We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic cultural cooking experience!”
Review of Cookin' Vallarta

Cookin' Vallarta
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Puerto Vallarta Cooking Class: Market Shopping, Lesson and Tastings
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: "Cookin' Vallarta" Mexican cooking classes in Puerto Vallarta. We'll lead you through an experience of Flavors, Colors, Culture and lots of Fun. From shopping for the produces in a local market to our home and kitchen. Our Chefs will welcome you in their homes for an authentic Mi Casa es tu Casa Experience. Join our hands-on cooking class and cook up from scratch an authentic Mexican feast. Our mission is to be ambassadors of the culture and traditions of our Mexico through the most delicious flavors of our cuisine. More than just a cooking class: a truly Culinary and Cultural Experience!!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This by far was the highlight of our recent trip to Puerto Vallarta! Enrique met us in town to begin our adventure - with a trip through the local markets to procure fresh ingredients and Chef Miguel welcomed us to his ktchen with open arms. No matter your level of culinary expertise, you are made to feel comfortable and relaxed, while you wind your way through centuries old local cuisine and culinary delights. Our delightful hosts were passionate, knowledgeable, and above all, fun to spend the day with! We came, we cooked, we ate - and by the end of the day.....I was "almost good" !
We've now scoped out all the Mexican stores in our area, so we can recreate these masterpieces in our own kitchens.....and can't wait to visit again for a new and varied menu.....
Mucho Gracias to you both!

3  Thank SomeBeachCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
echavelasjr, Owner at Cookin' Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Debb, we have to say that it was an honor cooking with you girls, thank you for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 542 of 550 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

For those of you who love to cook and those that want to learn this is the tour for you! We had the wonderful privilege to have a private cooking lesson with our friends from Chef Miguel and Enrique.

We started out with learning how to make delicious guacamole that is better than anything you eat in any restaurants in Mexico! After that is when things got really neat! We learned how to make two different sauces "Mexican" style, meaning no oils were used. If we didn't have the hands on opportunity preparing and cooking it up I probably would not have believed cooking could be done in this way, and then learning the techniques needed to actually use a mocajete bowl to finish preparing the sauces! We also got to make Stone soup and got the history of how and why it was prepared the way it was, and surprisingly it was very tasty! Nothing was wasted and it was very interesting to see how many of the ingredients are used in the same dishes but prepared differently, but also when certain items are not available what they used instead (such as using prickly pear fruit instead of tomatoes to make sauces and you get almost the same result).

One special note is that one of us was allergic to fish and they took special precautions to ensure that there was absolutely no cross contamination with the food items.

We learned how to make our own tortilla shells (roll, press and cook them), then tortilla soup, empanadas, tacos, a meat dish wrapped in avocado leaves and a fish dish wrapped in banana leaves and finally a desert with rice pudding that was delicious and tasted like creamy horchata! Everything that was prepared was fresh and done by us. It was very hands on by all of us and I know we all learned new culinary skills while Chefs Miguel and Enrique were there to guide us and give us pointers along the way.

Once we prepared all our food we got to sit down and enjoy our feast with our instructors enjoying great wine that paired beautifully with our meal and tequila.

Upon our departure we were provided with recipe books on how to make all the wonderful menu items along with extra stuff that we didn't get an opportunity to make.

We will definitely be returning next time we are in Puerto Vallarta to learn how to make even more wonderful and delicious tasty Mexican food!!!!!

3  Thank Jen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
echavelasjr, Owner at Cookin' Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

We were honored to cook with you, your husband and your friends...Muchas gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

It was a wonderful day from enjoying Mexican culture at the market - to making some authentic and unique Mexican recipes, I must say that there is something to be said about cooking together with a group in a relaxed setting with Chef Miquel who seems to truly enjoy showing us his tips of the trade and his passion for cooking. I highly recommend this great opportunity for those who want to have a unique experience in PV. (I loved making and eating the Flan) - looking forward to attempting these recipes at home.

3  Thank SummerLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
echavelasjr, Owner at Cookin' Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

We hope to cook again with you, thank you very much for your visit, we were honored to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Cooking Workshop was fun and a great way to learn more about the Mexican culture and their great food. The market shopping experience was incredible, from the fish, fruit, vegetable, cheese, spice and tortilla stalls we gained valuable tips on what to look for when purchasing (particularly the seafood) and gained information on the different types of cheese and seasonings used. The traditional dishes, such as guacamole, tamales, empanadas, salsa, and guacamole to name just a few that we prepared, were incredibly tasty. Our favourite was the Tortilla Soup and we are still talking about the delicious and tangy Stone Soup that Enrique prepared. Chef Miguel was awesome, providing lots of tips and sharing his expertise. We experienced authentic traditional Mexican dishes and cooking tips that their Grandmothers passed down over the years. "Don't leave any flavour in the pan!" We've done lots of tours on previous trips to Puerto Vallarta and this was the best! A great way to learn a little bit more about Mexican culture plus now we'll be able to recreate some of our favourite Mexican dishes at home!

4  Thank GaryandLinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
echavelasjr, Propietario at Cookin' Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

We want to than you Gary and Linda for having participated in Cookin' Vallarta, we appreciate your comment and we hope to see u again of course with new recipes, please feel free to contact us when you want to get a Mexican food recipe for an special ocassion.
MUCHAS GRACIAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

More than just salsa! Experience Mexico in a unique way with this new workshop/tour.

The Cookin' Vallarta team - Miguel, Enrique, Alix, Teresa and Lulu - welcomed us to their cooking class to cook, eat and learn about their culinary traditions.

The tour started from our pickup location with Enrique leading a tour of the local markets to buy fresh local ingredients in Old Town Puerto Vallarta. Once we arrive at the cooking class (in a remodelled private residence with a swimming pool above the old town), Chef Miguel demonstrated the each dish and then guided us to follow. Miguel included tips and demos of how to properly cut an onion and an avocado to cooking techniques using a traditional molcajeta. We were chopping and dicing like pros in no time thanks to Miguel's knife-handling tips - well, at least there were no missing fingers! Enrique delighted us with a flavorful traditional Rock Soup typically cooked by men for the women. Our cooking class started with making salsa and guacamole to sweet and savory tamales, tortilla making, huazontales (similar to broccoli), pumpkin flower empanades, and several other traditional family recipes. I thought I took a photo of the menu board but ...) Just to let you know stuffing and tying tamales so they look as good as they taste is not as easy as it appears; no worrie - there are "do-overs".

We sat down to lunch and enjoyed a delicious meal of capped off by a delicious lunch with chicken mole and the dishes our group had made. Our lunch included a toast of Tequila, of course!

Everyone in our group enjoyed our time with Cookin' Vallarta.
To make reservations, check their website: ww.cookinpuertovallarta.com/en/
If you have any food allergies, special needs or physical limitations, please make sure you let them know.
Buen provecho! Note: the adding photos section is not working to upload photos ...

4  Thank ViewsnReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
echavelasjr, Propietario at Cookin' Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Lynn, tahn you very much for having attended to Cookin' Vallarta, we appreciate your comment and we hope to see u again of course with new and improved, the salsa you cooked was delicious, will you to come back to cook for us??
Please feel free to contact us when you want to get a Mexican food recipe for an special ocassion.
MUCHAS GRACIAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cookin' Vallarta also viewed

 

Been to Cookin' Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing