked #26 of 1,028 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, great food and service”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Had the tortilla soup, Yucatan salad and Tropical mixed fruit salad with shrimp.
All were very tasty. Jorge makes his way around each table and spends time with his patrons. Makes you feel right at home. Will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Kenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    89
    18
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Food Says It All”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

First impressions are wrong here. Tucked away on a dead-end cobblestone street, past the paint-flecked iron door, in a dim interior (it is a "hideaway" after all) is some of the best seafood in Vallarta. It's a small place with 7 tables but the charming welcome and warm, attentive service go along with a menu of inventive items and food that's prepared with care and served with pride. My beer came in a glass, the bread was warm, the napkin was linen and my Baja Shrimp (spinach, mushrooms, bechamel sauce + rice and coleslaw) was fabulous - brimming with flavour. I wiped the tin plate with the bread! The offered apple strudel desert was sugarless with minimal sweetness coming from the fruit and the neapolitan ice cream with a light chocolate sauce garnish. Homemade without a doubt. This is a gem of a place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poolman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Third Lake, Illinois
1 review
“This year's surprise!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We have been coming here for seven years and so glad we found this fabulous place to eat. Jorge and his son Kevin welcomed us with open arms on our first visit. On our second visit we came with two ladies we met on a trip to Guadalajara. Turned out they had known Jorge and his family and Oscar (our waiter) from the El Dorado. We tried several different items on the menu. The House Special and the Kahlua were the favorites. The mahi mahi was "any way you like it" . Delicious! Enjoy and anyone can do pasta - Jorge's mashed potatoes are special!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't let the atmosphere scare you away”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

There are only eight tables and the exterior of the restaurant is almost foreboding, but the food is magnificent.

And don't forget the name includes the word "shrimp".

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
“Great service and food”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just got back from dinner at Jorge's. Had very good soup and entree.

Service was really good (it is Sunday evening, so not super busy).

Will seriously consider going back before the end of our vacation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrashCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jorge's Hideaway Shrimp Shack also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Jorge's Hideaway Shrimp Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing