We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No definite 'maybe' but a resounding 'YES'”
Review of Embarcadero - CLOSED

Embarcadero
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Embarcadero restaurant is uniquely designed to create a casual, original and relaxed atmosphere, where our guests can enjoy the highest quality dining experience at an affordable price. Our restaurant is situated on Francisca Rodriguez #137 B. Colonia Emiliano Zapata. In the hearth of the Old Town/Romantic zone and just a few steps to downtown Puerto Vallarta. Featuring the signature “Fresh Menu” highlighting an impressive number of fresh seafood varieties, in addition to traditional Mexican dishes, steaks, poultry, entrée salads and pasta. Embarcadero´s commitment to local freshness is apparent in the seasonally inspired dishes and regionally inspired preparations offered. Embarcadero focuses on a true spirit of hospitality, where every guest is treated like family.
Kamloops
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No definite 'maybe' but a resounding 'YES'”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We've been coming to PV for 23 years. Restaurants come and go, so when told about this new restaurant on the south side, half a block up the road from the new pier, we thought we would take a look. We stopped, looked at the menu and thought, 'Mmhh, this could be promising', and kept walking. Fortunately we returned for dinner!
We had a wonderful meal. Ready for a non-seafood dinner, I chose the beef fajita for 105 pesos. It was the best, most tender and tasty beef, I've eaten in Mexico. The portion was generous, nicely presented, and frankly, all I could eat. My wife chose the Traditional Mexican tortilla soup, followed by chile rellano. Both were excellent. We were offered a complimentary fresh fruit dessert. It too was excellent.
Service was friendly, attentive, but not hovering, and the owner personally chatted with the patrons at each table.
By 8 pm there was only one empty table in the restaurant, the others had content, happy faced patrons.
Embarcadero Mariscos is a resounding 'Yes'. We will return there for our final meal in Mexico before flying home this Saturday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TorS189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    46
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“A Gem in the PV Romantic Zone”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This little place is so good that we just had to come back. Just a small place that seats about 30 plus a couple of outside tables. Very open - fans keep it cool (somewhat) in warm weather. The staff is very friendly, speak English well and the food is just excellent.... and at a great price. I had the sopas de mariscos both visits. It was so good the first time, I had to have it again. A big bowl of seafood stew - plenty of shrimp, fish chunks, octopus, with some scallops and calimari. And a big chunk of lobster in the center (alas, not the tail end). Delicious! On my first visit, the lobster was done perfect - on the second visit, it was a bit mushy. Hey, it's soup. And at 105 pesos, a very good deal!
My wife had vegetarian fajitas - done perfectly and served with nice tortillas.
Bonus - all meals come with a house dessert! Ice cream with mango chunks the first time, a fruit cup our second visit.
Our waiter, Leonardo, was having a good time, bouncing with the music (not loud - we were close to the music system.... and it was good Mexican music) and dancing his way down the restaurant with dishes and taking orders. It's just good when the wait staff is having fun.
I should add that the kitchen (we sat close on our last visit) is very clean - the cooks have clean uniforms and proper hats. I was impressed.
Good food, good prices and friendly services. What's not to like?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss Embarcadero Mariscos in Old Town, Puerto Vallarta!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The new Embarcadero restaurant on Francisco Rodriguez #137-B in Puerto Vallarta’s is FAB U LOUS! Old-fashioned, personalized service and fresh seafood without equal... Smiles + good tastes = this colorful, cozy restaurant packing out every night. Owners Ken & Maria know how to treat their customers – and they also know how to feed them! The best shrimp fajitas ANYWHERE!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smw984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll IA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great New Restaurant”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is relatively new restaurant in Old Town/Romantic Zone. It is small and casual but nicely decorated. They specialize in seafood (mariscos) which is very fresh and very well prepared. I enjoyed some of the best octopus I have EVER eaten at this great little restaurant. Worth a visit if you are in the neighborhood. Located at Francisco Rodriguez #137-B, Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta. It is midway down the block between Olas Altas and the beach.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Washoe2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Memorable Seafood Soup”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A fellow traveler happened up on this hole in the wall and spread the good word. The food is excellent. My favorite was the seafood soup. It was in a tomato pepper stock and included every type of seafood that Mexico has to offer. It could be a meal if one was not overly hungry.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Embarcadero also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing