We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Embarcadero - CLOSED

Embarcadero
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Embarcadero restaurant is uniquely designed to create a casual, original and relaxed atmosphere, where our guests can enjoy the highest quality dining experience at an affordable price. Our restaurant is situated on Francisca Rodriguez #137 B. Colonia Emiliano Zapata. In the hearth of the Old Town/Romantic zone and just a few steps to downtown Puerto Vallarta. Featuring the signature “Fresh Menu” highlighting an impressive number of fresh seafood varieties, in addition to traditional Mexican dishes, steaks, poultry, entrée salads and pasta. Embarcadero´s commitment to local freshness is apparent in the seasonally inspired dishes and regionally inspired preparations offered. Embarcadero focuses on a true spirit of hospitality, where every guest is treated like family.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This small restaurant is almost impossible to get into without a reservation. The cuisine is part american and part mexican with highly educated chefs from both. The presentation of the meals are second to none. The meals are excellent and the staff extremely friendly. This by far was my favorite restaurant experience in puerta Vallarta! Recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    46
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DO NOT SKIP THIS Romantic Zone find.”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This resturaunt opened in Aug so it was new to us. What a find!!!! The food, service, and price were GREAT! Each day they determine the specials based upon what is fresh in the market that day, so each day is a special treat. We went twice for dinner and were sorry we didn't have any more nights to come back. It is small so don't come too late. I know you will love it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunworship65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
347 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“It's OK- but doesn't Live Up to Rave Reviews”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

There is nothing wrong with this little hole in the wall PV restaurant. Service is friendly the hole in the wall is clean and the food is tasty. So why doesn't it live up to rave reviews? The devil is in the details. Steaks ordered medium rare arrived well done. Attempts to substitute rice with extra veg fell on deaf ears. A bottle of wine purported to be excellent was less than that. Having said that however specials are offered at affordable prices. Would I recommend this restaurant? Absolutely but don't go thinking it will be the best food and best dinning experience you have or ever will have. If you do that you will be disappointed. Just go and enjoy..it is what it is. and if you go in without an opinion inflated by Advisor reviews, you will be fine. Warning: It's CASH ONLY! reservations recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brodie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Substance and class”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Would not have expected to find such finesse so close to the beach in PV where many of the restaurants hire hawkers, offer bribes, or focus on gimmicks. This small new restaurant pays attention to details, from the presentation of food on plates to the quality of coffee (which supposedly comes from a local source). And the service was authentically friendly and efficient.
Oh, forgot to mention, the food was also great! I only went for lunch, but the burrito with mixed seafood was tasty. The whole prawns were perfect, and the octopus was also good (which is a challenge for many restaurants). Also enjoyed the apple pie, served warm with van.ice cream

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 13oyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful presentation and friendly staff”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

When I was in Puerta Vallarta for three weeks, I ate there several times. The food was great everytime, the staff was very friendly and the presentation is a delight. I would recommend reservations as it is small and limited seating.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Embarcadero also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing