We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Creek, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This place is a real gem. A place you return to because it exists. I called it the "garden house" because there are plants throughout, and at times you walk through the house and certain areas are open to the outdoors. The living room has a small soaking pool in one area, and I am told that in the rainy season the rain drizzles into the pool. The manager gave us a tour of the home. The lower level is a tremendous place for an extended family vacation with a beautiful and functioning kitchen- not kitchenette, and a large dining area and living room where one could have a great dinner party for ten. The hosts are great- we came to Mexico to go to Sayulita, but enjoyed PV better. Most of this enjoyment had to do with the hospitality, comfort, and decor at Rivera del Rio.

Room Tip: Alejandro or lower level with a large close knit group
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CORyans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    29
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
276
117
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you want an authentic Mexican villa in the heart of PV to call home while on vacation, Rivera del Rio is the best place to stay.
Located right on the Rio Cuale, with such uniquely designed rooms and various options, you can't go wrong, I stayed in the Alejandro suite, located on the top of the villa. It had wrap around views and it had its own kitchen, sitting area and patio where I had my homemade breakfast everyday. I enjoyed the jacuzzi overlooking town and the swimming pools. Great staff and Internet connection was super fast.
If you want a quiet retreat that is close to everything, book now... I a sure is place is going to be booked most of the time once the word gets out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canggu, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Fantastic. Friendly efficient staff, walking distance from beach and buzzing nightlife yet just removed enough to find tranquility. Rooms are huge and luxurious, one feels like you're in opulence that was only possible in bygone eras yet very affordable. Highly recommended for first timers or regulars to puerto Vallarta

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDave81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Rivera del Rio is a boutique hotel, which happens to serve (delicious) breakfasts. It has all the professionalism of a hotel, with the friendly accommodation of a B&B. There are amenities in this place you didn't even know you needed... you'll discover something new every day.

Location is absolutely perfect; takes 5 minutes to walk to the Malecon, and is about a 15 min cab ride to the marinas where most of the ocean adventures depart from.

The hotel is in a residential neighborhood on the river, which lets you soak up the real PV experience. If you're more interested in segregating yourselves with other tourists, being herded to scheduled meals and swimming in dirty pools this hotel is not for you.

Dana the house manager is an American expat, and brings her southern warmth and hospitality to the hotel. If you can, book a tour with her on one of the luxury yachts she sails... you won't be disappointed.

Best piece of advice I have is to check out the hotel website; it has all the pics of the different rooms and common areas. Figure out which suite captures your heart (mine was the Scarlet), and make sure you get it.

Oh, and definitely tip well, but at the end of the stay. Chayo is an amazing & accommodating cook (we rolled out of bed for 'breakfast' well past noon some days) and keeps your room pristine every day. She won't take anything you leave out though until the last day.

Other than that, bring your favourite drinks, stock the poolside fridge and you're set.

Seriously. We stayed for a week, and realized at the end we hadn't even turned on the tv.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Rivera del Rio is an experience that blows all other options in Puerto Vallarta out of the water... The detail and beauty of all rooms in this magnificent villa will surprise and delight all visitors beyond their wildest dreams. Authentic and unique, this exquisite place exists as a rare gem in the zona romantica. Staying here makes you feel as though you are stepping back in time to a royal caliber experience in the old world.

FABULOUS!

Room Tip: Alejandro and Scarlet for those who want the view and outdoors.... Cortez for those who want the lof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rioalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My daughter and I just got back from staying at Rivera Del Rio, and had the most fabulous time. This hotel is amazing. It is beautiful, the bed was the most comfortable bed I have EVER slept in. Alex and Dana (she's the manager) made sure we had any and everything we needed. Unfortunately we weren't able to go on the trip to Yelapa they planned, but I heard from the other guests that is was wonderful. I can't stress enough, what a great experience we had, and will stay there every time we go to PV. We are even planning on going back in October. It's a magical building, structurally, artistically and with beautiful interiors. All rooms are different. The staff is great and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lets start off with I absolutely love Puerto Vallarta! Its an exciting hotspot of night life, beach, and all around exciting activities. A good hotel though is still key to success for a great vacation. This was my second trip to Mexico and I picked definitely one of the best hotels in the area. The location of the hotel is in the Romantica zone near many of the clubs and local eateries and about a 10 min walk to the beach. The area overall was very quiet and the hotel overlooked a river on oneside and the town on the other.

During my stay I decided to switch around the rooms as they all offered a unique theme and feel. The first room I stayed in was the Maria. The Maria is a large open type room that allows for a variety of sunlight in through the beautiful windows that were near the ceiling. The room being on the main floor was very easy to access and offered its own bathroom, and the common living spaces bathroom extremely close by.

The next room I decided to stay was the Green Room. This room is on the upper level and offers direct access to the pool. The green room is a semi-dark room with beautiful shades of green along with unique artwork on a nice metal framed queen bed.

I stayed in the Mariposa for one night, was a great basic room that included a balcony and a wide variety of lovely mirrors. This room also connected with another room if there was a larger party. I found that to be an interesting feature and would be great had I traveled with a group.

My favorite room was Scarlet. This room was colored in a deep red with a balcony facing the river. There was a very comfortable leather lounge that stayed on the balcony that allowed for sunbathing, and or just relaxing as it cooled off. The bed in scarlet is an old time type bed that had little red curtains. I absolutely loved this! I was able to shut all light off and wake up at 5PM and still think its night. It was amazing. Mind you the curtains within the room are all openable so if you did enjoy the light you could surely have it within the room.

Other than the rooms the hot tub was one of my favorites. As opposed to a chlorinated hot tub it was a salt water hot tub! Talk about relaxing without that smell. The pool was clean and heated which was another plus. The breakfast made by the staff was also an amazing feature and never missed a beat. Freshly squeezed orange juice along with various ways the eggs were prepared was just great.

Overall Rivera Del Rio provided a unique experience with an ambiance not to be missed. I didn't describe the ambiance it very much because words can do no justice. You have to look at the pictures, then really be amazed as it comes together in real life. (They do have pictures on their website)

Room Tip: If you like it dark choose Scarlet If you want direct access to the outside choose Cortez If you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.8 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
342 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,447 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,599 reviews
4.2 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garlands Del Rio
Garlands Del Rio
#1 of 71 in Puerto Vallarta
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel

Property: Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Rivera Del Rio 104, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious old world Villa/B&B in the heart of historic Puerto Vallarta ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing