We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time!”
Review of Cookin' Vallarta

Cookin' Vallarta
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Puerto Vallarta Cooking Class: Market Shopping, Lesson and Tastings
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: "Cookin' Vallarta" Mexican cooking classes in Puerto Vallarta. We'll lead you through an experience of Flavors, Colors, Culture and lots of Fun. From shopping for the produces in a local market to our home and kitchen. Our Chefs will welcome you in their homes for an authentic Mi Casa es tu Casa Experience. Join our hands-on cooking class and cook up from scratch an authentic Mexican feast. Our mission is to be ambassadors of the culture and traditions of our Mexico through the most delicious flavors of our cuisine. More than just a cooking class: a truly Culinary and Cultural Experience!!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This was an excellent way to see a little more of Puerto Vallarta and learn some amazing recipes as well. Everyone involved was so nice, and the small size of the class allows you to get to know your fellow cooks. But the important part....the food is delicious. Everything was made with a minimum of oil and with the fresh ingredients we purchased that morning. Enrique and Miguel have a really solid concept here and if I come back to PV I will come and learn more recipes!

3  Thank WhitneyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
echavelasjr, Propietario at Cookin' Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Muchas gracias for your visit; and your review; it was great to cook with you.
We will be happy to share more authentic Mexican recipes.
Our best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 508 of 524 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were picked up in van by Enrique and taken to a great market where ingredients were purchased for the day's menu. Then off to Chef Miguel's home where the preparations took off full force. Everything was done from scratch the old fashioned way, think mochahete, (although I bet they use a blender when no one is looking) Everyone had a hand in one thing or another. We made tortillas, tamales, salsa as well as learned how to make a variety of soups and other dishes. And of course the proof was in the eating, and eat we did. At the end of the class we were given a folder with all the recipes which will come in very handy as this was a fast paced day. Timing was perfect by the way, there's just so much you can absorb in a session and Miguel has if figured out just right.

3  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
echavelasjr, Propietario at Cookin' Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Gracias; muchas gracias for your visit and your review; we will be happy to cook with you again; it was fun.
Our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The reviews here are what got me to give this a try and the reviews weren't wrong! I booked this the day before coming to Vallarta for myself, my husband and another couple that were traveling with us. SImply this was a fabulous day and the other reviews here are completely accurate about what a great opportunity this is to experience the city and culture in a unique way!

I hope Enrique expands his new business to include cultural tours of the area as he discussed with us while we were cooking. He is a super guy, and after many years of servicing the tourism industry as a concierge, he is very knowledgeable about what makes for a great vacation discovering real Mexico. You can't help but laugh and enjoy yourself as you discover simple secrets to Mexican cooking and I can't imagine anyone not really having a wonderful day with the gang at Cookin' Vallarta!

1  Thank ILOVEVallarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
echavelasjr, Propietario at Cookin' Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate it, we will be very happy to cook with you as many times as possible and to share more of our Mexico and our flavors.

Enrique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My Friend Elspeth and I choose this 'tour' because it was out of the oridinary. We wanted an Mexican experience and this we did. Our day began with a trip to the market to choose the fresh ingredients for our cooking. I loved being in the market, helping to choose just the right stuff. Enrique was very passionate about 'food' and wanting to share the stories of not only the food but the making of it! After we were stocked, we were greeted at the kitchen by Miquel our chef. Donning our aprons, enjoying a sip of Hibicus tea and the rest of day was filled with the prepartaion of a variety of amazing Mexican dishes. IBoth Miquel and Enrinque's passion for this venture comes through. For the price ($84) it was the greatest value! I would highly recommend this to friends, families and couples on holiday in Puerta Vallarta!

4  Thank LaurieSody54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
echavelasjr, Owner at Cookin' Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Muchas gracias, thanks a lot for your participation in our cooking class, we certainly had a great time cooking with you, we hopa to see you again to share new recipes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My daughter and I love to cook (she is 13). This was just an excellent experience beginning to end! We started in the market place where Enrique not only shared his knowledge of food, but also its importance to the Mexican culture. He taught us how to identify fresh seafood, and answered all our questions on what some of the strange and interesting fruits and vegetables were in the market. We then moved on to the kitchen where we were met by Miguel. His hands on approach (our hands actually) guided us through some amazing dishes from hand made tortilla's to "rock soup" (we cooked the most delicious seafood soup with shrimp using only hot rocks to cook it. The rocks were super heated and then placed in the soup to cook it), mandarin mole, green salsa, cinnamon and raisin tamales. Can you imagine making chocolate from scratch? We roasted the cocoa beans, shelled them, ground them with a mortar and pestal to make a paste, added the secret ingredients and voila, chocolate. A 13 yr old girl's dream come true. If you want a fun (can't emphasise this enough) tasty ( nothing like having a great meal and having participated in its making) and educational (best classroom I have ever been in) experience this is a must do. We will be back! Ps even our driver Chilo gets into the fun in the kitchen. Thanks guys it was a blast.

4  Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
echavelasjr, Propietario at Cookin' Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hola Sr. Lupkowski, we appreciate your review and your visit to our little workshop, we had a great time cooking with you and your daughter and we hope to do it again in the future. Muchas gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cookin' Vallarta also viewed

 

Been to Cookin' Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing