We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Ranked #39 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

we are here at the moment & leaving in a couple of days. Rooms, well ours is very nice. 331. King bed as requested, side of building facing Krystal & we can see part of the ocean if we lean over railing. Service is very good here. CHeckin was fast. Buffet restaurant was good. Good selection. Compact hotel so you can get lost, lol. Been to French & Mexican restaurant & both very good. Waiters & staff very cordial. Just the last day or 2 load of spring break people have arrived. Party time for them.
Making restaurant reservations is easy & not need to be here so early, all day. Can make reservations for the week. One day I got a call from the lady apologized for telling me the mexican buffet was on Friday & not Saturday & would I wish to change our reservations. She recalled I had asked about that.
The beach here is not what we like as usually we go to Nueva Vallarta. Would we come back. No not cause of the hotel but the beach area as well love to go in the ocean. Ocean was very rough here for a few days but I was told it was all over due to storms up north. Still prefer north of the airport.
Impressed with the hotel as we had read bad reviews. Rooms too small etc.. King bedded room we had & loads of space.

Room Tip: we booked garden room & got in the number 30s 331 & quiet area
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank notboring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,680)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,541 - 1,547 of 2,680 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

What a great trip!

Warm welcome at check-in, exceptional bar staff for the most part. Pool servers were plentiful and quick, staff at O'West always put a smile on our faces, Martha and Oscar in the lobby bar were great fun. The only exception would be Daniel in the lobby bar during the day - he didn't really seem to want to be there, you could sit at the bar for long periods of time and he wouldn't ask if he could get you anything, when we finally did order, he swapped out cheap house pours instead of the brands we asked for (even though the premium brands were in front of the house). However with the rest of the staff so eager to please, we just skipped the lobby when he was working.

The food was probably the best in an all inclusive that we have had. I'm never a big fan of the specialty restaurants, but the buffet was exceptional. Always fresh, and always had a variety. Restaurant staff was always pleasant and helpful.

We were always able to find pool and beach chairs, the music was always good. We loved watching the cruise ships depart from the marina from O'West.

The room was one of the most relaxing and serene we have had (we were in the same building as O'West). The ceiling fan on high gave the same effect as a cool breeze off the beach, but without the humidity.

Vendors on the beach became very annoying and we gave up and moved to the pool - I would recommend the barriers like the NOW Amber has to keep them from walking up to you when you are trying to relax. However, no timeshare pitch, yeah!

Great location, 800 pesos taxi ride to downtown and Soriana just a block away.

Definitely a great couples retreat!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hiltongirl357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Hilton was fabulous! Six girls went on a 5-day trip and it was great! We stayed at the resort mostly but we did venture to the boardwalk one night. We only ate the buffet while we were there and we weren't impressed but its' a buffet. I'm not sure why we never went the restaurant but we didn't. We went up to O-west for sushi/private party one night and we were not impressed. Other than the food, we were very happy!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracyhoel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I've never wanted to write a review before but because of all the extreme highs and lows this hotel was getting, it got me nervous for our trip and decided to share by view on the hotel.

Firstly, I would like to say that I have stayed at a number of 5 star resorts in PV and NV and they were actually 5 star! Even in Mexico there can be drop-dead amazing resorts.

As for this one... well..

We checked in around 3pm. The lady at the front was quick and the bell service was great. We got in the elevator and immediately we were slammed by a sewage smell. It was awful. Our first room was 525. We were told this was a 'partial ocean view'. There is NO view. I mean you might be able to see a bit of the ocean between two GIANT buildings. It was bad. We went downstairs and told the lady that we wanted to switch rooms if possible as our had a funny smell and no view as promised. She told us nothing was available. We said we wouldn't mind paying extra so she found a room in the newer part and told us it was an additional $1750 US for the week!. Obviously were weren't going to pay that much. We left back to our room and then decided we needed to move. We were not going to spend our only vacation in a smelly room with hair in the bathroom and a plugged sink. We went back downstairs and spoke with the manager. She offered us the room for $1000 extra which we paid for our sanity.

The new room was nice. We were in 112 which has it's own swim up pool. The beds were great. Really comfortable and the room was clean. There were a number of very large cracks running down the walls however and the details of the room made it look like they were in a rush to finish building and just slapped it all together.


Service: AMAZING. Truly amazing. I cannot say a bad thing about the service. Every person from the bartenders, bell service, housekeeping, service at the pool, buffet were fantastic. Always happy and always willing to go out of their way to help. One day I inquired about ice cream even though they didn't have it at the buffet and five minutes later they came to me with two different kinds! They were truly great and definitely the highlight of our trip.

Pool: Pool was great. Never too busy. The first few days we would wake up early to get chairs in the prime areas but by mid-week it slowed down and we could find a spot nearly anywhere.

Food: Service was really slow at all locations but the servers were nice.
Buffet - Great food. No complaints
French - Best out of the four restaurants. Try the French Onion Soup! sooo good.
Brazilian - We were confused with this one. We sat down and no one came by. We saw people with meat on sticks but they always passed us. We figured out eventually that we had to get our own food and then they would come around with meat. Once we got the meat - it was not good. My partner got sausage and when he cut into it, it was raw. Like ground beef raw.
Italian - Pasta was great. They cook the pasta perfectly in the buffet and the Italian restaurant. One of my favs!
Mexican - Not my favorite but edible. Tortilla soup was my favorite.

Cleanliness - Room was decent. Dirt all over parts that cannot be cleaned on a regular basis such as the ceiling fan which was brown. Also the shower was not overly clean.
The lobby had light fixtures that were white or supposed to be. They were covered in brown dirt on the bottom. Same goes with the fabric cushions. They were once white and I get the look of it but they need to maintain the cleanliness to avoid them looking constantly dirty.

Entertainment:
I heard people complain about this but we saw a lot of great entertainment from volleyball to water aerobics. We are late 20s early 30s and like to enjoy both quiet time and activities. Sure, they do not have a "disco" but the entertainment staff always had nightly activities which were a lot of fun. Plus, they would take everyone who was in the mood to party to a different club downtown and taxi + drinks were incl. I thought it was great.

All in all if you are going to stay at this hotel, stay in the newer side that has the junior suites or swim up pools. Don't stay in the old portion of the hotel. Almost everyone we spoke to said they complained or switched rooms to the newer side. The hotel has potential to be great but it's all about the details. Details in food, details in room quality, details in appearance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The hotel is awesome. The pool overlooks the ocean. You can walk on the sand from the pool area. The rooms were cozy and the beds were comfortable. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The food at the buffet was not great but overall there were lots of choices and the staff was attentive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Adriana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have been to several all-inclusive resorts. The food is normally good but not great. This hotel took all-inclusive to a new level. The food was excellent. This hotel is only about 1 year old. The rooms were modern and beautiful. We stayed in a junior suite overlooking the Pacific with a hot tub on our oversized patio. Above us was a roof infinity pool, complete with a bar and sushi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We just returned from an 8 day stay, and would definitely go back. I'm a Hilton diamond member and we stayed mostly on points, and also received an upgrade to a junior suite.

Positives: a very large modern room; the entire property was spotlessly clean; extremely friendly and helpful staff; picturesque views of the bay and city from the upper floors; the food was mostly fine; my wife's champagne glass was never empty; the weather this time of year is wonderful; central A/C kept the room and balcony quiet. A special call out to Lizette the concierge for outstanding service.

Negatives (far outweighed by the positives): go to the Florida panhandle if you want perfect sand and water, so don't expect much from the beach; the restocking of towels, toiletries, and drinks was poor, but a call to housekeeping always achieved a quick remedy; drinks at the buffet were not self-service, and that really bogged down the dining process; not enough shaded seats around the pools for the pasty white northerners visiting in winter.

It was our first trip to PV, so we booked a city/tropical tour to check out the area. We should have spent the day at the Hilton pool instead. The downtown area was unimpressive. The entire city could stand a good pressure washing and fresh coat of paint. The city was founded in 1851, and has nothing of historical interest to see. The Hilton was a very pleasant oasis from all of that, and I do recommend it as a wintertime destination.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor room for a better view of the bay. The junior suite had lots of glass around the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
3.2 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
552 reviews
2.0 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,574 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#21 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
#62 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,549 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#30 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,879 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#29 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort

Address: Ave De Las Garzas 136 | Zona Hotelera, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $217 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Puerto Vallarta Hilton Resort, awarded the AAA Four Diamond award, offers an All-Inclusive beachside experience, which includes with your stay: breakfast, lunch and dinner daily – buffet and a la carte – snacks at the pool area, 24-hour room service, limitless domestic and international beverages including house wine (by the glass), in-room mini bar restocked daily, daytime activities, fabulous recreational amenities such as kayak rentals, live nightly entertainment, and more, all set in a magnificent beachfront location. Lounge on cabanas, directly adjacent to our courtyard-style glamourous infiniti pool. Enjoy panoramic views of Banderas Bay with cruise ships embarking nearby and guestrooms with mountain views of the magnificent Sierra Madres and ocean views. With two towers, we have a variety of guestrooms available, including fantastic suites with private balcony whirpools. Enjoy multiple onsite dining options while choosing to dine indoors or al-fresco on our various veranda levels overlooking our beautiful Pacific ocean sunsets. Kids and parents alike will enjoy the Kids Club, featuring entertainment and activities to truly inspire and allow parents some free time to explore. Be sure to find some time to indulge in our onsite spa Ki as well. We're just minutes from the airport and the cobblestone streets of downtown. Experience a truly magnificent vacation at the Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing