We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior service hotel with an amazing adult only lounge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Ranked #40 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
West Bloomfield, MI
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superior service hotel with an amazing adult only lounge”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

This trip was a pleasant surprise. We loved the infinity pool & the sushi lounge for adults only. Would have preferred more options at the buffet & full wait service at the Brazilian & Italian nites. The service at the O Lounge was amazing. Shout outs to Israel, Carlos,& Oscar. Their attention to every need was amazing. If u r lucky enough to meet the head chef Fernando Tomasini, engage him in conversation. He is friendly, wordly, & highly talented. He made us a special dinner off the menu that was excellent. My husband is still talking about it. There is no nightly entertainment to speak of, & there were lots of little babies around that could be somewhat annoying. We chose to just stay at the adult only pool & we truly felt such a level of serenity. No request was too much. Just get some towel bars, & figure out how to have so e privacy doors between the room & bathroom. Great location. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    787
    379
    164
    104
See reviews for
882
1,206
45
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Our party of 9 (4 kids from 1-9) enjoyed our stay at the Hilton PV. The staff was so helpful and so kind to the kids. Clean, comfortable rooms,warm pool which we all enjoyed very much. The food was very good, and the French restaurant was especially good.We were able to meet chef Fernando whose food was truly amazing. Hope to go back next year. We did not use the kids club or the gym but both looked great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lej1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed Mach 1st to March 5th. Our first night there we were kept awake by a wedding party that had no cosideration for the other guests and kept us awake. I complained the next day and found out the hotel was under new management and stuck with the previous management's bad contract that did not specify a cut off time. They upgraded us to a beautifu room and did what they could to make a Diamond member happy. Ernesto and Hector did a geat job and I felt that really cared about us. I met the new manager Jorge and he was gracious and attentive also.
The food was good especially in the French restaurant and the service was good. The Brazilian night was also great at one of the other restaurants. The buffets were good and solid also and the food overall was solid.
The rooftop pool was great for sunsets and if you like suhi there was always some available. I plan on going back again and I felt the staff was excellent. Some of the employees that stood out beside Hector and Ernesto were Demis and Miguel at the front desk, the bell captain whose name eludes me, Eduardo the activities guy, and all the bell boys. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Basic rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpacvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JORGE V, General Manager at Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and opinion on our service.
We asure you that listened to our guest helps to work to improve
every aspect as per your comments.

We invite you to consider to stay with us in the near future when visiting Puerto Vallarta

Thank you for choosing Hilton Puerto Vallarta

Jorge Villarejo
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We just got back from 8 days in Puerto Vallarta. The weather was incredible... sunny and 80's everyday with a slight breeze. The resort itself is beautiful. Great location, close to the airport, 10 minute walk to the Marina/Flea Market and a 10 minute cab ride to the Malecon. The staff at the Resort were incredible. Very friendly and accommodating. Though it says that all gratuities are included, they still work for tips. We experienced great service, strong drinks etc.. when we tipped and only so so service and stingy drinks when we didn't. The food was rather disappointing. Seafire was the buffet style opened all day. Breakfast was good but Lunch and Dinner were hit or miss. Because they are open all day and dealing with different levels of busyness, I can understand why it would be difficult to maintain fresh food. Even so, we were able to find something to eat. We were really looking forward to the 4 restaurants and only 2 were open (French and Mexican). The other two were "Closed" but not sure why. We were also disappointed to hear that the rooftop deck didn't serve tapas, even though the site said it did. The rooftop itself is amazing and that is where we spent a lot of our time. It is quiet, good services, good drinks, and the views are amazing. Overall, we enjoyed our time at the Hilton Puerto Vallarta and would recommend to someone who is looking for a low key vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparlilu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our family of 7 stayed at the Hilton for a week and we all had a fantastic time! It was nice and relaxing and there was always lots to eat and drink throughout the day. Our family really liked the food, especially the Italian and French restaurants! We went during Spring break and it was somewhat busy which was totally expected but at night time it was pretty quiet. There were a few people in charge of activities, such as water aerobics, bingo and karaoke night. They have a few single and double kayaks available, so try it out! We went out in the afternoon and the waves were somewhat choppy but apparently if you go in the morning, the water is a lot calmer. Evening activities usually ended by 11 so the hotel was still pretty quiet which was great, given we have seniors and a kid with us. The rooms were clean and tidy, and our bar fridge was restocked daily. Occasionally, we had to ask the cleaning ladies for towels because not all of our towels were replanished, but a quick phone call to the concierge or simply ask the cleaning ladies when they walked by would fix the problem. Overall, we had a really fun time and we'd love to go back again!

For the most part, everyone was very friendly and helpful. (except for two trainees in training at the sea of fire) It's great if you give them a tip but if not, they're just as happy to help out. A special shout out to a few wonderful staff that helped us while we were there: Mario, Carlos (the bartender and the manager at one of the restaurants), our favourite bartender MARSHA!, the super friendly Lulu at the kids center, Maguel the bartender, Jose, the extremely efficient Lizette and Equardo!

Thanks team for making our family vocation so enjoyable and relaxing! I can't wait to go back again!

PS - On the website, the Hilton is a 5 star hotel but their standards are different. If you keep that in mind, you'll have a fantastic time.

Room Tip: Greater view if your room is higher up. If you can, get an ocean view room, go for 543/643/743 You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mizzmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

stayed the last week of march and really enjoyed the resort, a small resort under 300 rooms in the hotel zone, walking distance to the marine and 10 min from the airport. walk to the casino or take the city bus to the malacon. we had a room in the old building and it was fine with great maid service but the new building is much nicer. the food was good,not the best,not a iberostar grand or a secrets. drinks were good and better liquor was there for the asking.let me say one thing the best bartender is OSCAR up stairs in the O-west bar[ 4th floor new building] the workers were excellent, ,some of the best service we've had. the only 2 draw backs I have with the Hilton are: 1-there is a charge for room service[not the food] either have room service or forget it but if you want to be a 6 apple per apple vac provide room service with out charges. 2- there is a coffee shop in the old building on the second floor and this is not included in the all inclusive. I never once saw anybody there with our room being right across from it. this area should be developed nicer and included. all in all the Hilton was a good vac not as nice as the now amber or dreams or secrets but only due to the food.

Room Tip: try for a ocean view especially since you are in pvr facing west for sun sets
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgo5054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MASS
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 9 days in March. The weather was incredible....every day 85 degrees and sunny...no rain.If you have not visited PV before - I cannot recommend this destination highly enough.Exceptionally safe and wonderful people.....no matter where you go in town. Having stayed in Cancun / Playa in Mexico at least 6 times .....this was a welcome change.

Don't expect the white sands of Cancun....but that said...the mountains and Bay of Banderas made for a picture perfect vacation vision daily.

Hotel Wells .....the rooms were fantastic,clean,and modern.Housekeeping staff was wonderful. Mini bar was stocked daily with beer and water....a couple of tips just enhanced the process.

Front desk staff were welcoming and willing to help or answer any question that you had.

The poolside and beach service was amazing. Food and drinks were supplied constantly by the fast and friendly waitstaff.Please tip them a few dollars....they deserve it. Mango Margaritas are highly recommended.

Everyone has and had a different opinion on the restaurants here. The French and Italian restaurant was the best overall from a food and service perspective. Brazilian was second - followed by Mexican. The Food and Beverage Director moves the waitstaff and floor managers to different concepts nightly.....so service is inconsistent.

The one constant for the restaurants is the apathy shown at breakfast.....servers there just don't care. You can literally wait forever for coffee service or for them to clear your plates. I actually gotup and served my wife and I coffee on several mornings.Tipping didn't help either. They were either in small groups talking or on their cellphones. I have stayed in well over 15 all inclusives .....but honestly the breakfast service here was the worst I have ever seen. My advice - use room service which is only $7 USD peruse regardless of how much you order.

Room service was wonderful - though sometimes the orders would be slightly incorrect.Still - they were very friendly and fast.

The other area that needs realignment is the 4th floor Sushi Bar. Amazing location and view - complete with an infinity pool that overlooks the Bay of Banderas. The issue here is once again the attitude of the service staff who treat you as though you are an interruption of their work. Tipping did not help....even heavy tipping did not help. Both the bartenders and the Sushi chefs were never happy and simply were not friendly and engaging. The premium alcohol however and the sushi itself once you received them was excellent. I highly recommend that Hilton looks at the Food and Beverage Manager here to make the needed changes with attitudes as it really affects your vacation. One last thing ....please change the drone music to something more cheerful and upbeat.

Activities and nightlife are very low key here. Games around the pool consisted of guessing how many pages were in 4 paperback books and how many candies were in a jar......I am not making this up. The lounge at night closed promptly at midnight and it is a very small space. There are no shows - although they do have tours that go in to town nightly which is nice.

You can safely walk miles to downtown PV toward the left side of the beach.....bring water or buy at one of the restaurants along the way. Buy fresh mangoes while you are here....they are incredible. Going to the right is limited as you go towards the Marina.

Vendors on the beach are a constant ....but they will leave you alone after awhile.

Overall this is a boutique hotel that is rather low key ...has amazing rooms and views....but has some significant opportunity areas in some of the service and food and beverage areas.

It's like another reviewer mentioned previously...this Hilton has the potential to be an outstanding hotel with service and attitude improvements. It just starts with all of the staff understanding why they are there.....for their guests.

That said - I would definitely go back.


Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank familymanBoston_MASS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.0 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#25 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,556 reviews
3.2 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
#61 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#30 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,864 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#29 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,677 reviews
1.2 mi away
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
#31 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort

Property: Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Address: Ave De Las Garzas 136 | Zona Hotelera, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Puerto Vallarta Hilton Resort, awarded the AAA Four Diamond award, offers an All-Inclusive beachside experience, which includes with your stay: breakfast, lunch and dinner daily – buffet and a la carte – snacks at the pool area, 24-hour room service, limitless domestic and international beverages including house wine (by the glass), in-room mini bar restocked daily, daytime activities, fabulous recreational amenities such as kayak rentals, live nightly entertainment, and more, all set in a magnificent beachfront location. Lounge on cabanas, directly adjacent to our courtyard-style glamourous infiniti pool. Enjoy panoramic views of Banderas Bay with cruise ships embarking nearby and guestrooms with mountain views of the magnificent Sierra Madres and ocean views. With two towers, we have a variety of guestrooms available, including fantastic suites with private balcony whirpools. Enjoy multiple onsite dining options while choosing to dine indoors or al-fresco on our various veranda levels overlooking our beautiful Pacific ocean sunsets. Kids and parents alike will enjoy the Kids Club, featuring entertainment and activities to truly inspire and allow parents some free time to explore. Be sure to find some time to indulge in our onsite spa Ki as well. We're just minutes from the airport and the cobblestone streets of downtown. Experience a truly magnificent vacation at the Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing