We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lighter Healthier Tapas were a treat! Jae was fabulous.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of NU - CLOSED

NU
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Mexican, Latin, Spanish, Contemporary, Healthy
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lighter Healthier Tapas were a treat! Jae was fabulous.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I found this place on our first night in PV - just looking for a place close to the condo where we were staying. There were a number of "locals" or seemingly regular patrons at the little bar. We enjoyed the beverages and the owner Jae was very friendly and upbeat.
We returned there with the kiddos at happy hour on the way home from the beach and ordered virgin pina coladas for the kiddos and a rum and coke. The gal working the early shift did not speak good English and was either new or just not trained yet. She was friendly but not very efficient. We stopped by another evening on our way home from a walk and met Eve (sp) the server from Sweden. He was quite animated and very friendly. Excellent service.
We finally decided to try it for dinner one evening and took the kiddos. The upstairs dining room was EMPTY! We were skeptical because this was Easter week and the area was jam packed with tourists and locals so why was no one eating there.
We were given menues and placed our drink orders. Kids ordered virgin St. Daqs and we ordered Ritas on the rocks. (Love the blue salt!) The kiddos drinks were not even close to tasting like St. Daqs - and we asked to have more strawberry added. The server very nicely accomodated - but it didn't help much. We were given cauliflower "ceviche" with tortilla chips for free as a starter (nice touch) and then ordered several tapas.
The salad with the strawberries and goat cheese was delicious. The salad with the blue cheese - not so much. We then shared Eggplant "meatballs" which 3/4 or us really enjoyed and Scallop with Sesame Crust Ahi tuna - it was just ok. We also all LOVED the mushrooms! Definitely order the shrooms! And we ordered the panzella (baked mexican cheese with herbs on top served with bread slices) This was a bit disappointing - did not like the dried herbs - was hoping for fresh herbs. I would really like to see this place succeed - but the comments below about the music are so true - downstairs in the bar - no problem - play Pink all you want! but upstairs in the dining room - some classier quieter music would be more appropriate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This little place was right down the street from our rental apartment and we had walked by it many times before actually trying it. The tapas was really interesting and tasty, portions were generous, and the service was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrenofKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tastiest Tapas”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This restaurant has delicious tapas. It is conveniently located just up the hill from Los Muertos Beach with a lovely atmosphere, great presentation, nice music and very delicious food. A must try while in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank f t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horse Shoe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"Can you tell me where Nu Restaurant is?"”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Trying to find this restaurant we stopped to ask a woman (who turned out to be the owner) if she knew where "Nu Restaurant" was. She laughed...We had walked right into it without knowing!! Nu was recommended to us by Sue with PV Sea Dives. When she heard we enjoyed fresh, not fried, interesting food pairings, this was the place she said we had to go! We were very happy we did. The tapas combined flavor and fusion with ingredients you might not have expected to see. The service was excellent. We ate upstairs and there was only one other couple. Drinks were expensive. (Check out what the tequila price is in your margarita!!!) We enjoyed some time talking with the owner who had relocated from Montana. This is a restaurant we did not expect to find in Mexico. A meal of tapas at this restaurant is a real treat for someone who is interested in unique preparations, high quality/fresh ingredients and a more health conscious meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TMCC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey.BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Looks are deceiving”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were staying at the Tropicana and the Nu is one block away. WE passed by it at least twice a day and never gave it a thought.
There was always one or two people shilling on the sidewalk. It had three outside tables and a small bar stool area.
We stopped on our last night there for supper as my sweet was too tired to do the trek.We were sweet talked by the street hombre , then sat down outside. we ordered then came these things, Tapas, and they were supberb. I even ordered dessert..
The whole experience was tres pleasant. The two men at the next table were regular from the states and the conversation was
centered around renting apartments and condos in the area.
From something so plain looking came an epicurine adventure.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterEd-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NU also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing