We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional experience at Hilton PV Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Ranked #43 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Returned last night from this resort. Excellent service throughout our stay, but on our last day, the Hotel management enabled us to keep our room until 10:00 pm (check out is noon) due to a late night flight departure. This, in my mind, was legendary service. There were many other examples of this throughout our stay from maid service, room service, bartenders and wait staff.

We heard from other guests about ridiculous first world complaints and have no doubt that there will always be people who are impossible to please. Yes, there is some inconsistency in the food from day to day, but overall, food was well prepared, tasty and food service was impeccable from a food handling and safety perspective. Room service options were great. We did, however, eat off the resort a lot; PV has much to offer.

I would recommend this hotel if you like smaller resorts and like to get out to enjoy your surroundings. Its location leds itself to getting quickly into downtown PV and all the shops and restaurants/bars that it has to offer. It was also nice to be so close to the airport. A ten minute transfer and you are on vacation!

I appreciated the policy prohibiting the reserving of pool chairs. They also support this by not providing beach towels until late morning. If you are like me and enjoy early morning quiet by the pool/beach, ask for clean towels at the end of the day so you aren't left without. The pool chairs/beds are very very comfortable, though shade is at a premium with limited vegetation. There are no chairs on the beach, and this might be disappointing for some.

We booked a deluxe ocean front room on the 8th floor (not a suite) and, upon reading previous reviews, were prepared to upgrade. However, when we arrived, we found the room ample in size, an unbeatable view, with very comfortable bed and amenities. We stayed put.

The resort is quiet and played great music at an enjoyable level at the pool (a great mix of indie music - a surprise, and pop). Poolside entertainment staff were really cute and truly funny, yet not intrusive if you just want to chill and read your book. If you want a night show, pay the $ to see the Rhythms of the Night at Las Caletas. Worth every penny.

I have travelled extensively and experienced many wonderful hotels around the globe. I am giving five dots to the Hilton PV Resort because we truly did not have a single, solitary complaint or disappointment during our stay (ok, the nachos were better on day 2 than day 3,4, and 5 - I can have a first world gripe, too).

Professional photographs give a true representation of the resort and its condition. If you are still waffling, don't worry. It's all good.

Room Tip: Tip the front desk staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank funkybunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,955 - 1,961 of 2,859 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

We own a condo next door so thought we would check out the new Hilton. The best part is the roof top bar and pool on the fifth floor oceanfront. Really cool for sunsets. Good mojitos. Neat lounge couches. We read the VERY mixed reviews on the food but decided to chance it. Whoever thinks the bad reviewers just don't know enough about Mexican food must be working for the hotel. It would seem impossible to make inedible guacamole and tortilla soup in Mexico, but they did it. The food really is atrocious, no buts about it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank K987654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Its a newer hotel, small in total size, but offered us a great stay. Some areas of the hotel already show their age (for some reason) but the overall service was great.

We had a health problem during our stay and the hotel did everything that one could imagine and hope for (and more). And for that we are grateful.

Not much in terms of activities (some pool games and volleyball) but if you aim to relax- this is a place to go.

Close to the airport (though we paid ~USD20 to go from airport to hotel and only a fraction of this to go back....)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was not my favorite place or spot in PV. Although the staff was nice, the room clean, and the food pretty good, the beach was hard to walk, and it was pretty quiet at night. (There was no entertainment at night.) I would definitely get an ocean view and no lower than 4th floor. I would have liked wireless for no charge in my room. Although, not much of a TV watcher, very few channels were in English. The weight room was very nice. Do get reservations for dinner early in the day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just returned from 4 days at the Hilton Puerto Vallarta. Overall, it's a very nice hotel. Beautiful pools, very clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed with our 2 1/2 year old son in a room in the "old" building which had a king size bed and plenty of space for us. The room had a flat screen TV, mini bar (included in all-inclusive), and Peter Thomas Roth amenities. Some other reviewers complained about the location, but Puerto Vallarta is not that big of a town, and we found that the Malecon and other attractions were just a 60-80 peso taxi ride away.

The property:
-Beautiful open-air lobby, with a bar situated in it, a spa, a rooftop infinity pool (adults only), two large pools (pretty shallow and suitable for kids), a children's pool (very shallow and perfect for our toddler)
-Beachfront. You can eat breakfast and all meals at Seafire at a beachfront table if you'd like
-Gym with all Precor equipment. The equipment was new and very nice. Touch screen elliptical machines with ipod stations, bike machines, treadmills, and variety of weight machines and free weights, plus a yogo room. Even antibacterial wipes!
-Children's programs for kids 5-12, and you can leave you children with them and they will supervise them with a variety of beach, pool, art and other recreation activities!
-Some rooms in the deluxe building have balcony jacuzzis, or splash pools. They will run you $80-$150 additional
-No hot tub on property, except for private jacuzzis in some rooms. However, one of the pools is heated more than the other (though both are heated), and the water temperature was VERY comfortable all day.
-They take your orders for food and drinks poolside all day. Someone walks around and takes orders constantly.
-The property is right on the beach. Get there early to get a beachfront cabana or deck chair.

Meals:
-Breakfast buffet at Seafire is definitely the best meal of the day. They have omelettes and a variety of mexican and american dishes. Delicious every time. Unlike other reviewers, we never experienced a delay at the omelette station, though the hotel was not at full capacity. We usually ate dinner at one of the other property restaurants. One night, we decided to eat at Le Delice and then go to Seafire for some extra dessert (c'mon, calories don't count on vacation). Seafire was having a asian-theme night, and let's just say we were so glad we did not have dinner there. So, we had limited experience with dinner, but breakfast and lunch were very good in my opinion.
-While we were there, the three other dinner-only restaurants were not all open every day. you need to check with the concierge about which ones will be open on which night. We ate at Le Delice french restaurant twice, and once at Fogo Brazilian restaurant. Le Delice was good, as long as you understand that this is Mexico and not France, though the portions were small. Fogo was BY FAR the best, but open only two nights a week. It's a brazilian style steakhouse right on the beach, lit by tiki torches at night. It can get breezy, so bring a wrap. It's definitely worth a visit if you can catch it when they're open. Everything is so good there. They had chorizo, pork, filet mignon, shrimp, rib eye....oh my goodness. One warning: resort wear is appropriate for all the dinner-only restaurants (La Catrina, Le Delice, and Fogo), no shorts, swim trunks, etc.
-Room service is included in the all-inclusive price, but we found that the kitchen staff are often unaware of what's on the menu. They don't know what comes with what you need to explain. E.g., kids quesadilla should come with fries but it came with salsa instead. Also, they would often forget items, promise to bring them right away, but then necessitate another call to remind them to bring it.
-At Seafire, you MUST have their guacamole daily. And their "green juice".

Internet:
-free wireless internet in the lobby only, and reaches to the pools, and they also have three computers there for your use.
-in room wireless internet is 75 pesos for 12 hours

Service:
-Everyone is super-nice, but I think that they need some consistency. The kitchen staff who take your order for room service seem unfamiliar with the menu. e.g. we ordered a Hilton salad, which is the only green salad on the menu and should have chicken, but they brought a random other salad. Also, one day there were no more pool towels and it took forever until I found someone who could replace it (thanks Eduardo!!)
-David at the front desk and ALL the bell staff were AMAZING
-Concierge staff is VERY helpful, don't be afraid to ask anything
-There is a Soriana supermarket a 5 minute walk away, for all your needs. There's even a nice taco cart there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank georgehu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our rooms, the service, the cleanliness of the hotel could not have been better. We had a great stay because we were interested in reading and lounging. There was not much else to do there. The beach, though beautiful, was difficult to walk (not flat and pebbly). There were very few guests there (20% occupancy) so other guests were friendly. I assumed when we booked, we could walk to nearby shopping-not so. On the other hand, staff was continually painting and cleaning. Pool was heated and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank plabeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hilton has a lot of work to do if they want to get away with charging the prices we paid to stay there over peak travel times. The grounds and overall contemporary style of the hotel are beautiful and the pool was nice as well, but that's pretty much where it ends.

Rooms:
We originally booked a deluxe ocean view room which was not available when we checked in. We were given a partial ocean view room until a full ocean view room was available two days later. The rooms were fine but the bathrooms (where the toilets are) are painfully small. They are literally smaller than the bathrooms on an airplane. Also, the doors don't go floor-to-ceiling so you'd better be very comfortable with the person you are staying with. The decor is nice and we thought the beds were pretty comfortable. One thing that bothered us was that the walls are paper thin. If you are a light sleeper, you should definitely bring ear plugs. We had serious issue that came up (an isolated incident and I won't go into detail about it) and we were given an upgrade to an ocean front jr. suite. Staying in this room was like being at a different property. Better amenities, jacuzzi on the balcony, huge bathroom, robes, sitting area, etc. A must if you decide to stay here. If your budget doesn't allow for the upgrade, I wouldn't even consider staying here.

Service:
Overall, this is a major area the hotel needs to improve on. We did encounter some bartenders who were great, and we also thought the servers at the pool worked really hard. The restaurants were a completely different story. Every meal we had was like the never ending meal. There were two different times that we ordered room service and it never came. At breakfast every morning, we literally waited in line for 15 minutes for an omelet. There were multiple times at breakfast when we were totally neglected by the servers and had to get up to find our own coffee, get silverware, etc. We had dinner at Fogo one night and we waited 15 minutes in between the different cuts of meat to make its way to our table.

Food:
We thought the food was pretty mediocre. There are three a la carte restaurants that you need to make reservations for and the buffet. There were multiple items on the menu at each restaurant that they were "out of" for the whole time we were there. We ate at the French place the most and it was decent. The Brazilian place was AWUFL. Over cooked, poor quality meat and poor service. The setting is beautiful but that can only get you so far. The wine at this hotel is borderline offensive. It is so awful I cannot believe they service it to their guests and there is no alternative to the garbage house wine they serve. I get that people don't go to mexico to drink wine, but I have a hard time drinking margaritas and beer with French food every night. There is also an "upscale" Mexican place also that was just ok. For breakfast, the omelets were good (after you spend the time waiting for it) but the buffet was largely picked over every time we went for breakfast. Lunch needs some major improvements. I literally ate chips and guacamole for lunch every day because their options were just not appealing. They should really consider incorporating a taco bar, or something of that nature.

Pool:
The pool is in a beautiful setting but its a little disappointing there was no swim up bar. One thing that was incredibly annoying was that they have people working around the pool who literally will take your belongings off your saved chair if you leave your chair unattended for more than 30 minutes. I've done a fair amount of vacationing and I have never seen anything like this. We walked to our chairs after breakfast the first morning we were there and our stuff had just vanished. The best part was that they gave our chairs to people who bought a day pass to use the pool for the day. Seriously?! I'm paying thousands to stay there for a week and you just gave my chair to someone who is not even staying at the hotel!? The rest of our trip we had to ask other hotel guests to watch our stuff if we wanted to take a walk on the beach, grab lunch, etc. Another thing we weren't fond of (and this is not the hotel's fault) was that there were TONS of kids at the resort when we were there. I felt like I was at a summer camp while we were at the pool and it got very old, very fast. They do have an adults only area on the roof of the new building, but its pretty small and the pool up there is warm and not as refreshing as the main pool.

Overall:
I could go on and on about all the negatives we encountered about our stay but I think the info above should be good enough to give you an idea of what we experienced. This hotel is in a beautiful setting but there were so many problems that it really hindered our ability to relax and have a carefree vacation. I think this hotel has a lot of work to do and it all starts with management. It's completely unacceptable to order room service and never have it come. The food and service is far too inconsistent and the pool chair saving policy should be eliminated immediately. The spa is so ridiculously expensive that it was insulting. Their treatments were literally more expensive than the spa at the Grand Wailea in Maui! This place has some potential but there are definitely some major changes that need to take place, and it all comes from the top. Given the above, I will not return to this hotel and I definitely would not recommend it to a friend. Hope this helps in your decision making process!

Room Tip: I wouldn't even consider going if you dont get a jr suite. I stayed in rooms in both the new bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ahoww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.1 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,809 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#10 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
3,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#34 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
3,797 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#36 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
1,916 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
#13 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
8,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort

Address: Ave De Las Garzas 136 | Zona Hotelera, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $227 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Puerto Vallarta Hilton Resort, awarded the AAA Four Diamond award, offers an All-Inclusive beachside experience, which includes with your stay: breakfast, lunch and dinner daily – buffet and a la carte – snacks at the pool area, 24-hour room service, limitless domestic and international beverages including house wine (by the glass), in-room mini bar restocked daily, daytime activities, fabulous recreational amenities such as kayak rentals, live nightly entertainment, and more, all set in a magnificent beachfront location. Lounge on cabanas, directly adjacent to our courtyard-style glamourous infiniti pool. Enjoy panoramic views of Banderas Bay with cruise ships embarking nearby and guestrooms with mountain views of the magnificent Sierra Madres and ocean views. With two towers, we have a variety of guestrooms available, including fantastic suites with private balcony whirpools. Enjoy multiple onsite dining options while choosing to dine indoors or al-fresco on our various veranda levels overlooking our beautiful Pacific ocean sunsets. Kids and parents alike will enjoy the Kids Club, featuring entertainment and activities to truly inspire and allow parents some free time to explore. Be sure to find some time to indulge in our onsite spa Ki as well. We're just minutes from the airport and the cobblestone streets of downtown. Experience a truly magnificent vacation at the Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing