We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joe T "can't wait to return amazing" Feb 2014”
Review of Rivera del Rio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rivera del Rio
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
“Joe T "can't wait to return amazing" Feb 2014”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

one of our favorite vacation spots is PV. We booked last minute stay at Rivera Del Rio, it turned out to be one of the best properties we have stayed at in PV. Alex and his staff went above and beyond what we expected. Our frist 10 days we stayed in the Alejandor suite, amazing, the view, the size, the terrace, all great, best bed of any hotel I stayed in. Final days of our vacation were spent in the Cortez suite just as nice. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    29
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
265
113
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I don't write reviews often, but I have to write about this place. The location is actually really good. I usually stay closer to the water, but this place is actually located right in the middle of everything which was a nice change. The staff were attentive and very friendly, and the breakfast is something I will miss. Alex and Diego are know what they are doing! The property is so unique and refreshing I couldn't stop looking at everything for days. Also, loved the spa! Can't wait for my next visit!

Room Tip: Some are very large with kitchens, other are small and some are in the middle. I think they are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was lost for hours just exploring the decorative details of this home. It is saturated with faux finishes, murals, ecletic furnishings, and artwork. It only took moments to feel comfortable because of the beauty of the environment and the welcoming nature of staff. I highly recommend conversing with Chayo, the family maid, (Spanish speaking). It's one thing to read about the history of this boutique hotel, and it's another to listen first hand. Chayo spoke with great affection in regards to Maria Cortez, her character and her cultural influence in the local community. It's a precious thing to attempt to see the decorative nuances between grandmother, Maria Cortez, and grandson Alex, the current owner. The sense of family involvement, and tradition made the experience richer.

The hotel is in Old Vallarta, which means you are quite close to the beach and your choice of nightlife, but far enough away for some peace and quiet. There is a roof deck pool, bar, and jacuzzi. The sunset and view across the town from these areas is amazing! The beds are incredibly soft!! Definitely the most comfortable beds that I've ever experienced in Mexico travels. The breakfast was delicious! The clientele that this boutique seemed to attract were all laid back, educated and friendly. I had no fear of theft and everyone pleasantly and effortlessly relaxed and conversed with one another. Robin and Alex go out of there way to ensure that your experience is a positive one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great value in Puerto Vallarta. Small B&B with huge rooms off the beaten path but within a 10 minute walk to the beach. Wonderful breakfasts and Robin the host will make your stay very comfortable. Didn't use the pool and there is no exercise room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Absolutely amazing bed n breakfast in Puerto Vallarta. The place is breathtaking. Alex and Diego have done such an amazing job decorating this very large home in a quiet area in Puerto Vallarta. You have got to experience this luxurious, over the top, fantastic home. We had such a great time that we've booked two more weeks next year. I would not change a thing from the amazing hand-painted walls, to the fantastic window treatments, to the views, to the food, to the impeccable service. They really have outdone themselves. You must experience it. Hands down the most amazing place in Puerto Vallarta!!!!

Room Tip: The best room is the Penthouse Suite called the Alejandro. It has a huge balcony, lots of great ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danreighn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Looking for a romantic B&B, in the best location in town? No, not on the beach, that's where you walk 10 minutes to for dinner, but for sleeping and exploring, this is it, nestled back in the old neighborhood on the beautiful River Cuale where the gringos who really know Vallarta live. Beds are perfect, top quality, we had a clawfoot bathtub with a rain shower, rooms are all unique, no two alike, and all overwhelming artistic, I mean there's a lap pool in our living room that's open to the sky, so when it rains - oh it must be amazing. We felt so at home, so comfortable, the help are wonderful, as was the owner, everything was wonderful, cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinggirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This neighborhood has always been my favorite neighborhood, but we had never found a hotel here before and finding Rivera del Rio was one of our very finest finds! The story is we thought we had another month rental (totally different place in PV), but a few weeks before our trip here, we discovered we were without lodging. We found Rivera del Rio on airbnb and wrote asking for any lodging availability. Alex was very sympathetic with our plight and booked us into our incredibly spacious suite for as many nights as he could and with the best possible rate. We had loved looking at the pictures on the web-site, but honestly the pictures hardly do this unique hotel/B&B justice. The artwork, the paintings, the little discoveries just keep coming! And, the bed is incredibly comfortable. We are getting lots of sleep each night in a very quiet room. That doesn't happen in some hotels in PV.
The breakfasts are great and cooked to order each morning. They keep the place incredibly clean and the staff are very, very friendly. Alex is very knowledgeable about so many things and places in Puerto Vallarta, but there isn't a skip in the beat with Robin taking over when Alex had to leave on a trip. We get great recommendations for food and fun.
Love this place. Will we return? You bet!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank listwithus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#13 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
4.2 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garlands Del Rio
Garlands Del Rio
#1 of 73 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivera del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivera del Rio

Property: Rivera del Rio
Address: Calle Rivera Del Rio 104 | 485 Aquiles Serdan, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivera del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious old world Villa/B&B in the heart of historic Puerto Vallarta ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rivera del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing