We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting cooking class”
Review of Cookin' Vallarta

Cookin' Vallarta
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.00*
and up
Puerto Vallarta Cooking Class: Market Shopping, Lesson and Tastings
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: "Cookin' Vallarta" Mexican cooking classes and food tours in Puerto Vallarta.The essence and secrets of our traditional cuisine, the indigenous ingredients and origins, and the way to handle them. Join us in our food tour or in our hands-on cooking class.We want to share the culture and traditions of our Mexico through our cuisine and its flavors.Much more than just a cooking class; lots more than just a food-tour
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting cooking class”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My boyfriend and I took a cooking class at Cookin' Vallarta this July with Enrique and we both really enjoyed it. The class begins with a stop at the local market to buy everything we will use in our recipes. Enrique has a lot of additional knowledge to share with everyone. From the market, the group went back to his home kitchen to learn how to cook several different dishes. Enrique is very knowledgable and friendly. The class is a casual atmosphere and you eat everything you make.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mahriah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique C, Propietario at Cookin' Vallarta, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Gracias amiga Mahriah for your kind review and also for the video, thank you very much for your visit. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    14
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food Tour”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I took the Food Tour with Enrique and a fantastic experience. It was informative, tasty and above all else a blast. Enrique took us to places I would have never ventured to on my own or even find in the standard guides. All food and drink were safe and we all enjoyed ourselves. I highly recommend Enrique's tour. He knows the area very well and shares a lot of the local lore---Michael Y

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique C, Propietario at Cookin' Vallarta, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
My amigo it was very nice to meet you and to share the Flavors of Vallarta with you, thank you very much. !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such a fun Food Tour in Vallarta!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I had another wonderful experience with Enrique and the Vallarta Food Tour! He met us at our hotel in zona romantica and we set off on exploring the area and its food. We stopped at several street food vendors, which Enrique had taste/safety-tested previously, along with a couple restaurants and markets. All the food and drink was tasty. I especially enjoyed the walking tour, learning more about the city and food and its history. Enrique is so knowledgeable about the area, and is also genuinely interested in his clients and friends having a wonderful experience. Yes, as you might think, you could do some of this on your own -- but why wouldn't you want an experienced friend/guide to show you the way and give you such fascinating information along the way? I also highly suggest his Cooking Class.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank saturn77077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique C, Propietario at Cookin' Vallarta, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
My dear amiga, it was very noce to see you again and to meet your husband. Thank you for your kind review. All the best !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food Tour!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Did the Vallarta Food Tour with Enrique, had an excellent experience! Tour lasted just over 4 hours, visited a market and multiple restaurants. Food was awesome and Enrique was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Not only did we learn a lot about the food, we learned a lot about the history behind them as well.

We were a group of 8 ranging in age from 10 to 53, all had a great time.

I would HIGHLY recommend this tour to anyone visiting Puerto Vallarta!

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique C, Propietario at Cookin' Vallarta, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Amigo, it was very nice to host you and to eat tacos with you and your family; you guys are an awesome gang. Thanks a lot for your kind review. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Cookin' Vallarta, Highly recommended as a total experience”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Marian and I enjoyed the total experience provided by Enrique, his wife and their friend. Enrique took us to a local market where we selected items for the menu which we prepared in the kitchen at his home. The visit to the market, the hands on involvement with preparation of a variety of dishes and the chance to sit down and share the food with the family was a totally enjoyable experience.

We would recommend this experience to anyone with any interest in the local culture, food, cooking, and meeting some very nice people.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique C, Propietario at Cookin' Vallarta, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias amigos !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cookin' Vallarta also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Cookin' Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing